Fiction logo

S.A.D

Micro fiction

By E.K. DanielsPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
6
S.A.D
Photo by Kiwihug on Unsplash

Winter was never my favorite season. It was cold, damp, dark, and depressing. So much so that psychologists came up with an acronym for it, like they do with everything. They called it “S.A.D.” Fitting, really, given it pretty much summed up how most people in the Northern Hemisphere felt this time of year. Despite the garbage thrown at from every wayward Hallmark movie, ‘twas not the season to be jolly. Unless there was alcohol. That helped.

But I digress. “S.A.D.”: Seasonal Affective Disorder. It’s basically what it sounds like. It’s dark in the winter, there’s not enough sunlight, and you get depressed because you don’t have enough vitamin D. My doc prescribed me a supplement. I’d chug it down each morning with two fists of whiskey. I don’t know how much good the vitamin D did, but the whiskey helped. I only left the house when I ran out.

The corner store was only a few blocks away, and the shop keep knew me by name. She saw me often enough.

Icicles framed the door as I stepped inside. “Hey, Herb”. She didn’t even look up from her magazine. The stroke of 2 every Monday was usually when I would show up.

We exchanged a nod, grumble, and a wad of cash.

The bell on the door jingled, announcing my departure. I forgot the vitamin D.

I wouldn’t need it. The door swung open, releasing the icicles from their home, before slicing into my neck. ‘Twas so very S.A.D.

Excerpt
6

About the Creator

E.K. Daniels

Writer, watercolorist, and regular at the restaurant at the end of the universe. Twitter @inkladen

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Just Daniel3 months ago

    Brilliant! And I agree with the rest, amazing ending to the excerpt!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Yikes! shock ending!

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Yikes! I always knew vitamin D deficiency was bad for you! Great storytelling!

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Bahahaha. Besides the icicles everything else sounds like my life!! 😆 Fun and funny. 😊👏 Think there might be an extra word fourth paragraph down.. after Icicles frame..

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.