Fiction logo

Singing His Name

The Brink of Sanity 20

By Jennifer S. Benson Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Singing His Name
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Victoria eased further into the wooden chair as she thought back to the days before everything went wrong. Strands of her hair fell down onto her face and a gentle smile pressed against her cheeks.

She said, "Where were we? Oh yes, arriving to work on time was the start of a day going right. I didn’t know how I managed to pull it off yet I had. ‘That cabi was crazy but he did it,’ I remember thinking to myself. I brought my game face to this battle and the day had moved forward without incident. I left work renewed and invigorated. Taking a step outside of the building the cold night air eased my senses.

“Victoria, hey, wait up,” a male voice called out to me from behind. I turned around to see my coworker Tom running down the front steps of the building. His denim jeans were a bit too tight because they left very little to the imagination. His leather jacket covered the tee-shirt that he had been wearing all day and his light brown hair spiked a little higher than I'd normally prefer. His hair remained unmoved by the breeze that carried with it his scent of pine cones and musk. ‘Is that him?’ I wondered as I couldn't help but inhale his scent slowly. I had to admit that the dimple in his cheek and his killer smile had always brought down my defenses. Though I could hide I knew this time I couldn’t run.

“Tom,” I said singing his name. I mentally chastised myself for that one. I hadn't wanted to give him the impression that I was interested or available even though I couldn’t help but scan the entire 6-foot frame of his. As my eyes reached him I saw that he had caught me staring. ‘How embarrassing’ I thought to myself. A red blush formed on my cheeks. He chuckled softly and our eyes met.

“I was wondering if you wanted to go grab a drink,” he asked. I remember staring at him for a moment trying to decide if going with him to a bar was a good idea or not. “I’m not keen on anything hardcore. How about coffee?” I said before I realized that I'd just used the words ‘hardcore’ to describe something to probably the sexiest man alive. “Come on, my treat,” he said as he reached out his hand to take mine. I felt heat instantly rise inside of me. 'This is going to be difficult,' I thought loudly."

"Oh my goodness!" Monique shrieked. "You had a tasty dish it sounds like, girl, how did you end up here?" As soon as she said the words the aid immediately realized the error in her judgment and covered her mouth with both hands. Victoria sat up a bit in her chair and waved off the comment. "It's no big deal. We just had a difference of opinion."

"I'm sorry, that was insensitive and you deserve better. We can stop if you'd like for me to bring you back to your room." Victoria looked at Monique for a moment, the silence between them was deafening but she knew that this was her opportunity to potentially save her sister Michelle and she was determined to see this through even though the room was getting cold again and the hairs on the back of her neck were standing up.

"No!" she said too quickly but brushed it off and collected herself. "I'd like to continue if that's alright."

"Go for it, when you are ready," Monique the aid said as she pointed a finger towards Victoria queuing her to continue telling her story.

"I looked at his extended arm and decided that I was going to go. “You are twisting my arm here, Tom,” I said as I hooked my arm between his. He looked offended for a brief moment before his free arm pressed against his chest as he fell slightly back. “I didn’t want to cause any part of you to twist...at least not without your permission,” He smiled down at me and I couldn’t help but feel a pang of excitement at his very obvious flirting.

“Are you flirting with me?” I asked even though I already knew the answer.

“If I was, would you still have coffee with me?” He asked as his eyes fell towards my breasts. This didn't bother me the way I thought it might. I pursed my lips and placed my finger onto them. I knew exactly what I was doing and I was alright with it. “Maybe,” I said simply. “Perfect,” he said, still holding onto the arm that I had wrapped around his. This sent a pang of excitement coursing through my blood. ‘Damn this is going to be a long night,’ I thought to myself as we began to walk in tandem to the bar across the street. "

Series
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer S. Benson

Jennifer is both a fiction author and mindset coach. Her newest series, The Brink of Sanity takes you on a paranormal journey into the unknown and the terrifying. Do you think you are brave enough?https://www.udemy.com/user/jenniferbenson/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.