Fiction logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 35

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

"I'm still surprised you invited me," Kade looked at me. "I'm grateful, don't get me wrong, just surprised."

I smiled, "Well, we are related."

"Huh, that's where I know you from."

I laughed.

The four of us walked on the main path leading to the Academy, Owen having granted Tarek's requests for day passes yesterday.

It felt weird being outside of the Academy. No one watched us constantly, told us where or what we could and couldn't do, nor were there dampeners, my magic buzzing beneath my skin.

But I had felt the same way whenever I left the Nyght House grounds for the main city, and it showed how little I socialized with the general public.

Elys inhaled deeply, "Does the air smell sweeter? Or is it just me?"

I took a deep breath. "No, it is sweeter."

Tarek raised a brow at us, "It does not."

"Well, you get to come and go as you please," Kade shot him a look.

I sighed, "Can't we all get along?"

Tarek wrapped an arm around my shoulders, "I can."

My ba stepped closer to us, "Does Kalen know you two are in a relationship?"

"No, but that's one reason we're doing this."

"And to introduce me," Elys interjected from behind us. "Which I think is more important."

I didn't respond. I wasn't going to compare anybody. Everyone there was equal in my eyes, only different in their roles in my life.

I spotted the hovering carriage that would take us to the heart of Khysfyre. I had wanted to fly, but the others disagreed with me, and I wasn't about to fly by myself.

I quickly slipped inside, opening a window as Tarek sat next to me, Elys and Kade seated across from us. I only felt slightly uncomfortable with their gazes on us.

But I kept to myself anyways. There was no reason for a fight to occur before we met with my father, who would probably support the relationship.

Soon enough, the carriage stopped right outside of Khysfyre, the doors opening for us.

Elys crawled out first, cursing under his breath about the lack of space inside, Kade quickly following.

Tarek looked at me. "Are you ready?"

"I guess."

Grabbing my hand, he led me out of the carriage, Solara's heat smacking me and her light blinding me for a moment. If only I had tinted lenses to shield my eyes.

We trekked into the market, angels spilling out of every corner. I wasn't used to that, taking deep breaths as I dove into the sea of bodies.

How were we going to find my father in this mess? I had a hard time keeping track of Kade and Elys. And I only knew where Tarek was because our hands were connected.

However, we quickly escaped the crowds, walking into the restaurant area of Khysfyre. I took another deep breath, expelling the last of my nerves before we saw Va.

But he found us first, a huge grin on his face.

Letting go of Tarek's hand, I ran over, giving him a tight hug, my chest swelling with different emotions.

Va laughed, hugging me back, "You gotten a lot stronger."

I smiled, stepping back, "Well, the Academy does that to you."

Moving away from me, Va pulled Kade into his embrace. "I hope the Academy has been treating you well."

"For the most part." Kade seemed stunned by the parental affection. "Why didn't you visit us?"

Va sighed, squeezing his arms, "Your mother and the elders don't think I should be seeing my sas, and if I checked in at the Academy, I know they would find out."

I nodded, my assumptions correct.

"Let's find a place to eat with shade," Va adjusted his shirt collar.

We quickly found a restaurant with an indoor option, the back of my neck stinging from Solara, my hands red. Kade and Va looked about the same as me.

Elys was the only one unaffected by our sun, although Tarek's asa half allowed him to recover faster than us Nyghts.

As we were handed waters and menus, Va leaned over the table, sitting across from Elys, Kade and I sitting on either side of him. "So, I hear you have soul-bonded with Kyrell."

Elys lifted a brow, "He told you?"

"I did not."

"The headmaster did some time ago."

I rolled my eyes. Of course, Owen couldn't keep it to himself. Why show respect for privacy by letting people tell their families news?

"Don't be too upset, Kyrell. I didn't tell anyone else."

I sipped my glass, the water cooling my throat, "Did you tell you anything else?"

"No." Va smirked, "He tried, but I stopped him after the whole Gemini bond thing."

Relieved, I began telling him everything that happened, Kade and Elys filling in some spots for me. He listened intently, not asking any questions until we were finished and my mouth was dry.

Then he focused his attention on Tarek. "So, why did you leave?"

Tarek sighed, "I got overwhelmed and needed space to think."

"Hmm." Va leaned back, "I may not be an empath like Seyler, but I'm not blind to how you've been looking at my son."

I couldn't hide my blushing, "We're not doing anything wrong."

"But he is your weapons instructor, Sa."

"Not really, not anymore," I sat up, "Merah Sereday has been teaching me for the last few years now."

"Really?"

"Yes."

"She's a good teacher," Elys skimmed the menu. "Just like Maeve."

"I remember her," Va shook his head, "But excuse my concern about whatever is happening between you two."

"Don't apologize," Tarek tilted his head, "I'd be worried if you weren't."

We quickly rattled off our food orders to the female attending us. This was definitely going better than I thought it might, tuning them out.

'And now you know how I felt when my family talked with me about Wren.'

'This is not the same thing at all.' I glanced at Elys, 'Introducing someone you're romantically involved with and telling your House you want to mate with someone who's already betrothed to another are completely different.'

I now knew why Wren had such an issue with Maeve and Merah; apparently, her mother Rhea had set her up to marry Mykael when she was a baby as a way to create an alliance between the Blakthorne and Sereday Houses.

It would shift the balance of power away from the Gryphonson House, the first gargoyle House, to the Sereday House, which Mykael formed, affecting every gargoyle, whether or not they were a part of a House.

And it would give the Blakthorne House a place on the council, cementing their power status as a leading House of Khysfyre.

But everything would be thrown into chaos for all three Houses if Elys chose to lay a mate claim on Wren and she accepted, even though he was within his rights to do so.

I personally thought the whole arrangement was absurd, Elys siding with me. Who promised their infant child to someone like that? And why did Mykael even accept? It didn't sound like something he'd do.

Alliance marriages were common, but usually, it was an agreed arrangement between the two angels getting married, not by their families. And I certainly wouldn't do that to my children.

My Gemini shrugged, the top of my left hand tingling again. 'It's a matter of point of view.'

'Whatever, believe what you will.' I faced my va again, "But you can't stop me from courting Tarek. I am an adult and can make my own choices."

He faced me, grabbing my hands, "I know, and I'm not going to stop you."

"So we have your support?"

Our food arrived fast, interrupting Va as he repositioned himself. I began to eat my sauce-coated vano, twirling the strings around my utensil.

"Yes, you have my support," He eyed Tarek, "but I'm keeping a close eye on you."

Tarek lifted his glass, smiling, "Wouldn't have it any other way."

I smiled at him, "Thank you."

Kade shook his head, handing Elys something, "Yeah, you were right."

Elys grinned. "I know."

I frowned, "Did you two bet on this?"

"Oh yes." Kade crossed his arms, "and I lost."

Tarek smirked, biting into his bread. How was he not offended? He glared at students who were talking about his teaching methods all the time. However, this had nothing to do with his job, I supposed.

At least it wasn't my money, positive I didn't have money anyway.

I ate more of my vano, enjoying the lightness of the dish and the lightness I felt now that Va knew about and supported my ventures.

"So, have any advice about the Tournament?" Kade cocked his head.

Va shrugged, "I wasn't a participant, but always be ready for anything."

Kade snorted, "Helpful."

"Sorry."

"Are you scared, Ba?" I wiggled my brows, grinning.

"Concerned, not scared."

I smirked but said nothing, savoring my time outside the Academy and with my va as much as possible, not worrying about anything.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.