Fiction logo

Roulette

For Paul Stewart's Unnerve, Unsettle, and Scare Me Challenge

By Hannah MoorePublished 8 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - October 2023
Roulette
Photo by Carl Newton on Unsplash

This is for Paul Stewart's Unnerve, Unsettle, and Scare Me Challenge, linked here:

I was still a little drunk when I got off the bus, full of bottled confidence, bolstered by camaraderie. It had been a good night. We’d talked and laughed, danced a little, and sat shoulder to shoulder in the humid fug of the club, knowing ourselves to be radiant and ripe with power. I had promised I would get a taxi, but I knew I was going to walk. I wanted to walk, to feel the night and the strength in my legs. Plus, it was ridiculous to get a taxi for less than a mile. That dick on the bus wasn’t going to push me around, sitting there, staring at me. Touching himself under his coat I think. Fuck him. I should be able to walk where I want to walk. Shouldn’t have to be afraid.

Cold air hit me like a sobering slap as I stepped down out of the sticky warmth of the bus. The trick, I knew, was not to look like easy pickings, and I strode out of the pool of light beneath the bus stop and into the darkness without pausing. The 3am streets were quiet, out here in the suburbs, the windows unlit dark squares staring down at me from every direction. Who knows which ones were occupied? My boots were loud on the pavement in the quiet, and it was this that first made me question myself. Each step seemed to shout “lone woman, over here” as I walked, but every effort I made to quiet my footfalls made me slower. Was that another footfall, behind me? Head up, breathe, nothing’s going to happen. Don’t look back.

I could see, at the end of the street, the light from the sign on the pizza place and the chip shop next door. Since the council turned the street lights off after midnight to save money, that corner was lit in green and red, a tired Christmas tree, wilting on the kerb. Still, I made for it like I was aiming for base, a point of safety before the next leg towards home. My shadow appeared beside me as I approached, tall and hanging back a little, but then drawing alongside me, growing shorter, only mine. Or is that a second shadow now, gaining on my, stretching, overtaking me. Arrector pili contract in a ripple from my fizzing scalp and down my tingling neck, across my shoulders, along my arms, the tiny hairs like cats’ whiskers, feeling for the contact….but no. This is still my shadow. Isn’t it? The man on the bus, he did not stand when I stood, did he?

I try to catch a glimpse in the glass shop front, and see only me, my not-going-out-like-that skirt too high, my boots too suggestive, my bulbous puffer jacket a transparent lie. I am not as strong as he was. I steal a glance behind me. I must not look afraid, I must not trigger the predatory pounce. But there is no one there. I think. Not close. No. Not at all. I think.

It is ten minutes home. Five across the car park. I am stood on the edge of that ocean of dark, that labyrinth of dead cars in shades of black. I remember, in my skin, the feel of his hand on my arm, pulling, tugging, beer breath in my ear. I remember the crush of his body against my lungs, the wall at my back, his hand pressing mine against the hardness at his crotch. I remember the shock of his fingers inside my shorts, and I remember the snap when I broke one, the punch in return when he recoiled. I remember the man who followed me home. The one who clawed at my door. Five different men. Not all men. Five uninvited men. Among more men.

In my pockets, one hand tightens around my keys, my fingers shuffling the jagged blades to protrude between my knuckles. The other clasps my phone a little tighter. I am afraid, and I opt for fast fear over protracted, plunging into the shadowed maze of the car park. I am walking fast, not running, not quite, and I am half way across, my breath as loud as my footfalls in my ears, when I see a man, standing, watching me. My heart jumps to hammer at my temples and I cannot turn away, though, if he hasn’t seen me, looking seems to invite it. He is very still, waiting, wait, a bollard, not a man? Was there a man, before, in the dark? A movement in my peripheral vision, and I hear a noise, my noise, small, pathetic, helpless. Helpless. Another noise? I can see the other shore so close, and I could run. I should not have to run.

*

Authors Note: I am aware this is well trodden ground, there is no twist, no clever angle, no supernatural thrill here. But there is also no fiction, though the piece is, in this format, a fiction. I was struck, when reading what Paul wanted, to be "afraid of turning off the light switch, walking down that alley, walking through the woods during the day or at night, or an empty car park", how in another context, he had described life as a woman. I dont speak for all women, I'm sure, but while these are just some of my stories, I do not have a girl friend who does not have her own, similar or worse. And each time you make it home, each time the shadows were yours, the footsteps inconsequential, the flash of movement just a fox, each time feels like you dodged the bullet this time. And we keep spinning the barrel, and reminding ourselves that it shouldn't have to be that way.

Short Story

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (24)

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Congrats, Hannah, on winning Paul's challenge!!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Might find this interesting - https://vocal.media/writers/paul-stewart-s-unnerve-unsettle-and-scare-me-challenge-winners-announcement Congratulations, Hannah!

  • You had me unnerved for her.

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    No one should have to Run! Great story Hannah. First person narration works very well here!!

  • This is a familiar story, and all the more powerful for its familiarity xx

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    Oh my god this felt too real. To think this shit happens every day, some men really deserve hell. Congrats on top story btw

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    The fear and tension you built felt real. Men pretend they are not scared in those situations but a lot of us are. I used to walk through a stretch of woods as a teenager to get to my house (it was a shortcut). There were no phone lights back then. I was cautious and scared most of the time, but it beat walking around, lol. Once again, creepy story, Hannah and congrats!

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    Great storytelling Hannah! Full of suspense and got my heart racing. You’re right, it shouldn’t have to be this way but it is the world we live in.

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This...blew me away, Hannah. You more than delivered on the brief/prompt and it really makes me worried for my wife and all the women I know that this is a sad reality for you all! You built this up so well and just kept it grounded and that made it terrifying, because as Jason and Celia said, the fact/reality is scarier than anything ficticious. I am so glad this got Top Story too, congrats and thank you for your entry.

  • Abdullah8 months ago

    Great

  • Caroline Craven8 months ago

    This is bang on. I have walked home so many times and regretted the decision. Fantastic writing.

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    My heart was racing as i prayed for your deliverance. Such horrid things in life that rob us of our innocence and joy. It should not happen, yet it ever will. Congrats on TS.

  • Congratulations on the Top Story Hannah. You are right that it shouldn't be this way. It really saddens me to know that these things happen.

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    Congratulations!! Great entry. 🎉

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    This is great writing. You really bring out what it feels like to be a woman in this world. I actually felt angry reading this, knowing that you speak the truth!! Congrats on Top Story

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Test8 months ago

    Hed this on my read list for today! And its already TS! Congratulations! Brilliantly written but it is so infuriating that fact is so often more terrifying than fiction. 🤍

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Yes, it should not be this way ever. But it is. This was powerful stuff, Hannah.

  • Oh wow, you're absolutely right! This is how it actually feels to be a woman. Your story was sooooo creepy!

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Another example where truth is scarier than fiction, unfortunately. Very well told,

  • Nice Storytelling 😊📝🫶🏾‼️

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    well told story

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    That was awesome! And you're right, it shouldn't have to be this way.

Hannah MooreWritten by Hannah Moore

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.