Fiction logo

Return to Earth

Part 1. Drawing Parallels

By Lisa IkinPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Return to Earth
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. That being said, I wasn't about to stop. With each successive surge, the urge to scream was uncontrollable. I stifled another scream and closed my eyes, allowing my mind to drift.

Bertrand had said I was free to go, free to explore and find some answers. So I went. I hadn't been prepared for this.

Six months ago, I had been so ready for anything, what with my investigations into parallel universes and the possibilities of hyperdrive travel between them. I can still hear myself espousing my views on the Laser Learning Platform. Still see my earnest face on the screen. The view from my window at the time was the lunar mare, Sea of Tranquility. A fitting view considering just how intense I was. Tranquillity was a state I was unfamiliar with.

That fateful morning I had dressed in my antigravity suit and affixed oxygen tabs to my nose before opening my airlock. I grabbed some relaxant gum and stuffed three capsules into my mouth. I bit down, feeling the calm spread throughout my body. With the mouth tab now connected, I attached a lifeline between my suit and the walking lines and guided the magnets to the track before stepping out into the weightless atmosphere. "oh, what a great day to be alive," I breathed as the gum worked its magic. Reaching the Dromes, I chose one with a double seat and mentally informed my craft of its destination: Oceanus. My laser scopes flashed. 900 km - 4 hours ETA.

I was a little later than usual that morning due to a Spacetrek meeting with Jansen, a colleague on the earth caretaker station, Mondial. Jansen had been edgy over the satellite connection. With the earth no longer inhabited by humans, something was happening to the ecosystem. She was concerned that the planet was occupied again, and she kept glancing over her shoulder before losing the connection. I was still ruminating over the conversation when I received an internal alert - my eardrum vibrated, activating the visual of Bertrand in my laser scopes.

"Yup", I said to Bertrand, who was sucking on a breakfast pop. He had a perpetually surprised expression which wasn't improved by the pop disappearing into his mouth every 10 seconds.

"Jax," slurped Bertrand, "how are you doll?"

I grimaced. "Fuck Bertrand! Doll? Really? Have you been watching those antique films again?"

Bertrand attempted a look of apology before plunging into his reason for the interruption. "Sorry, Jax, Can you drop by Kepler before you go to Oceanus?"

"Oh great," I thought to myself, I had been looking forward to 4 hours of uninterrupted Laser Learning, but I was feeling calm, so I replied easily, "yeah, sure, what's up?"

"Tell ya when ya get here", he shouted, already turning away and fading from my scopes. I sighed and settled into my seat; what did he want? I wondered, wishing I had grabbed a few more gums.

His base was a replica of mine, a minimalist white dome filled with soft furniture and a table that retracted into the floor space. Bertrand waited while I removed my suit and threw my tabs onto the table before speaking. He had moved on to sucking a coffee pop and held one out to me.

"Trying to give up," I said before sitting cross-legged on the lounge. "What's so urgent?" I asked.

Bertrand sat forward and placed his wet pop on the table while he switched on a laser screen. A visual appeared a metre in front of us. I could make out a room and what looked like a person or an android.

"Who is that?" I asked, leaning forward, "where is it?"

Bertrand was silent as he studied me carefully, "look closer", he urged.

I put my hand to my mouth as I realised who it was. I still wasn't sure where it was and how it was even possible.

Bertrand smiled and picked up his pop again, settling back into the seat.

"She..I..look different", I stammered, "are you sure that's me?" I leaned forward again. I had long hair, and what was I wearing? Colours I had never before seen. I looked organic.

"It's you, Jax", nodded Bertrand studying me carefully. "did you take something this morning?"

I nodded, not taking my eyes off the visual. "Just some Chillpill"

"Probably just as well", replied Bertrand as he turned to change the graphic to show another angle, this time a closeup of my face. I was smiling widely, an expression not many people were privy to.

Another shot, this time drawing back to take in the room. Was it a room? It didn't appear to have any edges and was cluttered with items I had only seen on the occasional antique films Bertrand liked to view. Weird.

I shook my head again as the visual sprang into life and wavered. I could hear a voice calling my name and jumped. Was that my mother? Tears welled, and I turned to look questioningly at Bertrand again.

As I watched, my mother entered the room and started walking towards me (other me) with her arms outstretched. "How?" I asked Bertrand simply, "and where?"

"It's Earth, Jax," said Bertrand softly. "The research team have been applying some of your formulas, and we had a breakthrough last week." he waited while I absorbed this information before continuing, picking up his coffee pop in one hand. "But it's not the earth of today; it's a parallel earth. We wanted you to be the first to know and give you a chance to explore this further. We have the craft and the ability to get you there."

What a head fuck! My mind was spinning despite the gum; My mum had vanished when I was 15 years old. So was this a parallel mum? How was this going to pan out? I had too many questions. But the only answer that resounded in my mind was "YES".

"We anticipate six months prep to get you there," said Bertrand "are you ready for this"?

Sure, I was ready for this because here I am six months later, hurtling through space and time, crossing not only distance but dimensions. "I'm coming, mum!" I scream loudly into the void.

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

Lisa Ikin

Freelance writer, amateur photographer, occasional performer of personal stories @Barefaced Stories. Lover of nature, music and art. I write content and copy for small businesses and teach part time in Perth, Western Australia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    Fantastic idea. Great premise. Very creative and enjoyable. Keep up the good work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.