Fiction logo

Saints of New Orleans

Chapter 1

By Micheal RogersPublished 2 years ago • 46 min read
Like

Day started like All the rest down here in Mississippi. Hot and muggy as soon as the daylight broke through the dark night. My little brother still asleep like usual, leaving me to make breakfast and do all the morning chores. He was 20 years my junior and I was pretty much the only father figure he had ever known. Ma and pa died of the scarlet fever not long after he was born. I was 26 and off fighting a war that I had no business in. As soon as I got my discharge papers I was on my way back home. That's where I found this ferrel little child with eyes like mine. He must have been born just after I left. It took some learning and several whippings to get him back into a form that resembles humanity. Sometimes I think that the whipping hurt me more than it did him. After a few years he had become a model child that others would base their thoughts of a good boy on. I can't imagine what he saw before I showed up.

We had neighbors about a mile down the road. A nice black family that with all the girls they had could have made their own church choir. The old man would always tip his hat to me if we ever crossed paths. He told me that the tried to leave food out for the boy as often as they could never get a sight of him, but he must've ate it cause the next day they would come retrieve the plate and even the chicken bones would be sucked dry.

They had a beautiful creole looking daughter about my age that I remember fondly as she used to be my fishing partner. She would always play with my hair because it was shaggy and curly and nothing like her own. When we were kids we had no idea about race or judgement of one's color. It was pure innocence just enjoying each other's company.

After returning from war everything was different. Blacks and whites kept to their own company. So when I asked Maylene to go fishing with me her daddy abruptly refused my request and said " she ain't here noways."

On the walk home I heard a loud screech as if it were an owl howling, but it was broad daylight.

That's when I saw 2 assailants brutally handling Maylene as if she were a ragdoll. I ran down, grabbed a knife from my boot and shoved it into the first mans neck I could reach. The other backed away as if he had seen a ghost. It was the mayor's boy Jeffrey. The other was just some vagrant no one would ever miss. But Jeffrey pleaded for his life so I took the heel of my boot and cracked him in his kneecap. He wailed louder than the girl he was attempting to rape.

I tied him to his horse and after making sure that Maylene was alright I rode him into town to the sheriff. Being the mayor's son and all his trial was the next day. They asked me to be in attendance. It was a pig circus. They had their minds made up, and Maylene wasn't going to get any justice. So I had to get it for her myself. I rose and asked to speak to the judge as I walked forward I pulled back the hammer on my .38 that was restless on my pocket. I said your honor, is there anyway that we can guarantee this not happen again. He stated, it didn't happen this time. So I placed the barrel against the judges podium and let the first of six bullets loose. Hit the judge right in his gutless torso. The next two bullets were for the mayor's boy. Hit him in the knee and the groin. I wanted him alive to suffer. The last three were for the bailsman because I wasn't going to jail just for serving justice to those that tried to escape it. I grabbed Maylene by the arm and stole two horses that were tied out front of the courthouse. Coincidentally they both belonged to the mayor. We rode for days with no sight of anyone following us.

We rode for what seemed like a week. Only stopping to water the horses and catch a short nap. We both being country folk we knew what plants we could eat and not get sick from, but weeds and roots don't fill the belly and by the time we reached Louisiana we were famished. We figured New Orleans was a big enough place that the two of us wouldn't be paid any mind. They have their own brand of trouble there and we may as well have been Saints in this city.

We found a place on the outskirts that welcomed both white and colored Patrons. I had just enough money to get us a room and a hot meal. I wasn't worried about money because I could always make more doing whatever needed doing. Even covered in road dust and grime Maylene was still looked angelic in my eyes. The room was just that a room. Bed ,toilet, running water for the bathtub and sink and a window looking out over the French Quarter, but no walls. Privacy was not an option in this room. So I told Maylene I would step out and see if I could find a second hand store to get her some suitable clothing. She thanked me in that soft sweet southern drawl. Every word that ever came out her mouth I think I could recite verbatim as it sounded sweeter than any other sound I had ever heard. She started removing her shoulder straps before I could get out the door and I had to remove my hat because I thought I may just faint. I quickly and clumsily opened the door and removed my gaze from her.

I walked down through the small hotel and out into the streets of the quarter. I looked at every booth I passed trying to find something fitting for Maylene. I finally found a peddler about the same height and build as Maylene that was selling her clothes they may or may not have bees stolen, but for two dimes I found her a nice skirt and shirt to match and I talked her into a pair of socks and loafers for a nickel. She threw in a pair of slacks that were meant for a boy but would fit her just the same. A few blocks down I found a fella selling men's clothes and I offered to trade my untattered clothes that just needed a wash for some of his wares and of course he happily obliged. With my last four dollars I spent two of the on I a sterling silver pair of earrings and a small bottle of french perfume that I wanted to surprise my beautiful friend with. That left us two dollars for a couple of drinks at the pub in the hotel lobby and breakfast in the morning.

I had been gone for at least an hour. Plenty of time for her to bathe and get comfortable. I returned to the room knocking before I used the key to enter. What a sight, as beautiful as she was awake she looked heavenly as she was sleeping under the cotton blankets. I laid the goods I had purchased on the chest of drawers and the earrings and perfume on the pillow in front of her so she would see it when she woke.

Me being as dirty as a ditch digger I took the sheet from the other bed and fashioned a make shift curtain in front of the tub just in case she did awaken I wouldn't make a crude scene. That hot bathe felt so good on my aching muscles and I am not sure how long I was in there before falling asleep but I awoke to Maylene pouring water on my hair washing out the soap she used to wash it with. I was startled at first and I placed a rag over my manhood. Not as if she hadnt been able to see it already, although the water was a bit murky do to how filthy I was. She just smiled a big smile with her white teeth that were accentuated by her cocoa brown lips. "First thing tomorrow I'm going to trim this mop of hair of yours because you look like a vagrant," she said. "A shave wouldn't hurt either". Then she looked in my eyes as if she could see my very soul as she bent down and gave my lips a peck. "Thank you for the earrings and perfume" she said. She was already wearing the earrings but she said the perfume is only for special occasions. "Tomorrow maybe," she said. "Dry off and come to bed your going to get waterlogged in there if you stay in much longer." We had separate beds and as tired as we both were, I don't believe that if we only had a single that anything would happen anyway. She said "thank you for everything you did for me and sweet dreams." "Sweet dreams" I replied back as I faded off to sleep.

I woke with a startle, "My little brother I thought".

Maylene was already awake brushing her long black hair that she always kept in a braid that went down to the middle of her back. I said, "Maylene, I have to go back to fetch my brother". She replied that he was in safe hands at her daddy's. "As soon as he heard that you were going to be at the courthouse also, he went and got him that morning." I felt a huge relief. Her daddy was not someone that invited any badge wearing son of a bitch into his home. So I knew Sam would be safe. I got my breaches on and put on my shirt cleaned my boots off in the tub and we made our way down to the hotel lobby for breakfast. We had a good meal and handed the keys back to the desk clerk. I noticed as we were walking out another fella walking in with a stack of papers. "Oh hell" I said to Maylene. " Our photos were right there on the front page, May, " I whispered to her. "We need to get out of town and fast." We didn't have but a satchel with all our belongings, so we saddled the horses and headed west towards Texas.

We made it a few miles out of New Orleans by noon. We came to a town with a general store where I traded my .38 for a Winchester lever action .44 caliber rifle. Much longer distance and I didn't want to have to get close enough to someone to get a good shot in with that little revolver. After the horses were watered we set out with the sun directly overhead. We made it through the swamps of the Atchafalaya before dark and we set up camp on the other side. This would give us plenty of time to tuck tail and run if we saw lights heading in our direction. Two long grueling days on horseback through the swamps and sugar cane fields of Louisiana would wear out any man or horse. Still 2 days away from the Texas border. We found some old moonshiner tending his still and he could see we meant no trouble so he set us up for the night in his barn. We drank our fill of shine and ate whatever it was he put in front of us. We were so hungry we didn't bother asking what it was. He played the banjo and his brother on the washboard and it seemed like every shiner for miles came down and enjoyed the music and drink. Maylene and I danced like we had the spirit in us. This was the second time I had the pleasure to kiss those beautiful lips of hers but it felt like the first all over. I could have waited forever for that and it would have still been better than anything I had ever lay my lips upon.

After everyone was either leaving or passed out. We made our way to the hay loft in the old man's barn. We made love with more passion than I ever knew possible. When we kissed it was like taking in the holy communion. It was as if we were one body, knowing each other's move before ever making it. It was surreal and so real at the same time. The most beautiful thing I have ever experienced in my life.

Chapter 2

We were nearly 5 miles from Texas when some riders began approaching from the north. We pushed our horses as fast as they could gallop. They looked like lawmen with their matching blue shirts. I wasn't taking any chances so I pulled out thay rifle and fired twice hitting one of their horses. That slowed them down a bit. Long enough for us to be in Texas without them on our ass.

We made it into Texas without any holes or cuts in us. That was a feat in itself, especially with what I saw at the local post office. They had put a bounty on our heads. Two hundred dollars each for the killing of a judge and bailsman.

Well it looked like our stay in Texas was going to be short lived. We holed up in a room above a brothel it was loud, crowded and no one paid us any mind. We stayed in the room and cleaned up a bit. May finally gave me the haircut she had been so anxious to. I even shaved. I looked like a young man and May didn't seem to mind my smoothe shaven face. She would rub her cheek against mine and it was like we were teenagers again. We decided to go for a walk and maybe get a bite to eat. As we walked through the brothel towards the door some sack of shit yelled out how much for that nigger, boy. I told him that she ain't for sale and if you call her that again it will be the last thing you say to anyone. This drunk fucker didn't believe me and said " I know a nigger whore when I see one." I reached in my coat pocket and slipped on my brass knuckles. Hit that bastard once and collapsed his cheek bones. The as he lay on the floor I pulled out his tongue and sliced the tip off. So if he ever decided to say nigger again it wouldn't come out so harsh. No one else seemed to want to bother us again after that.

I washed my hands and blade off on the horse trough right outside. Then we proceeded on with our walk and found a decent looking place to eat.

Sitting down eating I looked at may as she looked at me and I knew she was mine forever and always.

We made it back to our room with no obstacles in our way. We talked for hours about her favorite things and what it was like fighting in a war. She told me that she had always thought that we belonged together but her family didn't like the idea of her with a white man. I told her I didn't care what her family thought, because I love you and would kill and even die for you. She just said"I Know and I love you too. Let's go to Mexico and get married." I agreed without a second thought.

Leaving Houston was going to be tougher than I expected.

Meanwhile back at Maylene's folks house, Sam was helping her Pa split wood. Seeing as he had all girls, he was much appreciative of having a polite boy around that could help him do the things he would normally be doing himself. The old man had a stallion that he was too old to even dare try to break himself. Sam was, depending on how you look at it, either blessed or cursed with having no fear.

Saddling the stubborn bronco was tough but after he got the cinches tight it snorted a few times and calmed down. It was stomping it's right foot as if it were daring someone to try to mount it. Sam stuck his left foot in the stirrup and rubbed the broncs neck letting the stallion know that he didn't mean any harm. After a few minutes of that Sam threw his right leg over the saddle and secured his foot in the stirrup. That old bronco immediately started galloping and bucking through the corral. Sam hung on like a pro rodeo rider. After about 2 minutes of that I guess the stallion just gave up. Sam broke that horses spirit and in return the old black man told Sam, " well it looks like you have yourself a horse now boy. Cause I still ain't getting on that stubborn son of a bitch." Sam was becoming a man earlier than he should, but you do what you have to whenever necessity calls for it.

Little did Sam know that this was just the beginning of what he was put here to do, because after that you wouldn't see him not on horseback unless he was eating or sleeping. People from all over came calling for Sam to break their unbreakable wild horses. Before he was ten years old he was one of the best horse trainers in the state.

After about six months of staying with Maylene's family, he was ready to go back to our house. I guess being alone for so long, made it difficult to get comfortable around a family that size.

He still helped out with chores that no one else could do, but he made sure he had time to himself to work on keeping our homes in top shape in case I ever returned. Hell he even fenced of about ten acres and bought a few goats and calves. This boy had spirit and lots of it. Maylene's Pa laid plenty of old time farm knowledge on him in the short time he was there.

I think that old man felt like Sam was the son he never had.

The old man told Sam that a man needs only three guns, a rifle for hunting game such as hogs and deer, a shotgun for birds and pests, and a pistol on his side for the pests that talk too much.

With the money he made from breaking horses, Sam didn't have to work on anything but our place and lend the old black man a hand when need be. So he went to the western auto and bought a beautiful hickory handled colt .45 with a nice blue coating on the metal, for the rifle he got a Henry Big Boy .45 so he didn't have to have but one type of bullet , and he already had a Remington shotgun that Pa left us. He bought 300 rounds of bullets and decided that was enough for any job that comes along.

Sam watched and paid close attention to what the old man planted in his garden and when. He even got that old stallion to pull a plow and he plowed at least two acres in the back forty to plant potatoes in late August so he could have a good crop come fall. Everything trhat Maylene's daddy planted, Sam did the same. I don't think that old man could have been prouder, because no matter what anyone said the boy was his son. When the evening came they both sat on the porch tired as hell drinking ice cold tea and whittling on a piece of hickory. I wish I could have been there to see my little brother become a hard working man. The way things are, I'm afraid I'll never see him again, but at least he has a good role model.I hope he doesn't follow in my steps. Killing a man is easy but each one you kill seems like they haunt you in the back of your mind and in your sleep they awaken and torment your dreams.

Chapter 3

In fucking Texas it seems like there's a bounty hunter on every corner. Just waiting for the right time to strike. Like a rattlesnake rattling, mouth wide open waiting for you to step into his zone. I ain't stupid and now with.my hair cut and clean shaven, I don't look anything like that wanted picture anyhow. May, on the other hand can't hide that beauty. So to get a bit of money quickly and not in the public eye. I said to the owner of the diner next to the hotel if he needed any help. I sai,"Sir it looks like you are a bit short handed for all these customers. You are going to wear yourself to an early grave. Why don't you let me and my lady friend help you out for a few hours and you can pay us an even $10." He said " well I do need some wood split out back. If you split all of it and your friend can help me serve drinks then I'll give you $15. I think that is more than fair." So we shook hands and quickly got to work. I have Maylene my hat to wear so she could tuck that long ack braid under it and it would shade her eyes a bit so nobody would give her a second glance.

There must've been about a cord of hickory that he wanted split so I knew I had my couple hours cut out for me. About three hours past and I was done with the wood and I asked May how she was doing, she just softly said "I'm tired baby, and my feet are killing me.

So we approach the owner and he was more than happy with our help. Be gave us two five dollar bills and another five dollars in one dollar bills and several quarters. We were perfectly satisfied. I knew that we were both tired, but we had to get outta Houston and quick. Our destination was New Mexico but Texas was a 15 day trip across on horseback. I knew we were going to run across trouble somewhere.

I gave May half of the money we had and asked her to get a little bit of food that won't spoil on the trip and I said, " you may want to get some boy clothes so you aren't as noticable." She agreed. I went to the gunsmith and with $7.50 I bought a Colt .45 revolver and three boxes of shells. The shells fit both the rifle and the pistol.

I always carried three knives with me anyway and a set of knuckles in my coat pocket. I have never liked fighting, but if I have to fight, I want to win.

I started back to the horses when I saw May walking tow horses and just as she got there, a fucking deputy sheriff put his hand in my shoulder and asked,* where you going and what do you plan on doing with all that ammo and that hand canni that you just bought?" I told him that we were going across the fine state of Texas to New Mexico and didn't want any trouble. He said, I think that I need to take you to the sheriff and she if you have any warrants. Just as quick as he said that , May pulls the rifle from the sheath, cocks it and the shot rang out across the whole city it sounded like. The bullet hit that deputy in the eye and damn near took half of his head off.we jumped on the horses and sat for a second while I loaded the revolver and I knew that rifle only had two more shots left in it so I gave Maylene 6 more shells to load into the rifle.

That's when two more shots rang out. Didn't hit a damn thing, but two more deputies we're heading our way. Taking all precautions I shot the one on the left in his pelvis and put another in his collar bone. I knew that would bleed him out. May was probably the best shot I've ever seen because she took the other deputies head damn near off with two shots. I've never seen her shoot a gun before, but I know now not to get on her bad side.

We took off and never looked back. We road about 15 miles south when we needed to go west but we figured this may throw them off our trail. We set up camp around eight pm. Tired as hell we sat cuddled by the fire eating some sort of hobo stew that Maylene threw together. It was edible due to the fact I hadn't eaten since breakfast. After we ate he just laid there looking at the clear open sky. We talked a bit about what it would be like to just fly away so no one would ever be able to catch us. She just got the first ghostly feeling after killing someone. She wasn't weeping, but she had that stare. I've seen e thousands of times. Like she is starinf right through you and her mind is a hundred miles away. I felt bad. I never intended to be a wanted man. I just wanted to be wanted by Maylene, no matter how or what I had to do to get her to want me. Now she has me and I have her and all the rest of the world can go straight to hell. I knew we needed sleep because it's going to be a long ride out of Texas.

Morning came quick. I woke right before the sun peaked up over the eastern horizon. I let Maylene sleep while I got everything packed up and the horse saddled up. I stole the fire a bit and made some eggs and coffee. I think that the smell of the coffee woke my beautiful partner in crime. She wsat up with the sleep still in her eyes and said, " Baby that coffee smells like heaven right now." I said good cause I just made you a cup and two eggs if you're hungry." She stretched out her arms as she said," honey you are going to spoil my black ass." I said," good cause I do love your black ass.' she just giggled and took the coffee cup from my hand.

Chapter 4

The route we took to New Mexico was just dusty pasture land. We avoided most towns unless we were desperate for some supplies. The only bad thing was no matter what, we were going to have to go through Dallas or El Paso. We decided on El Paso so we could cut through old Mexico and not have to worry about someone on our tail. By this time my hair and beard had done grown out and I looked exactly like the wanted poster that seemed to be everywhere. Now the bounty was $1000 each on us for killing those deputies in Houston as well. They even had the Rangers in pursuit of us. We decided not to stay in El Paso but to pas through the outskirts. It worked well right up until we were spotted by a bounty hunter and his crew of three riders. Bullets were flying everywhere and we pushed our horses to their limits getting out of there. May got grazed on the arm by a piece of lead, but it wasn't serious. If he would have led her a bit father she would be dead. Thankfully these lads didn't know much about aiming a gun.

We made it through El Paso and to the Rio Grande. We had to find a spot shallow enough for the horses to cross and that allowed the riders to gain on us. But we luckily found a crossing pretty quick. We got into Juarez and jus passed right through. We found an old abandoned shack about 4 miles outside of Juarez and decided to hole up there so I could doctor May's wound. Infection is what kills most folks when they are shot. We figured this place was as good as any so we stayed a while. We had a visitor, a Mexican fella, but neither of us spoke Espanol. He left us with some Sopaipillas and left not to be seen again.

Maylene and I decided we should be married. Even though there was no one to conduct a proper service. We were not depending on another person to approve of the marriage, we said our vows under God's approval. I loved her more than life itself and I knew that she would always be on my side no matter if I were right or wrong.

After five days there we decided to pack up and move on towards New Mexico. I had the horses saddled that's when I heard the riders coming. There must have been 20 horses. Bounty hunters and Texas Rangers riding side by side.i ran back inside and told Maylene to keep out of sight as I loaded our weapons. I started shooting at them before they even drew a weapon. I told Maylene," Baby this is my last fight, if they take me back to Texas, it won't be alive." I stood up in the window and unloaded the rifle on them. They shot and hit me at least thee times but I pulled the revolver from my holster and began shooting again. By the they were close enough that every bullet they shot penetrated my body. "I lost this fight," I told Maylene as the last breathe left my body. She was crying like I've never seen, but behind her tears were anger. She picked up the rifle, knowing it was empty. She said, "Father please forgive me, I can't make it without my man." She stood up and pointed the empty rifle at the riders. That's when her final prayer was answered. When the rifles fired again. Maylene grabbed her lovers hand as she lay dying. She could see the light shining down from heaven as the Seven Spanish Angels came to take the two lovers to their final resting place. One of the riders didn't know who they were chasing and when he realized that it was Mike Connors, his bunkmate in the service, he almost lost it. He got his guns and knives and showed them away in his satchel. After all was said and done he returned the items to Mike's only living relative, Sam Connors.

He said his apologies, but Sam didn't seem to accept them because he killed the bounty hunter that helped kill his brother. He vowed to kill everyone that was involved in the slaying of the two lovers.

Chapter 5 The Revenge of the Lovers

After dragging the dead man into the swamp, Sam returned home covered in blood. The old black man didn't flinch. He just sat there in the rocking chair on Sam's porch. "When you get a taste for blood, it's hard to get it outcha mouth until you finish what you start", said the old man. "I can't blame you for whatever it is that you are about to do. Hell if I was 30 years younger I would saddle up and ride witcha, son." The old man knew his daughter was murdered unjustly. All because of an attempted rape gone terribly wrong. Sure Mike Connors should not have shot that judge, but he knew what was right and he just followed the old ways. He saw too much when he was a soldier and you can't get that mentality out of your head. "Sam, son, you make damn sure you do what needs to be done and you bring yourself home," said the old shriveled black man. "I'm not going to tell you not to go, because I see it in your eyes that you won't listen to me anyway."

Sam said, " Pops, I will take care of what I need to take care of, and I promise you will see me again, plowing that back forty in a few months." The old man handed him a saddle bag with two revolvers and at least 200 shells. " I've been waiting for the right time to use these, but that time never came for me. So I guess the time is now and for you." They shook hands and the old man pulled him in for a hug. "You are my only son, Maybe not by blood but something stronger. Take care of yourself and come home to me boy." Sam said ," I love you Paw. You didn't have to take care of me, but you did and I'll never forget that. I have no intention of dying. Even you know that there's no one that can ride like me."

The old man nodded his head and said, " that's true, but don't let your pride get in the way, even the fastest horses can't out run a bullet. You are going to have to plan this out and learn to keep in the shadows. Darkness is going to have to your ally for this to work. Being honest and moral won't come into play when you are out for blood."

That's all the man had to say and he turned to the steps and walked home.

Sam was barely 18 at the time but he had the mindset of someone three times his age. The fearlessness of youth may be a good quality for this task.

He went inside and made supper. While it was heating he took a whorebath and shaved so he would look like a kid and no one would ever think he was someone out for revenge. He are his dinner then went out back and practiced with the

pistols the old man gave him as well as his brothers. He may not have been as good with a knife as his brother, but he could damn sure use a revolver. He held one in each hand and shot at empty cans not missing a one with all twelve bullets. He was ready to quinch his bloodlust. He went to bed that night, only able to sleep about three hours. He got up drink his coffee and then brushed his stallion and saddled him up. He knew it was going to be a long ride and trying to find the other eleven men wasn't going to be easy, but it had to be done and he was the one that had to do it.

Chapter 6

Sam set out early the next morning. He wasn't sure where to find the men he was looking for, but he had an idea where to start. He wasn't wanted, hell no one even knew he existed. He never even went into town before so his face wouldn't be recognized by anyone. He decided the best place to start would be New Orleans.

He thought maybe he could be of use to some established bounty hunters and keep his ears open to the stories they told. Every killers has a story and they like to brag. So this was his way of infiltrating their crew without them even giving it a second thought.

First thing he needed to do was show off a bit and there was a rodeo the first night he rode into town. He paid his entry fee for the bareback bronc competition bought a used rig from an old cowboy that was needing money for the fee.

Sam was the fourth rider and he watched as the

other riders were either bucked off or rode poorly. Sam knew horses and he knew exactly what to do to get them to buck the way he wanted. His turn was up so he climbed into the chute attached his rigging, dug his spurs into the horses shoulders leaned back and hollered, "let's go boys." They opened the chute and the horse bucked out about 7 feet with Sam spurring his shoulders once on the left to make him turn right, then dug both his spurs in an state horse bucked higher than any before it with Sam hanging on with his left hand in the rigging and the other flying up reaching for the sky. That eight seconds was over with Sam still riding. He dug his hand out of the rigging and threw his hat in the air. He knew he won even though there were others after him. He scored a 94 higher than some of the best named bronc riders out there. He waited and watched the rest of the riders the highest score next to him was an 88. Sam won $500 that night, making a name for himself so he could get some attention from the locals. His plan worked.

That night he went into the nearest tavern and order a whiskey and a beer. Two fellas walked up to him and said, "Man I ain't never seen such a ride. Are you pro." The man asked. Sam said ," hell no I ain't never even been in a rodeo, I bought that rigging used when I got there. I'm a bounty hunter, but I can't find a crew so I needed the cash. I just know horses." The two men looked at each other and said,"well if you can ride the way you can rodeo, we will ask our boss man if you can ride with us. We hunt bounty too and need a fourth man. You staying here tonight?" Sam said, "I'm at the greenlight inn over on Rampart. If your boss agrees just meet me there around 8 am tomorrow." "Sho nuff," said the man, and they walked out of the tavern. Sam's plan was coming together. So far so good.

The next morning them boys were waiting outside the hotel for Sam. "The boss wants to meet ya kid," Said the one they call Buckshot.

"Be respectful boy, he don't fuck around", said the other known as Turkeyleg. So they got on their horses and rode out to Metairie. It's about an hour ride on horseback. There's an old brothel there they called the Furbucket and that's where the boss called home. They walked in and and all the working girls were all over Sam. He just shrugged them off like they were mosquitoes.

They got to the bosses office and he was sitting there like he was something special. Sam thought otherwise though. " So I here you are one badass sum bitch on a horse. That's good I need a good rider. I lost two when we had to go after that nigger lover and his bitch. You think that you are up to the task, boy?" Sam's blood boiled and he had to swallow his pride even though it tasted like shit. "Yes sir I am a hell of a shot and there ain't no horse I can't ride. Not to brag but I'll outside all your boys and you, sir," Sam said with an arrogant tone. " You calling me out boy?" The boss asked. " No sir I just know horses," Sam replied. Thinking to himself and you are a horses ass. " Well we got a job this evening. One of my old riders turned tail and ran off and another one quit on me. I can't have that. The one that quit, is staying in Slidell it's about a two hour ride and then you have to take the ferry across lake Pontchartrain. You up for that?" the boss asked.

"Hell yeah, what's the pay?" Sam questioned.

"This is a trial run for you, boy, there ain't no pay until this is done."replied the boss. "Alright, but what if something goes bad and he's got a crew with him?" Sam asked. "As long as you return with his head then you are in." Was the response given.

This was right up Sam's alley. He gets to take out at least three of the sons of bitches that killed his brother and Maylene.

They left Metairie o the way to Slidell. Riding as fast as they could but neither of them could keep up with Sam. Once they reached the ferry, they Sam's horse already in the ferry but they didn't see Sam. They rode into the ferry and asked the ferryman we're the owner of this horse was. He said," oh cher he went over the other side the ferry to take a shit I tink."

"I'll go get him", said Buckshot. Once he turned the corner of the ferry Sam stuck him in the groin with his brothers Bowie knife. He ran that knife from his groin to his gullet. Then he pulled out the knife and with one swing took his head off.

He wahed his hands and knife in the lake. Turkeyleg was just standing at the edge of the boat looking over. He wasn't too swift anyway. He didn't even bother trying to sneak up on him he just walked forward with a skinning knife and jabbed it right in his upper spine so he was still alert but paralyzed. Sam said," I am the brother of that nigger lover you killed, and I intend to kill every man involved and anyone else that gets in my way." He knew the man couldn't feel anything from the neck down so he scalped him slowly with his skinner. He then took the ferrymans paddle and smashed his face in until the top of his skull fell into lake Pontchartrain. He threw the body into the water and told the ferryman that he can shove off now.C

Chapter 7

Sam finally got some relief by taking two of the bastards out. That just left 9 more and one was about to be given the same treatment as the last two. Once the ferry docked in Slidell Sam got on his horse and paid the ferryman twenty dollars for the ride and to keep his mouth shut.

Sam rode to the shack that supposedly another of the riders was staying. He got off his mount and strapped on his belt with two loaded Colts in the holster. Grabbed a few extra shells and his brothers Bowie. He walked up to the door and opened it like he owned the place. " Who the fuck are you", asked some ugly toothless bastard. Sam asked, "do you ride for the boss cause he has some questions for you." The man said , " yeah I did but not no more." Sam pulled out one of his pistols and asked, " were you one of the riders that killed Mike Connors and Maylene Bradley?" He said, " yeah that's why I quit. Are you here to kill me for that?" "I'm here for more than just your head. I want you to suffer like you made my father suffer when you killed his daughter", yells Sam. "You ain't no nigger" , said the man. " Neither was she, you piece of shit."

Sam shot the man in his right and left arm leaving him lame so as to not be able to put up a fight. "I'm here for your head, but I'm going to cause you so much pain that you're gonna be begging me to kill you" , exclaimed sam. He took the man's boots off and pulled out out his skinning knife he carved all the meat from his toes leaving just the bones. The man screaming bloody murder. Then he told the son of bitch to stand and walk to the middle of the room and pull down his breaches. The man screaming the entire time he has to walk on his skinless toes. Sam then split the man's scrotum open and removed his testicles and shoved them in his mouth so he couldn't scream anymore. He then split the man's stomach open and his intestines spilled out. He figured that he spent enough time on this one so he took that Bowie knife out and began to carve the man's head off. He put the man's head in a sack and rode back to the ferry.

He was a bloody mess, but the ferryman didn't say a word just started paddling back to New Orleans.

Once Sam got back to the boss, the boss asked where the other two were so Sam said," this fella had friends there and were ready for us, I was lucky to get out myself but I got your package and then some." Sam dumped the sack out on the bosses desk blood went everywhere and the testicles were bulging out of the severed head.

"Holy shit",, the boss exclaimed. "You are my kind of ruthless. You got the job boy", said the boss. "Thanks sir", said Sam. "I'm going to need some new help though." The boss man said, "Okay but you have to go to Texas." This was perfect. Sam was getting in with everyone he was after. He had to save the boss for last otherwise one may get away and he couldn't allow that.

Chapter 8

Sam was offered a room for the night and any woman he wanted out of the brothel, on the house. Sam had never been with a woman. He was more nervous than excited. When the scarlett red headed woman walked in she was breathtaking. "Hey", said the scarlet beauty said. "Hey", said Sam. She started removing her clothes and Sam stopped her. "You think that we can get to know each other first?". Sam asked. The fiery red head said, "Sure, this is my first day anyway, and you're my first customer."

Sam said,"You're so full of shit your eyes are turning brown." She said,"No seriously." My dad couldn't afford to feed me and my brothers so he sold me to Deacon." "Who the fuck is Deacon?" Asked Sam. " The guy you call boss", stated the girl. " Well you vwont be working here for long, so bide your time and if you want to come home with me I can feed your entire family, buy I'm just asking you." Replied Sam. "What's your plan?" She asked. "Just trust me for a day or two and you will have all the answers you seek."

"Ok Sam, you have a bloodlust in your eyes, honey," the red head seemed to know that look. "I don't even know your name, girl." Sam said." It's Penelope," the girl said as she looked away. "Penelope, huh. That's a fine name for a beautiful lady." Penelope blushed as she turned her head to the side. "Well Miss Penelope, would you do me the honor of my first kiss?" Sam asked. " Now you're bullshitting me, Sam. No way you ain't never kissed a girl before." Sam shrugged and said, "well there aren't any good girl's where I'm from, not any that I'm not related to anyway." Penelope moved in closely just close enough for Sam to taste her breathe. It made the hairs on both of their necks stand up it was so passionate. Sam then moved in closely and their lips touched. It sent shivers down their spine as if it were meant to be. A kiss like that changes how a person thinks, but Sam was dedicated on his task that he set upon before meeting Penelope. He said, "I haven't felt that way since my first holy communion. Do you mind if we just sleep together and nothing else?" She said " that's up to you babe, it is your time." So as Sam laid down Penelope removed her dress leaving only her corset and stockings on. They cuddled for mere seconds before they were both fast asleep. When they woke, Sam stated that he needed a bath because it had been at least a week since he bathed in the creek back home. Penelope moved to the stove to boil some water and filled the tub with cold and hot water. She then removed her clothes and got in saying how good it felt and that he should join her. Sam did just that holding his hands over his manhood before sinking into the water. Penelope giggled and said "You're so well mannered. I don't know what I'm going to do with you." She moved her foot so to rub his penis just lightly so he would be erect before getting out of the tub, but Sam took her right there in the tub. Water sloshing everywhere. The cries of ecstasy could be heard for several rooms down. It could almost be mistaken for an intense gospel if one weren't initiated in the art of sex. They both moaned loudly as Sam filled her with his semen.

"That was amazing," Sam said. Penelope just nodded in agreement. She then washed Sam from head to toe so he would look respectable when he left the room. He then left, got on his horse and made his way towards Texas. He had heard of one of the riders staying in lake Charles which was on his way to Texas. So he knew he would have to stop by and pay the son of a bitch an unwelcome visit.

Chapter 9

Penelope and Sam were lying in bed. This was a turning point in sam's life. He never felt this way about a person before and he want sure how to process this feeling he had for this beautiful red haired lady. He knew be had unfinished business, but he was tangled by the fact that he may not make it back. Sam thought for a bit as he laid there next to a sleeping Penelope. After a long talk with himself, Sam decided he would take out the boss first so he could free Penelope and take her back to his old homestead in Mississippi. He couldn't imagine her having to be the entertainment another cowboy. Sam quietly got out of bed and got his clothes on. It was only about four a.m. so he knew everyone else would be sleeping and not prepared for the rapture be had in his mind. After he got his boots on he grabbed one of the pistols that the old black man gave him. He made sure it was loaded and the sights were true. He didn't plan to use it but he wanted to be prepared. He preferred his Bowie and skinning knife which is what he has planned for the boss. Sam quietly snuck out the door and down the hall he crept to the bosses room. He grabbed the door knob and slowly turned it so as to not make a sound. Quiet as a mouse, Sam opened the door and crept up on the sleeping boss. He took out his Bowie and without a second thought he plunged the knife into the man's lower stomach and the man screamed so loud it could wake the dead. Sam ran the knife from his lower torso all the way up to his ribs. He the had to use more pressure to split the man's ribs in half. The boss man was still conscious but couldn't scream anymore he the took his skinner and carved the word murderer in his forehead. He took the bloody sheet and cut it in half, tied it around the man's neck he the tied the other half of the sheet to the headboard.be tied the sheets together and grabbed the boss and threw him out the window for the entire town to see.

He went back to his room covered in blood. He woke Penelope and said Baby, you're free. She was so shocked at all the blood she asked frantically," Are you hurt. Whose blood is that?"

Sam tells her,"baby this blood is your freedom."

She gets out of bed, still nude and grabs Sam like she's holding on to God. She says, "let's get you cleaned up. I can get you some new clothes from the bosses room." Sam said," sounds like a plan, baby." She gets a bath ready for him and as he gets in, she gets her slip on and runs out of the room to fetch Sam some new clothes. As he begins to get out of the tub she comes back with a full set of clothes that were nothing like his normal attire of farmhand clothing. He gets dressed up and Penelope admired how handsome he looked in his new fancy attire.

She got cleared up and dressed as well. Sam walks to her and kissed her deeply. "Let's go baby". he said. They go downstairs with all the ladies of the night just staring at them like they were ghosts. Sam finds the bosses horse in the stable and saddles it up for Penelope. His horse was still saddled because he hadn't planned on staying there long. He said, "Baby will you come home with me? My work is done. The other riders were just following this assholes orders."

She smiled and happily agreed.

They rode for a day and camped at night. It was a four day ride so they rode hard until the horses couldn't go any further. When they finally made it to the farm, the old black man was grinning from ear to ear."Welcome back son. Who's this bright red young lady?", He said. Sam said, "Hopefully my bride if she will have me pop's," Penelope said," After what you did for me, how could I ever refuse you. So of course I will marry you."

Sam took her to his house and said," this is your new home baby, you can fix it however you would like it."

They were married the next day under a large live oak tree behind the house. His entire adopted family was in attendance as the reverend said that he may now kiss the bride, all the attendants woo'd and clapped loudly. Sam then picked up his new bride and carried her into the house and took her straight to the bedroom. Sam was a changed man. He wanted nothing more than to live happily with his new wife. He was now a family man. Penelope talked all night to him about how happy be had made her and asked how many children they should have. Sam said, "If we keep this up we're going to have a house full."

A few months later Penelope was already rubbing her pregnant belly. Sam continue plowing that back forty to make sure his family never had to go hungry like he did as a child.

AdventureLoveShort StoryScript
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.