Fiction logo

See You Soon PT.2

Triggered by Rage.

By Una SavagePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
2
She Wolf

As the fog in my brain begins to clear, my senses are the first to come alive. The air is damp and thick. The glands in my nose alert my brain of mildew and ammonia-type products. My throat is so dry it is starting to ich. I must have been laying here for a while because my lips are sealed shut due to the lack of saliva. I open my eyes.

The fluorescent lights hurt as I attempt to adjust my vision and the feeling in my body starts returning. I try to sit up only to find I am chained to what looks like an oversized gurney. The white cinderblock-like walls are bare except right above the door hangs a typical wall clock. Aside from the tick and the tock and the echo of water slowly dripping somewhere off in the distance, the room is quiet.

With my mind still a bit foggy I try to remember how I got here. Panic sets in as the recent events flood my memory like a nefarious tsunami. I almost died. Yet, my predicament seems to have gotten worse. The FBI was supposed to protect me not chain me. Something is off, the feeling that I am going to die is still lingering deep in my gut. Footsteps from the other side of the door send me into a frozen state. I close my eyes and pretend I am still out cold.

“Cut the act I know you're awake.” The familiar sound of Agent Utsidihi’s voice does not bring me comfort.

In fact, I am utterly pissed at the fact that I asked for protection and ended up in chains. I refuse to open my eyes and give him the satisfaction of my obedience.

“I know you are upset and wondering why I have you chained and partially sedated,” he said. “But before we get into that I want to talk about your brother.”

Just the mere mention of my brother sends a hellish rage through my entire body coming from a place that I didn’t even know existed. My eyes fly open, and I shoot him a glare that I hope kills him where he stands. “No.” my voice comes out strained and weak.

“She does speak,” he said. His tone is a bit humorous.

“You must be crazy to think I would trust you after what you have done to me. And without good cause at that.” Feeling my rage starting to boil inside. “I will not tell you anything. For all I know you’re the one I need to be running from.”

“I am definitely not the one you need to be worried about here.”

“What the hell is that supposed to mean? Have you not noticed I am chained to a fricking bed. The bed literally has restraint cuffs, but you opted for chains instead. And I am not supposed to be worried about you?”

The agent shrugs.

“Oh, you got to be kidding me.” I feel the rage inside of me really starting to boil to a point that it scares me.

“For the sake of both of our safety, I am going to need you to calm down. I still don’t fully understand what I am dealing with here. Your family –”

“My family?”

“Yes, your family –”

“What the heck do you know about my family and why the hell are you even looking into my family in the first place?”

“Xanthi –”

“What?”

“Well, if you let me finish maybe you will actually find out,”

“Well, maybe if I was being treated in a more humane manner, you would see a different side of me. What? They don’t teach people skills at FBI school?”

“No, they don’t.” his mouth twists up and he shrugs sarcastically. “Now about your family –”

“Let me out of these chains.” My rage reaching a point where I am losing control of myself. The chains start to rattle as I begin to shake uncontrollably. “Something is wrong –” Before I can finish my bones begin to snap and break, crunch and crackle, shift and move. The agonizing pain is almost numbing. Yet, deep inside is a warm humming vibration that is almost comforting. Then, it is all over just as quickly as it started. Though the moment of it seemed like an eternity. I feel fine, perfect in fact.

The look on the agent's face makes me second-guess my well-being.

“So it is true...” His awe-stricken words come out shaky.

Confused at his sudden change in demeanor. I start to ask but all that comes out is a bark.

Sci FiShort StoryFantasyAdventure
2

About the Creator

Una Savage

I'm Una Savage. I love reading and writing, and I enjoy traveling. Most importantly, I'm the mother of an autistic child which is both challenging and rewarding, and it has taught me a great deal about life and myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.