Fiction logo

Residrool

The little puddle of spit on the pillow (or elsewhere) you notice when you wake up

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2
Residrool--an essential bodily fluid

We've all done it. Spit happens.

We fall asleep and there it is. A mouth slightly ajar (no pun intended) releases a little spillover of saliva for us to discover on the pillow, with some embarrassment. However, my most notorious episodes of residrool were in the classroom, not in bed.

"Comparative Anatomy is the study of..." I nod in and out a couple of times. "The cartilaginous fishes..." I throw my forearm across my desk to rest my forehead. "Ontogeny does not recapitulate phylogeny..." I close my eyes.

"Pharyngeal clefts proceed along..." For this nap, I'm all in.

Ah, respite from life, grades, tests, studying, even though I dream of walking across the quad to my finals in my underwear. I dream of cartilaginous fishes. Why can't ontogeny recapitulate phylogeny? Something's cartilaginously fishy around here!

Quite awake, hot Brittany is sitting next to me. I dream we meet, fall in love, celebrate affections with intimacy, and —

— I wake up. My eyes pop wide open, my head still on my forearm. I see the professor waiting patiently for my answer. I'm busted.

My head pops up, and there's that little spit trail down my cheek, pooling on the desk. I wipe it away instantly but self-consciously. Did Brittany see? Will I ever get to meet her?

"I'm waiting..." the professor says impatiently.

"Um," I stammer. "The notocord?" The professor is amazed. He nods.

"Go back to sleep," he says, and the class laughs. Brittany, too. Damn!



HumorMicrofiction
2

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned Catholic church in Hull, MA. Phase I: was New Orleans (and everything that entails).

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    Hey but at least he answered correctly. I would have been so confused about what subject the professor was teaching 🤣🤣🤣

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Wonderfully written!!! LoL!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.