Fiction logo

Six Cents

Change to a green light

By Samuel DybdahlPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Visual Stories || Micheile on Unsplash

Luck? I could use some luck. While at my vacation house, I sometimes greet my neighbor as he picks up the newspaper from his perfectly groomed yard. His property abuts the neighborhood’s private white sand beach, and he once told me “Good luck is afforded to those who work for it.”

My property is across the street and I’m forced to walk on blistering hot pavement to get to the beach. I’m not one to complain – just pointing out my reality. I work hard and it’s my neighbor that scooped up the last waterfront property available in the area.

Sometimes I’ll drive down to the public beach for an afternoon. Last week I went with my niece, Kayla, and as usual we visited the local ice cream shop on our way home. The bells on the door jingled as we entered, and the familiar sound raised my spirits. We had been swimming most of the day and despite applying sunscreen first thing in the morning, I was sunburnt. I remember thinking “Maybe I’ll find good luck in some the shops blissfully sweet frozen cream.”

I had four quarters, a nickel, and a penny ready to go as the cashier handed me the small cone. I dropped the change into his hand and heard the cash register spring open.

“It’s $1.12 sir.”

I looked at the screen to confirm.

“I’ve been coming here for the past ten years and always bring exact change!”

“I need six cents or the cone, sir. It’s policy."

I heard a change jar jingle and looked through the open window to see a disheveled man standing in front of a sign that read “Need food. Willing to work. Wishing everyone peace.” I told the cashier I’d be right back and marched across the street. My left sandal broke as I reached the panhandler. He had a brilliant smile that I had attributed to his abundance of change.

“Brother, can I borrow six cents? I’ll repay you with more.”

“Absolutely man, always happy to pass on the wealth.” His smile grew even bigger as he handed me the change.

I limped back inside with my broken sandal and slammed the six cents on the counter. Kayla was holding the cone and got ice cream on the tip of her nose as she took her first lick. I started thinking “She is a cutie…” as I was jolted back by the sight of a parking authority officer slapping my bimmer’s windshield wiper onto a ticket.

I grabbed Kayla’s free hand and we rushed back to the car. The officer was already back in his SUV and I approached his open window.

“Excuse me officer! My trips to the beach are perfectly planned and I was a minute late because the price increased on ice cream and…” The officer interrupted.

“Don’t embarrass yourself. That has to be about the lamest excuse I’ve heard, and I’ve heard a lot of lame excuses. Send in the fine or dispute it by mail with a different story.” He rolled up his window and started to drive away.

Oh and lesson learned at this precise moment: Don’t kick a car tire while barefoot in an act of rage. Jumping up and down, my toes throbbing. Kayla and I slipped into the car which started with no AC! I pounded on the dashboard hoping traumatic damage to the car would be the reviving AC magic. Nope. Kayla giggled and unrolled her window.

“You are funny Uncle Nick, get some fresh air!” Looking humorously at me as if I were performing in a Charlie Chaplin skit. We drove without stopping, the dry heat, mouth and throat causing me to cough excessively during the ride back home. I pulled into a gas station for water. Reaching into the glove box for more cash, a five-dollar bill. Just enough for some liquid gold known as ice cold water. The gas station didn’t have water!

“Hey man—” The clerk said. “—“Our coolers shut down - overworking due to the extreme heat - they’ll be up and running again in a few days.”

My face even redder than sun burn, I stomped back outside, slamming the door shut.

“WORST-DAY-EVER!” I clutched the steering wheel with my hands.

Kayla giggled while reaching to hug me. Her ice cream cone finished. “It was the best day ever. We’re on vacation with waves at the beach and beautiful sunlight. A perfect breeze. And you got ice cream with me Uncle Nick!” I turned onto the street towards the vacation house.

“I am glad it was good for you.” The engine sputtered as the AC turned on.

“Uncle Nick, you are stopped even by a green light.” Kayla said with a twinkle in her eye.

A honk from behind. I looked up. Maybe good luck is afforded to those who see it.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Samuel Dybdahl

A journey through running, writing, paramedicine and sports makes it necessary to maintain positive mental and physical health. Whether it is discovering another ultramarathon or working on a series of novels, I hope to improve everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.