Fiction logo

Return to the origin

Grey sky overhead, over the dusty road, I can finally stop, standing in the familiar and strange alley.

By AaronPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Grey sky overhead, over the dusty road, I can finally stop, standing in the familiar and strange alley. I know, as long as one more step, I will return to my life "origin" -- that since I was born pregnant with my old lane. The alley full of Xiguan customs, to my first lesson in life.

Stepping the SLATE road, I slowly into the depths of the alley. The sight is long - lost Xiguan old house. In front of the deep red window is the three levels of shallow stone steps, where a family's cat is lounging in the gentle midday sun. Occasionally there is a breeze blowing, the old cat with front PAWS gently pick at the face of the beard, issued a "meow" after a roll and a deep sleep. I know this is the ease and quiet of the deep bustle of the big city. And the beginning of my life began in this peace.

The wooden door, which had been closed, was open after a trip. In the dim light inside, I saw the gray-haired grandfather lying in a rocking chair reading a newspaper. Suddenly, a small ball "bang" on the rocking chair, followed by an age of about only two years old children fart fart go to the rocking chair, grabbing grandpa's coat "Grandpa, ball ball!" The old man took off his glasses, rose with a smile, took the child into his arms, and said in a low voice, "Oh, where is the ball? Is it here? No! Ah... Here it is!" Only listen to, a bell like laughter into my ears, I seem to see a long dead grandpa had held me so. Yes, in the first few years of my life, this old lane was filled with countless cares from my relatives and the unique warmth of Xiguan people.

Manchurian Windows, green tiles, ancient banyan trees, more and more scenery impact my visual film, also beat my heart. However, suddenly, a red has long faded but dazzling "demolition" word suddenly appeared on the wall of my old house. This "demolition" word and the surrounding landscape, surrounding the peaceful atmosphere is how inconsistent. At this time, we woke up: as early as 11 years ago, this old lane has been included in the demolition scope, that is to say: the "origin" of my life will be erased.

Tears are pouring out of my eyes, how I want to shout: this alley can not be dismantled, can not be dismantled! It is not only the place where I was born, but also the place where I cultivated my gentle character, and the first beginning of the warmth of the world for me. Here every flower, every grass, every brick is the beginning of the formation of Lingnan culture. If we tear this place down, we will destroy my roots and the roots of hundreds of old Guangzhou neighborhoods. But who would hear such a cry? The origin of life, culture and the rapid development of the economy, compared with the tower, seems to have become small.

This night, I dreamed of the old lane I haven't seen for a long time - the difference is that when I returned to the "origin" of my life this time, the red word "demolition" disappeared.

Grey sky overhead, over the dusty road, I can finally stop, standing in the familiar and strange alley.I know, as long as one more step, I will return to my life "origin" -- that since I was born pregnant with my old lane. The alley full of Xiguan customs, to my first lesson in life.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.