Fiction logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 36

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

At last, it was upon us.

The Tournament was starting today, and we were standing in single file lines according to what angel type we were outside of the main gate, voices filling the tense atmosphere.

The event would be taking place in the main city's arena, not at the Academy. It was a huge weight lifted from us students since we wouldn't have to worry about the dampeners.

I stood toward the back of the zyllah line, still in my training gear, plus a hooded coat. I didn't need to activate my stamp yet or attract unwanted attention from some of the other students and staff members.

Not that I had seen any of my instructors. I didn't know any of these people. Only the insignia of the Academy on their shirts told me they were faculty.

Tarek was also nowhere in sight, although he could already be a part of the audience. Either way, I knew he wouldn't miss it, as I would be a raging storm of fury if he did.

It was bad enough we had to stand in line while Solara burned my skin, and the skin of my fellow zyllahs. I pulled my hood over my head, the back of my neck instantly cooling.

I watched as Owen strolled to the front of the lines, wearing a red silk tunic with silver accents, held in place by a celestium and bejeweled belt tied around his torso.

I couldn't suppress my eye roll. Talk about pretentiousness. And I thought my mother was bad, although I was sure she and the elders would be in their ceremonial robes too.

"Hello, my students."

There wasn't much of a response.

"The Tournament is here, and before we head off to the main city, I want to say that even if you don't win any of the competitions, you should be proud of yourselves for competing." The headmaster smiled. "This is a great honor that not everyone gets the chance to do."

I agreed with him, clapping as others stared at me. I didn't care.

"Now, let's move."

There was no carriage ride this time. Some of the students had to walk, but those of us with wings were granted permission to fly. That made me happy.

Extending my wings, I took off, following the instructors and accidentally bumping into Gabe as I gained speed and height. "Sorry."

Smirking, he flew into me. "Oops."

"You're in a good mood."

"Well, I am flying, which always helps."

"True, but your House has been at the Academy nonstop for the past month."

Gabe shrugged, "I'm not the only Underwood in the Tournament."

"Well, aren't you relieved?" I certainly liked that Kade was doing it too. Although I didn't care whether I won or lost.

"There are ten of us, and the most of them have been at the Academy longer than me, so a little."

I nodded, the warm breeze flowing through my hair and feathers. I looked to my right, noticing Elys's white shifter form at the front of his group, Wren right beside him.

I smirked, 'Surprised you're together.'

Elys turned his head, eyes narrowing, 'We fly together all the time.'

'I know, but everyone can see right now.' I grinned for a moment, 'You don't want to cause a scandal, do you?'

'Says the one courting an instructor.'

'No zyllah House would go to war over it.'

'Shut up.'

I laughed at him as he ended the conversation. He hated it when I was right sometimes.

"What?"

"Elys."

Gabe lifted a brow, "Since when is Elys funny?"

"He has his moments."

"Okayyyy, I'll take your word for it."

We remained quiet for the rest of the flight, which didn't take long. Flying was much faster than walking or carriage ride. I felt kind of bad for the non-winged students.

But that was a test of endurance for them like flying was for us.

We landed outside of the Khysfyre arena, where I heard the crowds rumble as they waited for the Tournament to commence.

I pulled my wings back into myself, pulling the hood over my head again. Why couldn't we have landed in some shade? I rubbed my eyes, which stung from the rays.

However, one of the arena attendants ushered us inside, the zyllahs pushing to the front of the line. Of course, that miffed the karae, gargoyles, and the other winged angels.

We were then separated into different sections depending on our race and left alone as we waited. I wasn't sure if that was necessary, but whatever. I wasn't in charge.

I shrugged my coat off once I was inside, my skin cooling. Thank the Divine. Solara was burning me alive. She had no mercy on my kind.

The corridors of the arena were composed of ancient rock with celestium acting as reinforcement. This structure had been standing since Khysfyre was first founded thousands of generations ago.

The flooring, however, was relatively new, the polished cream marble showing a faded version of my reflection, as were the doors and the decorations.

I rolled my shoulders back, standing up straighter.

"How long do you think they'll make us wait?"

I glanced at Gabe, who had already activated his stamp. "At least until the other students arrive."

"You're probably right."

It felt like forever until the other students arrived, hearing their voices through the stone walls thanks to my Gemini bond. I took a deep breath as the music played and the cheering grew. This was it. No turning back now.

"Welcome to the Tournament!" The announcer exclaimed. "People of Khysfyre, are you ready to see the students of the Academy compete?"

More cheers answered him. I should have been worried about their enthusiasm, but I wasn't. I didn't really care whether they cheered or booed. I'd compete no matter what they did.

"Then let's get started!"

I activated my stamp, the nanites covering my skin as we were into the weapons room, which led to the arena. Well, here went nothing.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.