Fiction logo

Second Date

Snow Micro Challenge

By Heather HagyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3

The frost-covered mountain looms before us, a tribute to the Swiss Alps. It’s just after sunset, not yet totally dark, but daylight is fading fast. The temperature takes a dip as the horizon line turns blue.

I shiver, more out of anticipation than cold, as we await our turn on the sled. It’s our second date, and I’m about to try something new.

When it’s our turn, you offer the front seat to me, helping me in, then sit behind me. Moments later we’re ascending, higher and higher. I realize I’m holding my breath and release it just as the sled, having completed its ascent, whooshes down the mountain.

We fly down at alarming speed, zipping in and out of shadowy caves, the screams of other riders in the distance. A howling wind fills my ears, and my heart races as I grip the sled’s bars, wondering if we’ll fly off the frozen rock face.

More twists and turns and then wait, hold on! Was that the Abominable Snowman? It’s all happening so fast. I’m laughing, then crying, then laughing again.

Finally, the sled ride comes to a halt, and we disembark. I’m flushed, breathless. You reach over and push a strand of hair off my face.

“Did you like it?” Your face betrays your eagerness for a positive response. “The Matterhorn is my favorite ride here.”

I smile and nod. “It was wonderful. Let’s get some of those famous churros. And then . . . let’s ride again.”

MicrofictionLoveAdventure
3

About the Creator

Heather Hagy

Stephen King fan (but not like Annie "I'm your #1 fan" Wilkes cuz I'm sane and she's not)

Horror/supernatural are my favorite writing genres

Wife to 1 and mom to 4 humans, 4 dogs, 6 cats, and a dragon

"Jaws" is the greatest movie ever

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Nice! Great story! Let’s ride!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Loved the ride at Disney World nine years ago!!! Fun story!!!♥️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.