Fiction logo

Snowflakes

False Salvation

By Tyler SimpsonPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
Snowflakes
Photo by Adam Neumann on Unsplash

Flakes of snow insensitively gripped the edge of my jacket with the weight of my emotions. A tunnel of seductive light flooded a path from me to my front door. Low wailing encompassed the space around my dimly lit home while clouds of moisture colored themself from the fixtures of my abode.

One step I took towards what I considered to be my salvation. Sweat bled from my face. The wailing grew with my stride.

Another step, the air around me refused to replenish my lungs. A wall of hot air slammed into my chest. Fabric tore and protested under the weight it bore.

A third step, deafened and confused, I acknowledged the weight that had accumulated on me without distraction. Fabric gave and it dropped on the blanketed ground with a pronounced thud.

I fell. Caught by the very thing I presumed was weighing me down. My bare back lay upon clouds. In such exposed presence of cold, I braced myself for discomfort. However, what I felt wasn't and couldn't be so simply as described. Instead, the discomfort became a comfort.

The Fog that engrossed my thoughts was left behind as what could only be described as my spirit pulled into perspective, presence, and a brief overwhelming feeling of lack of purpose. But, the cold was in me. I was surrounded by the universe. I was a collection of atoms and I had a part in it. Tears welled as I recognized myself In the beautiful, and unique snow.

PsychologicalMicrofiction

About the Creator

Tyler Simpson

I write for myself here, but you’re welcome to join me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barroga3 months ago

    From the opening sentence, this story captivates you and takes you on a voyage of self-discovery against the bitter cold of winter. It makes you think about the significance of emotions and the solace that may be found in unexpected places.

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Aradhana Gupta 4 months ago

    Congratulations. ❤️

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    Enormously poetic. Congratulations. ❤️

  • Alex H Mittelman 4 months ago

    Very well written and congrats on top story!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fantastic!!! ♥️♥️💕

  • Salomé Saffiri4 months ago

    "My bare back lay upon clouds" was something that stood out to me. Seems like that's a phrase that deserves it's own story. I was confused by the opening. Particularly this line : Flakes of snow insensitively gripped the edge of my jacket with the weight of my emotions. I can almost grasp the feeling, but each word is individually so loud that I was lost in the clatter.

  • Penny Fuller4 months ago

    The last sentence was stunning. Great work.

  • Ashley Shiflett4 months ago

    Very very beautiful! Congrats on top story!

  • JBaz4 months ago

    You describes this very well, emotion and exceptance. Congratulations

  • Test4 months ago

    Beautiful

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Very deep representation

Tyler SimpsonWritten by Tyler Simpson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.