Fiction logo

Short Story

The Last Words

By Benny NjugunaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Short Story
Photo by Lê Tân on Unsplash

“Don’t do it or else I’ll blow your head into pieces,” Jean warned.“Yea!” Silv said. “Why don’t you go ahead?”

“Don’t make this look like a joke, because it’s not,” Jean said.

“Who said it’s joke?” Silv asked. “Do you think I came here to play?”

This was becoming harder than Jean had anticipated. How would it be possible to let this moron know this was not a laughing matter? Did he think she was a sculpture; therefore he could point a gun at her carelessly? What if by mistake he pressed the trigger?

“Let’s make this easy,” he said trying to take control of the situation. “You let her come to my side and I will give you the money.”

“You think I’m stupid?” Silv asked. “You make a fool out of me; your wife will be a past tense. You don’t want that Jean. Do you?”

“Where is the money?” he asked, the barrel of the pistol pressed hard on Jenny’s neck.

“Take it easy man,” Jean said. “I have the money, let her go.”

“Don’t toy with me,” Silv said.

“You want the money, don’t you? Then, let her go.”

“Don’t think I am another idiot on the next street. Where is my money?”

Jean was trying to buy time but he could see it was not working. He did not have the money. If Silv knew, he was sure it would prove tragic. He knew he would have none to blame but himself if Jenny was shot dead.

“I believe we can come to an understanding if you do what I say.”

“Yeah?” Silv exclaimed. “Which understanding are we supposed to arrive at? Are we in a courtroom? Are you taking me for a fool?”

“I’m not saying you are a fool,” Jean retorted. “Only this is the best way to arrive at a desirable conclusion.”

“If you want us to come to a desirable conclusion throw the pistol you are holding at the center, back off a few meters, and hand over my money. That’s what is desirable.”

Put the pistol down? Then, what if he shoots Jenny or me? That would be desirable? All this time he was aiming the pistol at his face. He couldn't press the trigger as part of Silv's face was blocked by the back part of Jenny's head.

Many thoughts were running in his mind, disappearing as fast as they came. However, none of the thoughts provided any answer as to how he would save Jenny from this mad man. Well, he was not really a mad man. Only wanting his money. But, how was he going to give Silv a share of the loot, which he didn’t have? Money he had spent carelessly. He blamed himself for his casualty with money. It was just plain stupidity.

“What are you waiting for?” Silv asked.

For a solution, you moron, he felt like retorting. Jenny hadn’t spoken a word since Silv had entered the house without warning, a pistol in is hand. The first target her. Her face, the movement of her chest, the tension and the look in her eyes made Jean feel sorry for her. He regretted his plain stupidity and greed for money.

“You thought you could run away with my money?” Silv asked. “Raiding a jewelry shop and you running away with my share of the money we stole?”

“It was not like that,” Jean said.

“Yeah! Silv exclaimed. “What was it like then?”

“I never got to hide it in a safe place so we could share it proportionally,” he replied.

“Did you see any police or the workers chasing after us so you could go, really, run away with it to hide it in a safe place? Did you think I was created with no brains so you could do anything or take the next move and I would just stare or nod? Why did you run away with my money?

“And the pistol you are holding, who gave it to you? Who came up with the plan to raid from the jewelry shop?”

“Well…ahh…I…”

“You have nothing to say? Why did you run away with my share of the loot? Did you think I would never find you even after relocating? Is it your grandma you were playing hide and seek with?”

“Ok. I’ll give you the money.”

“When are you going to give me the money? Now or later? Is that what we are going to do the whole day here? I asking where is the money and you replying, “I will give you the money?”

“Oh, I see,” he said. “You don’t have the money. You are buying time so you could shoot me off-guard. Very clever of you Jean.

“Then, say goodbye to your sweetheart. I don’t know why all this time I was demanding for my money when you feasted on all of it. Say your last words to her because I’m going to kill her. That will be a lesson not to mess with someone else’s money.”

“Please, don’t,” Jean pleaded.

“Too late.”

Jean heard a deafening sound and saw Jenny’s eyes growing big.

“No! He screamed.

He pressed the trigger. The bullet ripped through Silv’s forehead. He stared at Jean in bewilderment and fell on his back. Jean felt pain and when he touched where the bullet had lodged through at the lower part of his abdomen, there was a hole and blood… He was hit before he had the final say.

Jean dropped to his knees and finally to his belly. With the strength he could master, he crawled to where the lifeless body of Jenny was lying. Her eyes were staring at the ceiling with a face that expressed astonishment.

He stroked her face and touched her lips. With a strained voice, he said to her, “I,m sorry Jenny. Please, forgive me."

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.