Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Before I Fall to Earth

A micro fiction

By E.K. DanielsPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Before I Fall to Earth
Photo by Colin Davis on Unsplash

I remember first learning about the states of matter in grade school. It all seemed simple enough. An ice cube was the safest example. The teacher put an ice cube on the table, then lit a fire from above. She watched as the ice slowly melted, leaving a puddle in its wake. Solid to liquid, just like that. It was magic.

Snow was a funny one, though. It’s called “solid precipitation” as it falls to Earth. A sort of in between state.

That was a long time ago now. And I have the kind of snow that doesn’t melt. It doesn’t chill, either. It burns, as it courses through my veins.

It weighs heavy in my pocket, threatening to suck me into its blizzard. The many nights I lay awake, staring into the mirror, the lines of perfectly positioned snow eager for someone to traverse the slopes.

The ride along the way is fun, but I always found myself searching for the next high. The black diamond. The perfect slope.

But this sport is not for the faint of heart. At best, you break your nose. At worst, you are crippled for life. Friends and family gone, all relationships and hopes dashed with a trip down the mountain.

Anyone who said snow was a symbol for innocence had clearly never met this kind.

I long for the days where I matter again. Where I can change matter, before I fall to Earth. I will wait for the snow to thaw.

MicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

E.K. Daniels

Writer, watercolorist, and regular at the restaurant at the end of the universe. Twitter @inkladen

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Just Daniel3 months ago

    Amazing as always, the flow, the words that look the same but have a vastly different meaning from each other. Very well done and thank you for sharing! ^^

  • A. Lenae3 months ago

    I like the way you explore addiction in this, very poetically and without hitting anyone over the head. I read this through a couple of times to fully register why I enjoy it so much. The humanity and thirst is there, which anyone can relate to. And the strong metaphors create such an ambiance here. There are always moments where we want to matter again, but it's heartbreaking when someone is just searching and all they find is more snow and less self. Very well done and thought provoking.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.