Fiction logo

Send in the Clones!

February 6: Day 37 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
Send in the Clones!
Photo by S O C I A L . C U T on Unsplash

I cloned myself to pay off my debts. That's a thing now.

DNA's property. I own the patent, trademark, and registration certificates. To make a me, I must grant permission. And absolutely mandatory is a "non-compete clause" — you can't have your clone cloning himself to pay off his debt (viz., your debt and his).

Cloning's expensive. You also have to provide clone-support. But I'm no worse off than some slob paying for children until they're 18. Speaking of, my clone has come of age and can be put to work. Debt relief, finally!

My clone's uneducated, because education is what got me into debt. I've three degrees, but no job, no income, and no self-esteem. This is why I had to figure in the diminishing returns that dissuaded me from matriculating him anywhere beyond high school.

Since he is a high school graduate, however, he can follow the math:

Minimum wage without further debt pays off my debt faster than the possibility (possibility, mind you) of a better salary from the double-edged sword of education and its greater debt.

He loves me. Not like a son loves a father or a brother loves a brother. It's a new kind of love: love between a donor and his clone. It's somewhere between love between two romantic parnters and love of a pet. (It's above love of a pet, but below that of two lovers.)

I set my clone up with a job at a convenience store. He makes better than minimum wage, so he has enough to make the payments and have somewhat of a life, too. Did you know he even invites me over to dinner at his place every week?

Still, there are two things I don't like about him, to be perfectly transparent:

First, he bought the winning lottery ticket from the store where he works, so my debt isn't even a bother. Second, he'll outlive me and get to have all my stuff. In other words, he'll live a better life as me than I could, ever.

Losing my timing this late in my career isn't fair, but you don't need a degree to know that. Who's the clone, who's the clown?

SeriesSatireMicrofictionFantasy

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This was hilarious! The clone works minimum wage, has enough to pay donor's debt and have a own life as well, bought the winning lottery ticket and would outlive the donor. Well, the clone definitely ain't the clown, lol!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    very interesting read

  • D. J. Reddall5 months ago

    Painfully funny and much too plausible!

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Where was your head when you wrote this? I want to stick my head in where ever it was and hope for inspiration like this. Clever, funny, entertaining and down right delightful.

  • Toby Heward5 months ago

    Kinda creepy but ya get what ya pay for

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Some possible problems to consider in our future here. Well done!

Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.