Fiction logo

Sand in the Locket

Story

By kuljit mannPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

The sand in the locket

Dear Jinder that I do if I want to meet you. I took off the locket around my neck and held it in my hand. That is what I do when I am in Thy remembrance. The locket opens like a box. In this box is the sand shared between you and me, the sign of our bed.

By now, you must have been thirty years old even after the second birth. I don't know what your wife will look like, how many children you will have, what your wife will do. Your kids will read history, I know, they love you.

That history is yours and mine. We are among the people who were born to die. The sand of this locket will become my property on July 18, 32 years ago.

You got married in the next birth, but I am still married with your memory.

Jinder, Sukhi would build a house imagining herself and then laugh and demolish the house.

Honey, Sukhi had learned to live by wiping away all tears.

Jinder, I remembered, once you had said, happy feelings do not last forever. Whenever you come out of emotions, think of your nation. What happened to us should not happen to anyone else. Research in Canada, collect records, write a detailed report and send it to UNESCO. I have been here for a while now. The police are behind me. Will kill me one day.

I remembered the birth of the sand in the locket.

That day I told Jinder, this evening would also be history for me. Whenever I do something for my nation, this evening will be an inspiration to me.

It was my last evening with Jinder's. We would never meet again.

The following day was my flight to Canada. Jinder was to accompany me to the airport.

I insisted that JInder not come, but Jinder said, "Don't worry, the real work is done. After all, I am being searched in Punjab. If known in Delhi too, I have two options. See you at the airport for the last time or go back in fear.

I asked, "Jinder, for the last time, I want to spend time with you by the water of our country."

Jinder laughed and said, "Why?"

"Every time I go to the water's bank in some part of the world, you will be remembered."

We took the cab and reached Jamuna river beach; Jinder wanted to pay the cab driver, the driver refused and said, "You are Jinder, aren't you? "

"I have listened to your lectures. You are the pride of our nation. I'm glad you're in my cab."

Jinder laughed and said, "Thanks for your compliments but take the money; your work is hard, and your family must need the money more than us."

"Jinder, Bro, do you want to rob my happiness?

A burning tire was also found in my father's throat.

I watched my father's flesh and bone burn. I saw his limbs become ashes one by one. I wanted to come forward to help my father, but my mother held me tight. I will not take money from any person named Jinder for the rest of my life." Jinder laughed and said, "Good friend as you like."

"Come on, girl, what to do now? We have reached on the sand."

"Let's do it, Jinder; let's take off our shoes here and walk barefoot on the sand."

"Yeah, Sukhi, I will not ask how you feel; I know because I am also a woman."

I laughed and said, "How come? you are a woman?"

"As you are JInder, dear!"

"You solve puzzles of heart." These words of yours are piercing my mind and becoming my

pores. I want my pores to be delicate."

"Yes, under this pretext, I will be alive too."

"Why do you say such bad words, Jinder? I have to live my whole life within the evening. I will make you melt, so you stay inside me."

"Yes, Sukhi, if we come out from romance and see, perhaps it is the last sitting of our life."

The foot stopped, and I looked back. Our Footprints were following in unison, but now the footsteps stood still as if interval had come.

My feet moved as if a painter's brush had touched something on the ground. I hugged Jinder tightly. The footprints also forgot their gender.

We laid down on the sand. Our limbs start talking to each other.

They hugged each other and reach their height. The pores touched the peak point.

Now it was not the feet but the sand that had blown the surrounding.

Flying sand said, `Come on, look, I have reached the climax of romance.`

Spreading the sand with his feet, Jinder said, "Let's go ahead now."

I did not answer but walked away quietly. I hugged Jinder again and started kissing his mouth wildly. Jinder was also saturated.

The eyes part was still there. My thick tears quickly melted into the sand.

My tears dissolve down to the sand for regret.

The sands of the Yamuna River in India became intoxicated with this union. The footsteps started walking again.

"Sukhi, your words made my life heavenly virgin. I don't know if we will ever be able to enjoy this sand of Yamuna again. I wish, but I know it won't."

The night bliss was in its full swing. At that time, the moonlit was bright. We were walking alone on the banks of the Yamuna. We had no desire to see the distant shore. We had filled our cup of hands with the entire water of the river.

After the Delhi massacre, the place was no longer bright.

Putting our arms around each other, we walked back.

I said to Jinder, "I want to see our footprints on the way back.

We were coming back by putting our feet in our footprints."

Jinder laughed and said, "Why are you making these footprints bigger?"

"I don't know; my heart whispers to do it."

"Sukhi, your company has made my life better today. I don't know if we will ever be able to enjoy this sand of Yamuna or not."

"What do you think, Jinder?"

"I think differently than you."

"How is that?"

"Maybe in a few decades, you'll have a chance to come here again. At that time I will be with you. You will play with your heart again, and I will join your game. Maybe people will make me my idol, but I don't want that. I want it to be in your heart and the hearts of the people."

" JInder, Let's speak the truth."

"No Sukhi, truth always bitter, so don't speak today. Talk some romantic lies."

"No, I don't mean that, Jinder."

"At the extreme, when you are with your imagination and make your hypothesis, you think differently.

if you want to know about that, my heart wants a plant to grow with seeds of tonight with you."

"Jinder, we are on the sand by the water, and yes, no plant grows in the sand no matter what you do."

"I don't care about botany, but you ask, and I answer."

"Jinder, a miracle happens."

"Sukhi, let's shake the sand on our backs again; you shake mine, and I shake yours."

"No, I can't do that. the sand of your back is my soul."

Now we were at the place where we had taken off our shoes.

We sat down. We were thinking the same thing.

Jinder grabbed my sandals and put them on my feet. I tied Jinder's straps. We were ready for new paths.

I shook the sand from Jinder's back and took the wallet in my handkerchief.

I brought the sand to Canada. For the last 30 years, I have worshipped the sand that belongs to Jinder.

I framed the sand in my locket and always put the locket in my necklace. My locket with the love symbol is also lovely. People find it beautiful, but I could smell it, and sometimes I kiss the locket.

July is the month of devotion for me. Jinder was shot dead by police on July 18, two years after I arrived in Canada. Some newspapers kept writing that he was killed, and some newspapers were martyred.

I was mentally ready for this unpleasant moment. I kept collecting elements of this time of history as promised to Jinder. In every possible way, I gathered the truth behind what happened.

The ordinary people were not to blame, but the civilians were killed. I prepared a dossier and submitted it to International Human Rights so that it could be communicated to the world. I was constantly busy seeking international help so that this would not happen to people in any part of the world.

I remembered Jinder's different promises.

While leaving India, It was not suitable for Jinder to go to the airport, but he insisted.

After getting the boarding pass, we came to gate number eighty. It was half an hour before the check-in. Jinder tried his best to say no to any emotional talk now.

When the last ten minutes left, Jinder said, "Sukhi, we have placed a huge responsibility on your shoulders. I want the whole world to be your home and humanity to be your soul."

"Yes, Jinder, this unfortunate battle belongs to all of us, and we are doing our part. Weapons came to you and pens to me. We have to earn our interest. Don't worry; everything will be fine."

Jinder took me in his arms and hugged me, and we walked towards the gate. We reached the point where we were to be separated.

We want time to stand still, but the clock never stops.

I crawled towards the security, and as soon as I turned left, Jinder disappeared from my eyes.

I know Jinder would stay there for a long time, watching the planes flying. Every plane, there is several Sukhis flying for their destinations.

Historical
Like

About the Creator

kuljit mann

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.