Fiction logo

Should I Stay, Should I Go

Da Ja Vou

By Rose RosalesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Should I Stay, Should I Go
Photo by Museums Victoria on Unsplash

'I'm glad you made it' says an unfamiliar voice, Thank you, replies an older gentleman. Dressed in what I may say is early 19 hundreds. I look around to notice others dressed in similar attire. With a couple of exceptions, some were wearing what looked like naval or what crew members of a ship may wear. The other exception was myself. Everyone is in a frenzy, but what is causing this anxiousness or eager behavior.In further investigation I see more couples with children holding what looks like their worldly possessions . Others who are dressed much nicer are accompanied by their help in which they are toting or carrying some really high end luggage.What a motley of different people, I say to myself. Out of nowhere a loud irritating horn, or I should say boat horn blares out, followed by "all aboard" as it echos in my ear, " we set sail at 12:00".What in the world is this ? They seem to be in line waiting to get on this colossal ship. Where am I , this isn't New York, all the different speaking accents lead me to believe this. They were foreign like English and French not Brooklyn or Bronx. Last thing that I can remember I was waiting at the air port for some friends ,who were flying in ,but this was in New York. Nothing seems right, the people, the accents, not to mention even the time. I observe further to try to make sense of all this, when I notice one bone chilling factor, this ship that everyone is eagerly waiting to board, this monster of a vessel isn't just any vacationing or traveling vessel but none other than... Oh God, I also was getting on, God help me "THE TITANIC" ! That unsinkable ship that I had read about at least a hundred times in school. Yes ,that same indestructible vessel or so believed at the time.It was getting ready to go off on that doomed voyage.How can I be here boarding this same ship, was I too going to be part of this tragedy or was the reason me being here is to stop it from happening. Another possibility is maybe I'm dreaming , but I can smell the ocean ,touch the people, they are definately real. Whatever this was just became apparent. I was back in time waiting to board THE TITANIC, a ship whose voyage is the biggest catastrophe on sea of all time. I try to gather my sanity to understand all this, when I hear a ticket taker say " Remember this day you are about to get on the worlds largest crew ship, you will be part of history not only is she the most expensive luxury liner but also unsinkable. This day April 10 1912 the first trip of this luxurious vessel will go down in history. He was half right , It would be the first but it would also be her last. Now more questions filled my head. Why is this happening along with what do I do were just a few, but the main dilema I was tusseling with was how am I going to stop or warn the Captain of the Titanic's fate. Surely he would think I was a kook, especially just in how I was dressed. I was wearing a pair of Levis and a James Cameron t-shirt, oh the irony.I had to find different set of clothing if I was serious about trying to warn the Captain. How could I convince him to take a different route, or warn them about the icebergs, hell even some fucken binoculars to give them would do. As I'm trying to remember more facts about that or this dreadful day I hear a loud thunderous roar come from up above. Whatever it was just through me for a loop. A fog of confusion blankets over me. That sound,, a familiar sound, its an airplane. I was dreaming, it was just a dream I'm back to a familiar time , thank GOD. I'm back in New York September 11 2001. The time is 7:30 I still have time to meet my friends so we can go to the trade center. I can't wait to tell them about the crazy ass dream I just had. Seems like I dodged a bullet...or did she? THE END

Historical
Like

About the Creator

Rose Rosales

My life could have been less hard knocks, but would it have been boring? All the obstacles,trials, and tragedies are probably what kept me going. Every time I was knocked down, I got back up. I didn't allow them to break me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.