Fiction logo

Sliding into slippers

Confetti Skies

By JBazPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
14
Sliding into slippers
Photo by Chandler Cruttenden on Unsplash

I woke with a new found spirit, peering through the frosted glass windows of my room. White flakes dancing in the morning light, flying with careless abandon, without a worry. I wished to be so free. Sliding into my slippers and wrapping a house coat around me, the only coat there is for me. I tip toe silently down the dimly lit corridors, even at this early hour the halls are busy with movement letting me blend in unseen. I sneak through the front doors to the outside world.

I am greeted with crisp air that invigorates my lungs with life. While soft frozen kisses caress my chilled cheeks, I twirl under confetti filled skies. The bright sun nestles behind fluffy snow laden clouds, while a ray of golden light warms my heart if not my fragile body. Today there is no pain only joy as I revel in this rare moment of freedom.

I feel older than my youthful appearance, fourteen years on earth and a lifetime spent indoors, or so it feels. The smile, frozen on my face has nothing to do with the cold it is there from the shear joy of standing in the grace of nature.

I glance up and see friends, their faces pressed against the window. With a wave I beckon them to join me to be free, to be a child. Before we are once more confined to bed in a sterile room, praying for a cure or waiting for the end.

Microfiction
14

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)2 months ago

    Jason, this was so beautiful and heartwarming... until that twist at the end!! It's still beautiful but now, I touch heartbreaking!! Great work!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    A beautiful moment, beautifully rendered.

  • Whoaaaa, that ending hit me like a train! That was an excellent twist! Loved your story!

  • John Cox3 months ago

    This is beautiful, heartwarming and unspeakably heartbreaking. Wonderful writing!

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    Unfortunately, there are too many kids in a similar situation. I wish it weren't so. Well done, JBaz!

  • Liam Storm3 months ago

    Such a great story! That ending is such a twist I wasn't expecting! I have been recommended you by another author named Donna, I am fairly new to vocal and attempting to get my name out there via some of the challenges currently live. If you get the chance to look at any of my pieces I would greatly appreciate it and am all for some constructive criticism!

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Oh my God JBaz, that ending. Beautifully written and a real slap at the end, well done

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Exquisitely written!!!

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Wow, a beautiful poem describing a wonderful experience for an ill young person. Well done!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    So beautifully descriptive, but then that ending is sosad. Well done,.my friend.

  • Mother Combs3 months ago

    Not quite what I expected. My mind is racing; I want to know what they need a cure for. do they get a cure?

  • Bittersweet. So sad yet beautiful...

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    So beautiful and sad

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.