Fiction logo

Reflections of Terror

When a Haunted Mirror Reveals an Alternate Reality

By Mohamed JakkathPublished about a year ago 13 min read
What do you do when your reflection is not your own? In this chilling tale, a haunted mirror reveals a terrifying alternate reality that slowly starts to bleed into the protagonist's world, leading to a battle for survival against an unknown force. Will they be able to uncover the truth behind the mirror's power before it's too late?

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. At first, I thought it was just a trick of the light or perhaps a smudge on the glass. But as I leaned in closer, I realized that the figure staring back at me was someone else entirely.

It was a woman, with long black hair and piercing green eyes. She looked vaguely familiar, but I couldn't quite place her. As I continued to study her reflection, she started to smile, and I noticed something strange about her teeth. They were sharp, almost like fangs.

Suddenly, the mirror began to shake, and I stepped back in alarm. The woman's reflection seemed to be reaching out towards me, as if trying to escape from the glass. And then, just as suddenly as it had begun, the shaking stopped, and the mirror was still once more.

I shook my head, trying to clear my thoughts. Maybe I had imagined the whole thing. After all, I had been working long hours at the antique shop where the mirror was housed. It was possible that I was just tired and my mind was playing tricks on me.

But as the days went on, strange things started happening. I began to see glimpses of the woman's reflection everywhere I went. In the windows of passing cars, in the surface of my morning coffee, even in the faces of strangers on the street.

And then, one night, I woke up to find the woman standing at the foot of my bed. Her eyes glowed in the darkness, and her fangs glistened in the moonlight. I tried to scream, but no sound would come out.

"Hello, Sarah," she said in a voice that was both seductive and menacing. "I've been waiting for you."

I tried to run, but my legs felt like lead. It was as if some invisible force was holding me in place. The woman stepped closer, her sharp teeth inches from my face. And then, just as suddenly as she had appeared, she vanished, leaving me alone and trembling in my bed.

The next morning, I went to the antique shop where I worked and confronted my boss about the mirror. He didn't seem surprised at all.

"That mirror has a long and troubled history," he said, shaking his head. "Many people have seen things in it that they couldn't explain. Some say that it's a gateway to another dimension, a place where nightmares come to life."

I shuddered at the thought. I knew I had to get rid of the mirror, but I didn't know how. Every time I tried to touch it, I felt a wave of dizziness wash over me, as if the glass was repelling me.

And then, one night, I woke up to find that the woman's reflection had broken through the surface of the mirror and was standing in my bedroom once again.

"Come with me," she said, holding out a hand that was cold as ice. "I'll show you wonders you've never imagined."

I hesitated, but then I felt something inside me shift. It was as if a door had opened inside my mind, and I suddenly understood that the woman was offering me a choice. I could stay in my mundane and ordinary life, or I could follow her into a world of dark magic and endless possibility.

I reached out and took her hand. As I did, I felt the mirror shatter into a million pieces, and I knew that I would never be able to go back to my old life again. The woman led me through a portal, and we stepped into a realm where the sky was the color of blood and the stars were alive with fire.

For a moment, I was filled with fear and regret. But then the woman smiled at me, and I tried to open the door, but it wouldn't budge. I pushed harder, but it was like it was locked from the other side. I started to panic as I heard the laughter get louder and more menacing. The room started to spin, and the walls began to close in on me.

Just as I thought I was about to be crushed, everything stopped. The laughter was gone, and the room returned to its normal size. I stumbled out of the room, gasping for air, and collapsed onto the floor. I stayed there for what felt like hours, too afraid to move, too afraid to look at the mirror again.

Eventually, I mustered up the courage to stand up and look at the mirror. My reflection was back to normal, but I couldn't shake the feeling that something was off. That night, I barely slept, haunted by the laughter and the feeling of being trapped in that room.

The next morning, I decided to try and forget about the mirror and focus on my work. I was a freelance writer, and I had a deadline to meet. As the day went on, however, I couldn't shake the feeling that something was wrong. I kept looking over my shoulder, expecting to see something out of the corner of my eye. I heard whispers and laughter, but every time I turned to look, there was nothing there.

By the time evening came around, I was exhausted and scared. I went to bed early, hoping to get some much-needed rest. But as soon as I closed my eyes, I saw the reflection in the mirror again. Only this time, it wasn't just a reflection. It was like the other world was bleeding into mine, and I was trapped in between the two.

I woke up in a cold sweat, gasping for air. I looked around my room, and everything was as it should be. But I knew it wasn't over. I knew that whatever was in that mirror was still with me, still haunting me.

Days turned into weeks, and I became more and more isolated. I stopped leaving my apartment, stopped answering calls and emails from friends and family. I was consumed by the other world, the one that was slowly bleeding into mine. I could hear the laughter and whispers all the time now, and I knew that it was only a matter of time before I was pulled in completely.

One night, I couldn't take it anymore. I went into the bathroom and looked at the mirror. My reflection was back to normal, but I knew that something was off. I reached out to touch the mirror, and my hand went through it like it was water. I felt a pull, like I was being dragged into the other world. I fought it as hard as I could, but it was like trying to fight a force of nature.

And then, suddenly, everything stopped. The laughter and whispers were gone, and I was back in my apartment. But something was different. The air felt thicker, and the shadows seemed darker. I could feel a presence in the room with me, something that I couldn't see but could sense.

And then I heard the laughter again, louder than ever before. I turned around, and there it was. The mirror. Only this time, it was different. It was like it was alive, pulsating with energy. And then I saw it. The reflection that wasn't my own, staring back at me with cold, dead eyes.

I screamed and ran for the door, but it was like I was running in slow motion. I could feel the mirror's pull, its hunger for me. But I made it to the door and flung it open. I stumbled out into the hallway, gasping for air, and slammed the door shut behind me.

For days, the sight of the mirror haunted me. I tried to ignore it, but it was as if the glass held a dark and eerie energy that kept pulling me back. My dreams were haunted by strange images, and I could feel a presence lurking just beyond my line of sight.

Then, one night, something changed. As I lay in bed, I heard a faint whispering that seemed to be coming from the direction of the mirror. I got out of bed and approached the mirror, which was now glowing with an ethereal light. As I looked into the mirror, the whispering grew louder, and I could make out faint images flickering across the surface of the glass.

I couldn't believe what I was seeing. The reflection in the mirror wasn't my own. Instead, I saw a world that was twisted and warped, a world where everything was wrong. In this alternate reality, the sky was a sickly green, and the air was thick with a noxious fog. The trees were twisted and gnarled, and the ground was covered in a layer of black, oily slime.

I watched in horror as strange creatures moved about in the mirror world, creatures that seemed to be made of shadows and smoke. As I continued to watch, I realized that the mirror was drawing me into this world, a world that was slowly bleeding into my own.

I tried to look away, but I couldn't. It was as if the mirror had a hold on me, and I was powerless to resist. I felt a cold, clammy hand on my shoulder, and I spun around to see a figure standing behind me. The figure was tall and gaunt, with a face that was half-rotted away.

"You have come too far," the figure rasped. "Now you must join us."

I tried to back away, but I couldn't move. The figure continued to advance, and I realized that I was trapped. Suddenly, the mirror shattered into a million pieces, and the figure disappeared into the darkness.

I woke up in a cold sweat, my heart pounding in my chest. For a moment, I thought that it had all been a dream, but then I looked around the room and saw the shards of glass scattered across the floor. The mirror was gone, but I knew that the nightmare wasn't over.

Over the next few weeks, I felt the presence of the mirror world growing stronger. Shadows seemed to lurk around every corner, and strange noises echoed through the house at night. I knew that I had to do something, but I didn't know what.

Then, one day, I stumbled across an old book in a used bookstore. The book was ancient, bound in cracked leather and written in a language that I didn't recognize. As I paged through the book, I came across a passage that caught my eye.

"To banish the mirror world, one must find the key that unlocks the gate."

I didn't know what it meant, but something about the passage resonated with me. I took the book home and spent the next few days poring over its pages, trying to decipher its secrets.

Finally, I found what I was looking for. The key was a talisman, a small amulet that was said to have the power to banish the mirror world back to where it came from. I knew that I had to find the talisman, but I didn't know where to start.

Days turned into weeks, and I searched everywhere for the talisman. I scoured antique shops, talked to occultists, and even tried to contact people online who claimed to know something about it. But no matter where I looked, I couldn't find the talisman.

Suddenly, I felt a cold breeze on the back of my neck, and I shuddered. I turned to see if any window was open, but everything was shut. The feeling of being watched became overwhelming, and my heart began to race. My eyes darted towards the mirror, and I froze.

The reflection in the mirror was no longer the same. It was a dark and twisted version of myself. The reflection's eyes were cold, black pits, and its smile was malevolent. It wasn't me; it was something else entirely. A feeling of terror washed over me as I stumbled backward, unable to tear my eyes away from the mirror.

I blinked, and when I opened my eyes again, the reflection was gone, replaced with my own. I let out a shaky breath and turned away from the mirror, feeling disoriented and dizzy. Was it just my imagination? Or was something truly strange happening?

Over the next few days, I couldn't shake off the feeling that I was being watched. The presence in the room felt heavy and oppressive, like someone was always lurking just out of sight. My anxiety skyrocketed, and I found myself constantly checking the mirror, half-expecting to see that twisted reflection again.

Then, things started to get strange. Objects in my room would move on their own, and I would find them in places where I hadn't left them. Footsteps echoed through the house when I was alone, and I could hear voices whispering in the dark. I tried to brush it off, but the feeling of being watched never left me.

One day, I woke up to find the mirror had shattered into a thousand pieces. At first, I thought it had been an accident, but as I looked closer, I realized that the shards had formed a strange pattern on the floor. The pieces seemed to be pointing in a specific direction, as if they were trying to show me something.

Curiosity got the better of me, and I followed the pattern to a small door in the back of my closet. I had never noticed it before, but it looked like it led to a small crawl space. I opened the door, and a gust of cold air hit me in the face. I hesitated for a moment before crawling inside, feeling around in the dark.

As I crawled deeper into the space, I could hear the whispers getting louder. My heart was pounding in my chest as I emerged into a small, dimly lit room. In the center of the room stood a pedestal, and on top of it was a strange object. It looked like a key, but it was made of a material I couldn't identify. It was glowing softly, as if it held a power of its own.

I reached out to touch it, and as soon as my fingers brushed against it, I was transported to a different world.

The world was dark and twisted, and the air smelled of decay. The sky was red, and the ground was covered in a thick layer of fog. I could hear screams and whispers echoing all around me, and I knew I wasn't alone.

As I walked through the twisted landscape, I saw strange creatures lurking in the shadows. They were humanoid, but their limbs were twisted and contorted, and their eyes glowed with an otherworldly light. They hissed and snarled at me as I passed, and I knew I had to find a way out before it was too late.

I stumbled through the twisted landscape for what felt like hours, my heart racing as I tried to find a way back to my own world. Finally, I saw a faint glow in the distance. As I approached it, I realized it was the mirror. It was whole again, and the reflection inside was not my own.

The twisted reflection I was beginning to feel trapped, as though the alternate reality I had glimpsed in the mirror was slowly bleeding into my world, suffocating me. I knew that I had to destroy the mirror before it was too late, before the darkness consumed everything I held dear.

The next day, I went to work, but my mind was elsewhere. I couldn't focus on anything, not even my boss's incessant nagging. I left work early and headed to the antique store. I didn't know how I was going to destroy the mirror, but I knew I had to try. When I arrived, I saw that the mirror was still there, mocking me with its existence.

I asked the store owner how much it would cost to buy the mirror. He told me that it wasn't for sale, and I couldn't help but feel a twinge of disappointment. I decided to try another approach.

"Can I trade something for it?" I asked, desperation creeping into my voice.

The store owner raised an eyebrow. "What do you have to trade?"

I thought for a moment before remembering the ring my grandmother had given me before she passed away. It was the only thing I had left of her, but I knew what I had to do.

"I have this," I said, holding out the ring. "It's the only thing of value I have."

The store owner examined the ring for a moment before nodding. "Okay, I'll trade you the mirror for the ring."

Relief flooded through me as I handed over the ring. The store owner carefully wrapped the mirror in bubble wrap and handed it to me.

As I left the store, I couldn't help but feel a sense of foreboding. I knew that destroying the mirror wouldn't be easy, but it was something that had to be done.

That night, I sat in my living room, staring at the mirror. It was almost as though it was calling to me, tempting me to look into it once more. I resisted the urge and began to plan my next move.

I decided that the best way to destroy the mirror was to smash it into a million pieces. I wrapped a towel around my hand and grabbed a hammer from my toolbox. I took a deep breath before raising the hammer and bringing it down on the mirror with all my strength.

The sound of breaking glass echoed through my apartment, and I felt a sense of satisfaction wash over me. But then, something strange happened. The mirror didn't shatter into pieces like I expected it to. Instead, it split open like a cocoon, revealing a dark void inside.

I stumbled back in horror, unable to tear my gaze away from the void. It was like looking into the abyss, and I could feel it staring back at me.

Suddenly, I felt something cold wrap around my ankle, pulling me towards the void. I tried to resist, but it was like I was stuck in quicksand, sinking deeper and deeper.

As I was pulled towards the void, I saw something move in the darkness. It was like a shadow, but it had a distinct shape. It was coming closer, and I knew that whatever it was, it wasn't friendly.

I screamed as the shadow enveloped me, pulling me into the void.

When I opened my eyes, I was back in front of the mirror. But this time, the reflection staring back at me wasn't mine. It was the reflection of a monster, a twisted version of myself.

I knew that I had failed, that the darkness had won. And as the monster reached out of the mirror and pulled me into its world, I couldn't help but wonder if there was anything I could have done to prevent it.

Horror

About the Creator

Mohamed Jakkath

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Dark monsters seem to be everywhere. It's like a distant view of this world. No matter how hard you try, the darkness remains lurking. Great story.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Wow!!! What a marvelously intense and detailed story. You really let the horror develop and come alive to the reader. You did an excellent job and I enjoyed this story. Welcome to Vocal + Assist on Facebook. I look forward to reading more of your great stories here on Vocal Media.

  • Shane Dobbieabout a year ago

    Excellent stuff. And welcome to the Vocal + Assist Facebook group. Look forward to reading more of your stuff

  • It's an interesting story, but there are a few questions I have. First, in paragraphs 15-16 your description doesn't sound like a room, but then all of a sudden there's a door & then you refer to it as a room. It was a bit disorienting. If there was some way in which you could let us know upfront that she's pulled you into a room it might help. Next, the mirror is in the antique shop where he works, but he frequently sees it as he wakes up, then in his bathroom. Later, he leaves work to head to the antique shop. I'm confused. Does the mirror follow him? Is it really there or a vision? Does he have more than one job? Finally, there are several things--the talisman, key & ring--that feel like they should be of importance but seem to just pop up in the story & then get dropped. Finding a way to weave them more integrally into the story could be interesting & a lot of fun. Perhaps the key is the ring is the talisman is some way or another, & perhaps your grandmother could be part of the solution--or the trap!!!

Mohamed JakkathWritten by Mohamed Jakkath

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.