Fiction logo

"Reflections of Terror: The Haunted Mirror's Alternate Reality"

Horror Story

By Thynk OutsidePublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like
"Reflections of Terror: The Haunted Mirror's Alternate Reality"
Photo by Klim Musalimov on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. At first, I thought it was just a trick of the light or a smudge on the surface. But as I stared into the glass, I realized that there was something very wrong with the image staring back at me.



The reflection was twisted and distorted, as if the person on the other side of the mirror was being pulled apart by some unseen force. And yet, despite the horrific nature of the image, I couldn't tear my eyes away.



I took a step back, my heart pounding in my chest. That's when I saw it - a faint shimmering in the air around the mirror. It was like a rip in reality, and through it, I could see a world that was not my own.



The alternate reality was dark and twisted, with twisted, gnarled trees and a blood-red sky. And in the distance, I could see figures moving, their bodies writhing and contorting in ways that made my stomach turn.



I tried to turn away, to run from the haunted mirror and the horrors it revealed. But as I did, I felt something grab hold of me - a cold, clammy hand that seemed to be pulling me back towards the glass.



I screamed and struggled, but it was no use. The mirror had me now, and I was being dragged inexorably into the twisted alternate reality it revealed.



As I disappeared into the shimmering portal, I knew that I had made a terrible mistake. The mirror had shown me a world that was not meant for human eyes, and now I was trapped there forever, doomed to suffer the horrors of the haunted mirror.



I don't know how long I was there in that twisted world, but it felt like an eternity. Every moment was agony, as the very air around me seemed to be infused with pain and suffering.



The creatures that moved in the distance were getting closer, their twisted forms becoming more and more defined. They were humanoid, but their bodies were contorted and twisted in ways that defied explanation. And as they drew closer, I could see that their faces were not faces at all - they were featureless, save for mouths that stretched impossibly wide.



The creatures began to circle around me, their movements jagged and spasmodic. And then, without warning, they lunged.



I tried to fight back, but my body was sluggish and unresponsive. I could feel their teeth sinking into my flesh, their claws ripping me apart. And all the while, their featureless mouths were opening impossibly wide, as if they were trying to consume me whole.



Just when I thought that I couldn't take any more, I felt something snap. It was like a rubber band being pulled too far, and then released.



I was back in my own world, standing in front of the mirror. But the glass was now shattered, the shards scattered across the floor.



I stumbled backwards, my mind reeling. The haunted mirror had taken me to a place of unspeakable horror, and I had barely escaped with my life.



I tried to leave the room, to put as much distance between myself and the mirror as possible. But as I reached for the door, I felt something wrap around my ankle - something cold and slimy.



I looked down, and saw that a tendril of blackness was snaking its way towards me. And as it drew closer, I could see that it was made up of thousands of writhing, wriggling worms.



I tried to shake them off, but they only tightened their grip. And then, without warning, they began to pull.



I was dragged back towards the shattered mirror, the shards of glass cutting into my skin. And then, as I drew closer, I realized that the tendril was not just made up of worms - it was part of the alternate reality that the mirror had revealed.



I struggled and kicked, trying to free myself from the tendrils' grip. But the more I fought, the tighter they held on, pulling me closer and closer to the broken glass.



With a sickening crack, I felt my head collide with the mirror. And then, everything went dark.



When I came to, I was lying on the floor, my head throbbing with pain. I tried to sit up, but my body wouldn't respond. I was paralyzed, trapped in my own flesh.



I could hear the sound of the worms wriggling and squirming around me, their movements echoing in my ears. And then, without warning, I felt something press against my lips.



It was a tendril of the blackness, and it was trying to force its way into my mouth. I struggled to keep it out, but it was too strong. It slithered down my throat, filling me with an icy coldness that spread throughout my body.



And then, with a sudden burst of strength, I felt my body convulse. The tendril withdrew, leaving me gasping and choking on the floor.



I lay there for what felt like hours, unable to move or speak. And then, slowly but surely, I began to regain control of my limbs. I pushed myself up, using the broken mirror to support my weight.



As I looked into the shards of glass, I saw something that made my blood run cold. The reflection staring back at me was not my own - it was the twisted, contorted image from the alternate reality.



I screamed and smashed the rest of the mirror, shattering it into a million pieces. And yet, even as the glass rained down around me, I could feel the tendrils of the blackness reaching out for me, trying to drag me back into that twisted world.



I fled the room and never went back. But even now, years later, I can still feel the coldness of that blackness inside me. And sometimes, when I look into a mirror, I can see the twisted, contorted reflection staring back at me, reminding me of the horrors that lie just beyond our world. The memory of that night haunted me for years. I tried to convince myself that it was just a hallucination, a trick of the mind brought on by stress and exhaustion. But the nightmares persisted, and the feeling of icy coldness inside me never went away.



I became obsessed with mirrors, studying their history and lore. I learned about the ancient superstitions that surrounded them and the many legends of mirrors being portals to other worlds. I even consulted with experts in the paranormal and occult, hoping to find answers to the questions that plagued me.



But no matter how much research I did, I could never find a way to rid myself of the blackness that seemed to have taken up residence in my soul.



Years passed, and I grew old and tired. I had resigned myself to the fact that the mirror would always haunt me, that I would never be able to escape its grip.



But then, one day, something strange happened.



I was walking through the park, lost in thought, when I saw something glinting in the grass. It was a small, round mirror, and for a moment, I felt a chill run down my spine.



But then, something inside me shifted. I felt a strange sense of curiosity, a pull towards the mirror that I couldn't explain.



Without thinking, I picked it up and looked into it. And to my surprise, I saw something different than the twisted reflection that had haunted me for so long.



In the mirror, I saw a world of light and beauty, a world where the sky was a brilliant blue and the sun shone down on fields of wildflowers. And in the distance, I saw figures moving, figures that looked like they were beckoning me forward.



Without hesitating, I stepped into the mirror, feeling the icy coldness of the blackness fade away. And as I stepped out into the world on the other side, I knew that I had finally found a way to escape the horrors that had haunted me for so long.



I spent the rest of my life exploring that world, learning its secrets and enjoying its beauty. And though I knew that I could never go back to the world I had left behind, I was content in the knowledge that I had found a new home.



And sometimes, when I look into a mirror, I can see that world waiting for me, calling me back with a gentle whisper. And I know that I will always be welcome there, in that world of light and beauty that lies just beyond our own

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Thynk Outside

I write stories, helpful ways to earn onlinem and motivational blogs. Subscribe to my page and never miss a post that can change your life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.