Fiction logo

Sheer organza sleeves

Chapter 4

By C.L. Deslongchamp Published 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

How did I get here? Trapped underwater. Struggling to survive. The pressure was rapidly building in my lungs. I pushed toward the surface, in the direction of the purple lightning. The distance between myself and the top seemed to be getting further away as my strength rapidly depleted in my attempt to escape this watery grave. Forcefully pushing the water down to gain leverage created a barrage of bubbles and pieces of lumber from the disjointing ship began falling into the water around me adding to the chaotic state of the stormy water. I could not see through the dark sea which led to even more panic inside my bursting chest. I knew I needed to survive but that felt like an impossible task. I began to give into my inevitable fate and lifelessly floated in the darkness. Except there was a light coming from above that was not the striking of the purple lightning. The sky was lighting up, and above me I could see her. The girl that had jumped with me, motioning for me to come toward her, to keep on fighting. I pushed the water down again and again until I reached the top. The surface was only an inch thick but still more than I could break from below. I banged on the ice that was holding me hostage with my fists and the girl on the other side was slamming her foot downward attempting to crack the shell. Fear penetrated my body as the chill from the frigid water slowly crept up my legs and directly through my chest. I screamed for help, expelling the remainder of my oxygen reserves. The bubbles in the water lifted my body and pressed me directly against the ice as I went limp. I heard the crack and several voices shouting in panic just before I blacked out.

I awoke in a warm bed with the sunshine beaming down on me. The ornate décor made me feel like I had woken to some fairytale. I swung my legs to the side of the bed and ran my fingers along the satin sheets in disbelief, the thick down comforter lounged on the top of the sheets, rising to my chest while I was in the sitting position. I laid my hands on top of it and the air slowly drained from it as it deflated under my weight. The marble balcony covered the length of the room and was visible through the glass wall and French doors. I lowered my bare feet to the cold floor and tiptoed to the gorgeous doors. Slowly I opened the left door and walked out onto the balcony, taking caution not to slam the glass behind me. Cherry blossom trees grew close to the balcony providing a sweet scent despite being dressed in a layer of white snow. There were infrared heaters in each corner of the balcony thawing the area and making it quite comfortable. The table was set for breakfast for two people. A crystal pitcher was filled with freshly squeezed orange juice, and I could smell the coffee from the carafe directly next to it. The croissants were freshly baked, while ruby red strawberries were chilled in a bowl full of ice. I lifted a silver cloche to reveal the most picturesque eggs benedict I could ever imagine. The barrage of smells attacked my senses, making my stomach growl and ache. I lifted the carafe with the coffee in it and poured it into a fine China coffee cup. I added a bit of milk and took a long indulgent gulp. The final chill from the water left my body as I held both hands around the cup and let the steam saturate my face.

“Oh good! You’re awake,” A familiar voice squealed. Coffee jumped from the cup to the tablecloth as I flinch from the unexpected visitor. I turned to see the girl from the ship who had jumped overboard with me. She sat down, motioning me to sit as well.

“Welcome, to my home! You saved my life you know. I don’t know where you came from but if you didn’t happen upon the pond just as I was falling in, I could have died!” She poured herself some coffee and orange juice as she rambled on.

“I don’t know how many times my brother has told me that the pond is not safe to ice skate on, but I just didn’t listen and then to see you fall in after pulling me out! Oh! Dios Mio!”

“Wait,” I stopped her. “What happened?” I asked confused.

“Oh, my goodness, you don’t remember! I was ice skating and the pond cracked over there,” She motioned over to the large hole in the pond, beyond the courtyard. “You were walking by, for some reason, and pulled me out, but then the ice cracked again, and you fell in and got sucked under. My brother pulled you out, just in time.”

I stared at her in disbelief. Did she not remember the pirate ship, the human trafficking ring they were kidnapped into, jumping overboard? How was this even possible.

I stared blankly at the hole in the frozen pond. Orange cones were placed around it, stringing yellow caution tape from one to the next. Barriers were placed around the edges of the pond, orange with silver reflective tape. There was a man at the edge attempting to dig a hole in the frozen earth to place a sign that read, “Caution, thin ice!”

She stuffed a huge bite of eggs benedict in her mouth as she continued to ramble. I pretended to listen as I served myself food. I couldn’t figure anything out if I starved to death. I didn’t remember the last time I had eaten anything. I traced all the events in my head backward, attempting to make sense of the last few days as I bit into a juicy strawberry. The red juice dripped on my plate, making rings in the egg yolk and the hollandaise sauce. I stared at it as it mixed, creating a pattern that looked like the marigold in the box. My grandmothers’ words rushed back into my head.

For the pleasure and the plunder, the fantasy, and fun! For the horror and the trauma and the things that can't be undone. Experience of a lifetime or your life of hell. You never know exactly what the travel will expel.

I let out an exasperated sigh and placed my weary head into my hands, cutting the ramble short.

“Oh!” she exclaimed, “You are still not well! Please make yourself at home. Rest! Recover! My brother would like to meet with you when you have the strength. I will leave you to it.”

At that, she excused herself and swiftly left the room. I felt faint and weary. I stumbled back inside through the glass doors and into the plush bed. I squeezed the down comforter tightly into myself, as though I was a child with a security blanket, soothing myself enough to quickly fall back into a deep restful sleep.

This time when I woke up, it was late in the day, I wasted no time on the adornments of my room. Opening the large heavy doors to the hallway I exited quickly and began to explore my new surroundings. The oil paintings on the wall were massive in size, with serious-looking men and women all dressed in formal clothing for the periods they were painted in. The latest one was a very handsome young man with black hair and kind blue eyes. He was formal, impressive, and regal, with a sharp jawline and large masculine shoulders. He sat in an overside, adorned throne, draped with a royal blue sash and a profusion of medallions on the left side of his suit. He held a pair of white gloves in one hand which casually laid in his lap and propped the other on the arm of the throne. The painting was displayed directly across from the foyer on the landing of the stairs for all to admire as they entered the home. I gawked at the painting as I stepped backward down the staircase.

“Impressive, isn’t it?” A deep voice chuckled behind me. “Although, I don’t know if it is worth busting your head open on marble steps.”

Hastily I spun forward on bare feet, crossing one ankle over the other in the spin and violently flinging myself free-falling down the remaining stairs. He anticipated the fall and reached out sweeping me up and around. My body was dipped back as though we were dancing and the handsome man from the painting was face to face with me.

“That is twice that I’ve saved you now. You better knock it off, or you will be in my debt forever, though I can’t say I would mind that very much.” He smirked, stood up straight, and pulled me to my feet. “Seems that it is I who is in your debt, however. Thank you for saving my little sister.”

“Glad I could help,” I stammered straightening my nightgown. Looking down I rapidly realized what I was wearing. Embarrassment turned my face bright red as I began to slowly back away from the delicious man in front of me. He seemed to find my awkward appearance and actions quite amusing as his smirk continued to grow.

“Please excuse my appearance, I don’t know where my clothes are. I’ll just…”

He interjected rapidly as I attempted to escape up the stairs. “I think you are beautiful, have dinner with me! I can have my man bring you something more appropriate for you to wear.”

Glancing over my shoulder I saw a faint hint of pleading in his face. My lips curled up slightly and timidly I nodded in agreement and hurried back upstairs. Rushing down the hallway, I slammed the massive door behind me. Plopping on the bed to catch my breath, I rolled backward as I started to giggle. Lost in the luxurious mountain of pillows and bedding I barely heard the knocking on my door. To my surprise when I called out for my beckoner to enter a procession of attendance paraded into the room. Promptly pulling me from the sheets, they spun and measured me, wrapped me, coated me, curled, painted, and primed me. One by one as the attendants finished their tasks, they left the room. The final two switched off leaving the room and returning with new products and cosmetics that I might like until the short one entered the room with a box that was almost as tall as she was. She laid it on the bed and urged me to open it. As I lifted the lid the two attendants smiled with anticipation as though it was a gift for them. The dress's lavender silk taffeta shimmered as I removed it from the box. Sheer organza sleeves and bust promised a modest showing of the curvature of my upper body and arms. Eagerly I slipped into the dress and my attendants zipped the back. I descended the stairway to find him ardently waiting for me at the bottom. Holding out his hand he assisted me with the last few stairs.

“You are incredible!” He said slowly looking at me from head to foot. He held my hand high and spun me around in a circle. “Shall we?” Gesturing me into the dining hall with a slight bow, I giggled slightly and proceeded into the hall, attempting not to trip on my own feet again. There was no doubt that he could hear my heart beating in my chest. I couldn’t help but think, as the large doors began to close behind us, that it was about time that this exhausting, crazy adventure turned into something good.

Series
Like

About the Creator

C.L. Deslongchamp

I am a freelance writer, poet, and artist. Author of Because I feel deeply, Poetry and Writings by Girls who Felt Deeply and Leader Great and Strong.

Instagram:c.l.deslongchamp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.