Fiction logo

Silence Part 2

Dark inside.

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 11 months ago 3 min read

For someone who has gone through so much at a tender age, I am ready to open up and hope beyond hope my acquaintances would grab one or two from my own story. I am not in any sort of denial that everyone has involvements that in a way wrought them, and this, in turn, makes them lead diverse walks of life. Life is a series of ups and downs and from what I know, and have read a thousand times is that life is a journey. It is a journey of 1000 miles that grants us both bliss and dark days. Some say life is short (What makes it short, I don’t know)

However, in life, we have an array of experiences. Mine is no exception and I can look into your eyes and swear that life is akin to a puzzle. When you think you have it all figured out, then boom! Comes another ramble. Love, for instance, got me paying prices I wasn’t up for. My negligence made me fall for the wrong ones. Not that people out here are bad, I just couldn’t place my love in the right places. My thoughts were never about me, but the ones I was having affairs with. In the end, I was in shambles, I had myself torn and broken into a million irreplaceable pieces. I’ve heard a few folks lament that the more you have your heart tossed and turned the tougher it becomes. Defamations! What you get is a cold heart and a calloused mind that doesn’t flinch even when intentions are pure and promising. But the one weapon that needs not to be sold out is that of self-love. When you are in tune with who you are, and know exactly what you want no good-looking human will play you dirty. You see, the ones with pure intentions get to stick around because they see the real you not who you want them to see. A person who watches you love yourself over and over again will hold you, dear, and all the way.

Love knows no bounds, and my love for Akin knew none. I loved this alpha male with my heart and soul. With every nerve in my body, with my entire being. It is a matter of fact that if you have not loved, you haven’t lived. Our love was food for the soul and his and mine was ours. In the first stance, I glimpsed at him, my heart melted, sending signals to my stomach, which turned into knots making me feel a mass of butterflies. I then knew there and then he was all I wanted. Little did I know of the ditch I was veering into.

My love for Akin was mundane, and everything I did revolve around him. Our love was whispered in all corners of campus, rumors had it that what we had was magnificent. I cannot deny this because the moments we shared made our love blossom giving me a royal feeling. Well, nothing lasts forever, and neither did our love that started experiencing an uphill after some time. Akin was that guy that made my knees weak, his touch made me shiver in desire for more. He was my weakness, the kind that later was my demise. This is my story to tell, and of course what drives me to write, and in so doing, those who love as I did will learn from my mistakes. My people, you need to understand that my first love made me grow a heart of steel. It is okay to love but to love blindly is NEVER OKAY. I wish I had someone tell me this early enough. It took me a while and a series of lessons before finally opening my eyes.

Love

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

I love writing. I love the swirl of words as they tangle with human emotions. I am a flexible writer and can write almost anything, do you need any help creating content? Well then, get in touch...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Catherine NyomendaWritten by Catherine Nyomenda

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.