Fiction logo

Reformed

Measuring UP

By Adrainne ThompsonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

If walls could talk the prison guards will be the ones in prison alongside some of the prisoners. “Every wall listen up. I hear we will be getting a new officer for this block. His name is Officer O’Malley. I heard he molested and taunted young girls that came in his cell block. Some of them had not been jailed over two weeks. He sits and waits for fresh, new young ladies to come into the system. It’s really sad and pathetic. Words through the vents say that he was on the pedophile list in his home state? I know that’s why he did a voluntary transfer to this location? He is a sick and perverted old man. But, the pipes leaked that he is a changed man, reformed. So we will just have to peep him out. The judge is so busy throwing youth in here instead of getting them some help that they fail to do a thorough background check on some of the guards. Ok, ok, pipe down. (No pun intended) Here he comes!"

(Directing comments now directly to Officer O'Malley)

Officer O'Malley, is it? Do you think I can’t see what goes on through the holes that’s been carved in me from the ‘juvies’ who have tried to escape multiple times? Well, I do! This particular young girl is coming in here because she was in the wrong place at the wrong time. She was simply hanging out with her friends, well so-called friends. They were robbing a convenient store down on Magicwood Avenue. You know the one close to the hood, by the pool hall? She didn’t know they had open beer cans and a gun in the car. She was just glad to be with her friends and this boy that claimed he liked her. According to my corner shaped bricks she is a straight-A student. She has been dealing with low self-esteem and some depression issues because her mom and dad just recently divorced. Her mom put her dad out of the house because she found out he was cheating on her. She was very close to her dad. Well, he was her stepdad. She didn’t know her biological father and all her mom told her was he did something terribly awful and unforgiveable. The law had to take him away. This young girl has been assigned to your block. Officer O’Malley I beg of you to help her, encourage her, and be a friend rather than take the advantage of her vulnerability. She already feels raped by her boyfriend, betrayed by her stepfather, and she has no relationship or knowledge of her real father. Here is your chance to be a hero instead of a deadbeat. If she doesn’t have true, agape love shown to her by a male figure she is going to grow up hating men all of her life and won’t be able to sustain a decent, successful relationship. Oh, no; here she comes. Oh, I can’t watch, is there a curtain to cover my cracks. I can’t …Oh…. wait, what do I see? Officer O’Malley is this really you being kind, compassionate, and understanding? What? Oh no, is this water seeping through my cracks? That’s not good, I have to stay dry or my putty will break down further. I can’t believe he is building her up and encouraging her. Things may be ready to change around here, maybe I can get a new facelift in the process.

Well, what do you know, it’s going on a full three months. You and this young lady have been demonstrating a wonderful relationship. Well, I apologize from the bottom of my brick n’ mortar. You are reformed! But…pardon me for being a bit of a skeptic. What is it about this girl, hmm; inquiring walls want to know. What’s really going on?

Three months passed

Oh, no why is the judge and and that woman coming here to see Tiffany and Officer O’Malley? What has happened? I can’t believe the words seeping through my cracks. Judge: “Mr. O’Malley, I reintroduce you back into society again. All of your pass charges have been dropped. Ms. Tiffany I grant you freedom and all of your charges have been dropped. And lastly, I bid you all God’s speed as you reconnect as a family. Mr. O’Malley, I grant you shared custody with your ex-wife, and (deep sigh) …. your daughter.”

Oh…oh she’s his biological daughter. Oh no, I can’t let water seep through my putty, it’s tearing me down further. Their relationship has been rebuilt, but unfortunately, there’s no start on the walls yet.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Adrainne Thompson

I was a single mom struggling w/2 small children. Presently, I'm an entrepreneur, author/poet. Never give up!

One of my greatest honors was being the first African American who displayed her poetry in the Suntrust Art Gallery in Graham, NC

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.