Fiction logo

Sleepwalker

Sleepwalker

By Saroj RanaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Sleepwalker
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I have taken the pills. I hope they kick me out before Jupiter comes and kills me. Sitting on my loose mattress, a notebook on my lap, a football point in my hand, I decide how I should finish the book.

To everyone, Jupiter is an amazing champion - the leader of the world's greatest warrior team, a young man who turned Kraxx's attack on Earth, a man who made it safe to walk the streets of New York City at night. His ability to be a broken heart and a family man at the same time does not hurt him anymore.

To me, he is an innocent murderer, because he knows I am innocent but he will kill me anyway. I tried to keep my head down. I live in a quiet one-room apartment in Brooklyn, work hard, and pay my taxes. But another young man, Sleepwalker, comes out at night, and the things he does are my nightmares - crippling people to have fun, enjoying the fear of his victims before biting his nails, hunting and killing heroes without anyone else. reason rather than proving that he can. I'm about to ride, the unwanted rider inside the beast my body changes into every time I sleep.

I can't control the actions of the Sleeping Man. If I could stop him, I could stop him. Oh, God, how often do I pray to find a way to stop it? But I can't. Jupiter knows this, he knows that none of this is my fault. But you have already done so. The life of an innocent person - me - is a little more important than the lives of all the other innocent Sleepwalkers who will kill in the future. So you will stop Sleepwalker permanently. And the only way to do that is to kill a monster when it's in danger when it's in a human condition.

Everyone loves Jupiter but me. I know you are a hero, I know you only do what you have to do. But I can't help but hate him. I never caught myself in a fight with Sleepwalker, but now he's coming after me. He forced me to make a decision: fight or die.

Sleep pills made me sleepy; it becomes difficult to imagine. I should finish writing my book as soon as possible. "I hate you and I will eventually kill you," I wrote. I go back to my bent bin and let the notebook sit on my chest, opening my notebook. I have to hope if Jupiter comes in he will find it. I felt sleep overflow and I happily confessed.

Waking up inside the Sleepwalker body remains the same - a moment when my mind becomes accustomed to this moving body that goes against my will. I heard a glass break and Sleepwalker sat up. With his own eyes, I could see Jupiter crashing into my third-floor window and walking over the carpet. His muscles bulge into the red spandex, and his golden cap glides brilliantly behind him. He is the perfect image of greatness, or he would have been if his face had not worn so much surprise.

"Didn't you think it would be me,, boy?" Said the sleepwalker, the joy being easily heard in her heavy voice. "I thought you could kill me and get rid of me ...."

As soon as my mind could register, the Sleepwalker flew into the room and grabbed Jupiter's throat, the fingers of his big hand around Jupiter's neck. A powerful hero explodes with a terrifying punch, and it is like a sonic boom exploding inside my mind. I know the Sleepwalker can take a lot more than that, but with Jupiter's credit,, he can push this monster back.

Jupiter flew forward, crashing into Sleepwalker's stomach, and we all out of the cave in the brick wall behind us. Jupiter leans back to find another place to hit, but Sleepwalker is too fast, his nails tearing at Jupiter's chest. The public thinks Jupiter's skin is too hard to bleed, but the three red stripes running along his path show me he's wrong.

Jupiter is back. You know you are in trouble; I can see it in her eyes.

"If I kill you, they will know I will not be beaten," said Sleepwalker, and I heard him smile. "Not for you, not for any--"

The sleepwalker reverses the step. I can feel his anger, and I can feel his confusion. Jupiter looks at us, his eyes wide, trying to figure out what's going on.

"What have you done ...?" Asks the sleeper. The room is tilted, he can't sit on his feet, he can't hold his breath. "What ... what ...?"

Jupiter stands up, one hand holding the wounds in his chest, as Sleepwalker falls backward on his hips, backing into bed. He can't stay straight. My booklet is lying on the floor next to me, still,, open where I left it. Jupiter picks it up, reads the note, and looks around. On my nightstand, you see bottles of pills. He was always vigilant, a fact that I relied on.

Jupiter picks up all three bottles of sleeping pills and turns them upside down to show that Sleepwalker is empty. Then he lifted my note to read Sleepwalker. It says: "It is your fault that you have made my life a nightmare. I do not want to continue living. I hate you and I will eventually kill you."

Groggy and as confused as the Sleepwalker concept now, I feel one strong, clear emotion. Anger. He knows that I am the one who killed him, he is so angry that he wants to take my eyes off me, cut my limbs. If that were possible. But that is not the case.

We fall over, his anger and my victory melt into the darkness.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.