Fiction logo

Roses

Love is in full bloom

By Katarzyna CrevanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Roses
Photo by Bence Balla-Schottner on Unsplash

I walked down the hall with Naomi. She's actually a lot of fun to be with. I had been placed in her office when I had gotten a job here. I had been here for nearly five months now. Naomi had finally convinced me to hang out with her after work. That was how we found out that we also lived in the same apartment building. How we had never run into each other in the apartment complex before was beyond me.

"So, where are you from?" Naomi asks.

"Uh," my mind flies through the list of towns that I've lived in, but I really don't want to get into the reasons for my life on the move, "Bringston," I tell her. I allow myself a smile at the good memories from Bringston.

"Really? Why would you move here? I mean, Rosalinda, most people are trying to get to Bringston, not leave it."

"It's. . . complicated, to say the least. Let's just say that it was a series of events," I tell her.

I unlock my door and let it swing open as I turn to say goodnight. Naomi stands gawking at my apartment. "You didn't say you had a boyfriend."

"I don't," I tell her. I turn back to my apartment. The living room is filled with roses. Roses of every color and mixed colors are everywhere. My heart skips a beat. He had found me.

I spin back to Naomi. "Rosalinda, you've been holding out on me," she says shaking her head.

I notice the second door down and across the hall start to open. They can't find out. Not yet.

I grab Naomi and pull her into my apartment, quickly shutting the door. Slamming the bolt home, I turn on her. "You cannot tell anyone about this. Not a soul, not a word."

"What? Why?" Confusion is etched across her face.

"Please, Naomi. Promise me," I step towards her, reaching out a pleading hand.

"Fine, but I want an explanation," she says.

I look her dead in the eye, setting my face straight. "If I tell you, I'll have to kill you."

Naomi's face falls. "What?"

"Sorry, that was too serious, but trust me, the less you know the better," I warn her.

"Then give me the simplified version?"

"Well, my dad works for the government, so growing up, I moved around a lot, that's also how I got to Bringston. While working in Bringston, I met someone. Someone whose job is highly classified, that I never should have met, it was just a really wonky happenstance. We hit it off but kept it secret. It was going really good, then my dad found out, and that's how his superiors found out. Neither were very happy. Both parties are doing everything they can to keep us very far apart. That's about as simple as I can make it without telling you too much."

Naomi just stares at me. "I feel so lost."

"Swear you will never tell a soul what I told you or that you were ever aware of this," I say gesturing around the room.

Naomi looks around. "I swear to never tell a soul, but I have a question. From the way your acting, I have the feeling that you're under surveillance. Are you under surveillance?"

I shrug. "Well, saying my dad works for the government is a bit of a stretch, and he really dislikes the idea of me being anywhere near Dustin or anywhere that Dustin knows that I am."

"His name is Dustin?"

I clamp my hand over my mouth. "I shouldn't have said that."

"Yeah, you shouldn't have," a new voice says from the direction of my bedroom.

I look over in time to see him step out of the darkness of my room. His black hair is still just long enough to be a mess, and the light in his chocolate brown eyes promises danger and adventure. He wears a faded black Metallica shirt and jeans, his casual look. He leans against the wall, tucking his hands in his pockets.

Dustin gives me his crooked, daredevil smile. "I was going to wait until your friend left, but it doesn't really matter now." He waves at Naomi. "Hi."

Naomi waves back. "Hi."

Dropping my purse, I run to him, throwing myself in his arms. He catches me, wrapping me in an equally tight embrace. As I bury my face in his chest, a can feel him rest his chin on my head. "I missed you," I say into his chest.

"And I missed you. Sorry about the mess, but I couldn't pick just one. So, I got all the roses for my rose."

"Should I just let myself out?" Naomi asks.

I feel my face flush, as I pull away from Dustin. "Sorry, I'll get the door."

Dustin stays by the door to my bedroom as I walk with Naomi to the door.

As we approach the door, Naomi leans in and whispers, "If you ever need a cover, let me know, and if he has a friend, hook me up."

I laugh. "Will do, and no promises."

"Well, either way, I won't say anything to anyone," she promises, reaching out and taking my hand.

"Thank you," I say, gently squeezing her hand.

"Just so you know, if you do tell anything to anyone, I will know, and I will kill you," Dustin says.

Naomi looks at him, wide-eyed, then back at me. "He's joking, right?"

"Probably not," I say with an apologetic smile.

"Um, well, I will see you tomorrow at work."

I nod. "Defiantly. Oh, take the elevators on that end of the hall," I instruct her, pointing towards the left end elevators. "My watchdog lives in the other direction."

"I will make sure I avoid that direction at all costs," she tells me, as I open the door.

She waves as she leaves, and I wave back. As I close the door, I glance down the hall at my watchdog's door. I'm pretty sure I see a crack slide shut, as I close my door.

As I slide the bolt home again, I feel arms wrap around my waist, and Dustin buries his head in my shoulder.

"I just want to hold you and never let go," he whispers.

I reach up and run my fingers through his hair. "I would like that as well, but unless you have a plan to get rid of all the roses without getting caught or raising red flags, this is going to be rather short-lived."

Dustin chuckles. "Rosalinda, my rose, have some faith. I have a plan. Both for the roses and us. I think I found our escape plan from this mess."

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Katarzyna Crevan

Hi! I enjoy writing and have been writing for some years now. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.