Fiction logo

Rush

Myah Rush, Part 1

By Dominique StedgePublished 3 years ago 5 min read

Chapter One

Just Another Sunny Day

"Riiiiing!" I jump out of my desk as the school day ends, nearly forgetting my bag. I make it to the hall just as it begins to fill with students eager to leave for the weekend. Maneuvering my way quickly through the throng of hoodies and letterman jackets towards the double doors: I, Myah Rush, am on a mission.

The doors fling open behind me as I step into the blinding sunlight of a Florida fall. A strong wave of cologne hits my nose, just before a muscular arm trap me in a headlock, quickly cutting off my air supply. "Parker!!" I gurgle while delivering a sharp elbow to his stomach. He let out a deep, hearty laugh while grabbing his abdomen. That laugh is so different from the one he had when we were kids. I can't help but notice how much he has changed. He now has such broad shoulders, and a chiseled jaw. The only reminders of his boy- like qualities are his large brown eyes, and surfer blonde hair. No one would know we were twins unless they knew us, which everyone did.

Mother is the head nurse at Shadow Hill Hospital, and Father is the mayor. Parker is the star quarterback and ladies’ man, and I am the starting striker and captain of the soccer team. In a small town on the Florida-Alabama line high school sports are everything, and it's hard to fall into the shadows. Being twins just pushed us further into the limelight, though we couldn't be more different. Parker, with his brown eyes, blonde hair, and tan skin are a stark contrast to my long chocolate brown hair, green eyes, and olive skin.

"Ouch little sis!" He is 17 minutes older and never lets me forget!

"Your sister has an arm on her, you better watch out!" Leo winks one of his beautiful blue eyes at me as he saunters over to us. "I taught her well!" It's true, my best friend-turned-boyfriend has taken it upon himself to teach me self-defense. I give him a quick kiss before leaving the boys standing on the steps to the school. As I look back at them, I see Leo laughing as Parker struggles to get out of an especially tight headlock. "Justice" I mumble to myself with a smirk, then set my sights on the task at hand. My friend needs me and I won’t let her down.

As I enter the parking lot and near my massive green Chevy Silverado, I get the overwhelming feeling of being watched, deep in my core. Jogging now, as I grasp the handle and tug I hear a raspy voice mumble "Hey there". With no time for pleasantries, I jump in the truck and start it without looking back. I glance at the clock on the dashboard, "3:15! Crap! Alyvia is going to kill me!" I slam the shifter into reverse and check the rear view mirror to see him standing there. Just standing there, smirking. Who is he? "3:20! Ugh I don’t have time for this!" I groan after checking the clock once more. I begin to back out, despite him standing directly behind the truck, and watch him slowly make his way amongst the sea of vehicles. "Creepy" I mumble. Putting the truck in drive, I finally begin my endeavor.

I turn onto Rosemary Dr., the sense of urgency eating away at me. Pulling into Alyvia’s circle driveway, I don’t see her beamer, but I do however see Taylor's blue corolla. Alyvia is a lot to handle. She is narcissistic to a fault. When her mom died six years ago, her grandparent's estate was entrusted to her. Alyvia's poor dad has done everything in his power to raise her on his own, but his depression and her stubbornness has proven too much for him to handle. Though she can be quite a handful, those closest to her know how pure her heart is, despite her callous exterior. Taylor, on the other hand, is the most kind of us all though she isn’t afraid to hurt your feelings with the truth if it is in your best interest. She is smart and beautiful, but doubts herself far too much. We have all been friends since we were kids, and now Alyvia needs us. Since her mom passed unexpectedly, Taylor and I have been on-call for all of Alyvia's "emergencies". Normally, it's a bad haircut or she needs tampons and her dad doesn't know what to get, but this time sounded different. As I walk between the white columns and open the large cedar door, I see no one inside. I creep up the marble staircase towards Alyvia's room, and can hear Taylor speaking in hushed tones. Taking a deep breath, I open the door and take in the scene before me. Taylor is on the bed, Alyvia's head is buried in her closet, and the room looks like a dress store collided with the Pepto-Bismol factory. "Where have you been?" Taylor mouths with a desperate smirk. "Sorry!" I mouth back, shrugging my shoulders apologetically. "You're here! Now choose." Alyvia shoves two equally hideous dresses, complete with ruffles, in my face. Homecoming. How could I have forgotten about homecoming?

I guess because I don’t have much to do to prepare for it. Obviously I will go with Leo. Alyvia and Taylor quit letting me choose my dresses years ago, so I will likely end up in some ridiculous hot pink Barbie dress, showing off the little cleavage I possess. I'd gladly go in sweats, but unfortunately I am on the Homecoming court so a dress is mandatory. I mistakenly frown while wallowing in my self-pity, only to see a frustrated Alyvia standing before me. "You don't like it" she pouted. When I realized what she meant, I noticed that she was wearing a beautiful baby pink gown that fit her petite build perfectly. She looked stunning, and my face must have shown it because hers lit up. We all nod in unison before Alyvia shrieks, "This is it!” The next day we meet up at the Pretty-N-Pink Boutique to find dresses for Taylor and I. Taylor chooses two equally gorgeous dresses and emerges from the fitting room wearing a deep red dress with a low v cut that hugs her curves like it was made for her. Taylor's tan complexion allows her to look amazing in anything, but red was definitely my favorite. After taking the 10 dresses forced on me, I drudge to the dressing room and begin to assess my choices. Instantly, I put aside anything pink and/or frilly, leaving me with a sequined aqua dress, and a dark purple straight dress with a draped neckline. I try them both on, and with a lot of convincing, finally decide to purchase the purple one. It's cut lower than I am used to, but I can't deny that I actually like it.

Young Adult

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DSWritten by Dominique Stedge

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.