Fiction logo

Reverie

Hunted to hunter

By ImraldPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Reverie
Photo by David Wirzba on Unsplash

The dust came sweeping, hovering on the ground like if it was dark magic.

The air grew colder, the stink began to cling into one's nose. Why was this happening?

No one could imagine an apocalypse occurring in an age of wealth and wellness, but the creeping death was spreading all over the land.

All the stories narrated by the few grandparents who survived to the carnage époque seemed so unreal and made up, so far that they're were disappearing even from the tellers' memory, and now all of that mess was happening again.

We were too unaware and too ignorant to realize that we were about to face famine, distraction, and death. All too caught up to complain about stupid things like not having enough followers on those stupid devices' screen, so far from enjoying real life and understanding how lucky we were to be born in an era of plentiful abundance.

Maybe it's because we were too ungrateful for the things we had, material and not, that we started to lose it all. A lesson of Fate for his uncultured and unappreciative pupils...

We kinda deserved that in a way.

How stupid we have been to not undersee the greatness that was in our hands and in our minds.

The frightening screams of those who were perishing not far from where we were hiding sent our spine through space, too scared to stay in our bodies.

What those things were? Where did they come from? Why did they have to be so horrible and terrifying?

Were they made of our unspeakable nightmares?

You could hear the chewing of their blackened teeth and smell the scent of the blood drying in their mouths.

Sometimes in that frenzy you could almost finish to think that it would have been better to be eaten alive, compared to be part of the resistance, so that you wouldn't face the fear of witnessing to the massacre.

You've seen it all. There was no happy ending to that.

No one was spared. The good people and the bad. Everyone was devoured by those unforgiving beasts.

There was no hope.

In that mere, single moment of realization, I started crying like a baby. Me, the guy who never cried, neither when I was a fucked up child, cause I didn't want anybody to see the weakness that held my brain and my faint heart.

Tears were the only thing left in my body. I couldn't stop. I knew that I would be an incredibly easy target for the ravaging enemy, but I didn't care.

"Come and take me! Eat me, bastards! I don't want to fight anymore", I started yelling while the tears kept sticking to my cheeks.

"A coward all for your stomachs", I kept screaming in my desperation.

I didn't give a fuck about death at that time. If they would've eaten me that nightmare would have ended.

I screeched soullessly, everything human in me had already abandoned me. Even my body was changing, but I noticed it too late.

My fingers ripped and began to elongate, with no flesh left the reddened bones were the remain I could see.

My skin crawled apart from the shape that I was, a scene far more disturbing that the one

in An American Werewolf in London. If vomit was a feature of my new form you could believe me swimming in that response.

Once my moult was finished something that I could never imagined took place: relief.

No pain, no fear, no crying. Only the utter satisfaction of feeling my new dental arches touching and scuffing together. It felt better that popping bubble wrap.

And hunger. Hunger was the sensation that I felt the most.

And I've eaten. I've eaten my own skin, but it wasn't enough.

My body was becoming high maintenance so I needed to feed it properly. I've realized that I was running and crawling at the same time after a few hundred meters, speeding up by following the trails of the shrieks of the people to who I before belonged and the holler of my new companions.

The remembrance of the human I have been for the majority of my life decided one last thing.

I will kill, I will kill a lot, but I won't hurt my victims.

The glands on my neck started to swallow with pleasure and the poison which annihilated the pain in my preys started to flow vicious and satisfied on my scuffing fangs.

The fun had just began...

"Wake up you IDIOT!

Only because you hate everybody for the bad things that only a few made to you, it does not mean that you can transform into some kind of alien that eats the others.

You are a moron even in your dreams!" -

What the fuck!

Dream... It was only a dream?

What the fuck is inside my head to make me dream and desire something like that...

I'm a truly messed up kid!

And after all, it was not that pleasant alone.

I hated the sound that my fangs made when rubbing on each other. It was worst than ASMR...

For fuck sake, I need to find a better psychologist after this...

I thought that hypnosis could help me, not screw me up even more...

Keep thinking that in your frail mind, my child.

You are now in my power and you ignore it.

There's no way you can escape from my power now, you poor, little, useless thing.

You cannot imagine the wraith you'll be bringing to your kind.

Keep waking up in a sweat from your nightmares, thinking that they are only stupid bad dreams.

We have no sense of what is reality anymore, and your waking up is only the entrance to your dreams' world, not your true life.

Humans are so fun to play with, and only in one thing you were pretty right, my darling.

The fun has just begun. But for me, darling, not for you silly harmless thing!

HorrorSci FiShort Story
Like

About the Creator

Imrald

I'm a 29yo dreamer with a difficult relationship with emotions/affection.

I want to change sex but my family doesn't support me, so I struggle a lot in life.

I love writing, reading, Minecraft, animes and Nature.

Hope you'll enjoy reading me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.