Fiction logo

Reflections of Another World

Another World

By Mutahir AhsanPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I stared at it in disbelief, wondering how such a thing could be possible. It was an antique mirror that I had picked up from a thrift store, and it had looked perfectly normal when I first saw it. But now, as I stared at my reflection, I could see that something was different.

My hair was the same, my face was the same, but my eyes...they were different. They were colder, darker, and had a strange glint in them that made me feel uneasy. I tried to look away, but I couldn't. The longer I stared at the mirror, the more I felt like I was being pulled into it. And then, suddenly, I was.

I found myself standing in front of the mirror, but everything around me was different. The room was darker, the walls were painted a deep red, and there were strange symbols etched into the floor. I looked back at the mirror and saw that it was now glowing with an eerie blue light.

And then I saw her. A girl, who looked just like me, but with that same cold look in her eyes. She was standing behind me, watching me with a twisted smile on her face.

"Welcome," she said. "I've been waiting for you."

I tried to back away, but I couldn't. My feet were rooted to the spot, and I could feel the coldness of her presence creeping over me.

"This is your world," she said, gesturing to the room around us. "A world that you've created with your thoughts and your fears."

I didn't understand what she meant, but I knew that I needed to get out of there. I tried to run, but my legs wouldn't move. I was trapped.

And then I heard it. A faint whisper, coming from the mirror. It was calling out to me, beckoning me to come closer. I couldn't resist it. I walked towards the mirror, and as I did, I saw the world around me start to change.

The walls faded away, the symbols on the floor disappeared, and I was once again standing in my own room. But something was different. The air was colder, and there was a sense of unease that hung over everything.

I looked back at the mirror and saw that the girl was still there, watching me with that twisted smile on her face.

"You can't escape me," she said. "I'm a part of you now."

I tried to smash the mirror, but it wouldn't break. I tried to cover it up, but every time I removed the cover, the mirror was still there, glowing with that eerie blue light.

And then I started to notice things. Little things, at first. A slight change in the color of the walls, a strange object appearing out of nowhere. But as time went on, the changes became more noticeable. The air grew colder, the shadows grew longer, and I started to hear strange noises in the middle of the night.

I tried to ignore it, but I couldn't. The alternate reality that I had glimpsed through the mirror was bleeding into my own world, and I didn't know how to stop it.

I became obsessed with the mirror. I spent hours staring at it, trying to understand what was happening. And then one day, I saw her again. The girl, with her cold eyes and twisted smile.

"You can't escape me," she said. "I'm a part of you now."

I tried to look away, but I couldn't. The longer I stared at the mirror, the more I felt like I was being pulled into it. And then, suddenly, I was.

I found myself standing in the alternate reality again, but this time, it was different. The girl was gone, and instead, I was standing in the middle of a dark, empty room. The only light came from the mirror, which was still glowing with that eerie blue light.

I could feel something watching me, but I couldn't see anything. I tried to move, but I was frozen in place. And then, I heard a voice.

"Hello, there," it said. "I've been waiting for you."

I tried to speak, but no words came out. I could only stare at the mirror, as the voice continued to speak.

"I see you've been playing with things you don't understand," the voice said. "And now, you're stuck here."

I tried to protest, but I still couldn't speak.

"But don't worry," the voice continued. "I can help you. I can get you back to your own world. But you have to do something for me first."

I didn't know what to do. I didn't know who this voice was, or what it wanted from me.

"You see, I'm trapped here too," the voice said. "But if you help me, I can help you. We can both escape this place, together."

I didn't know what to do, but I knew I couldn't stay here forever. I nodded my head, and the voice chuckled.

"Good," it said. "Very good."

And then, the room around me started to change. The walls disappeared, and I was standing in the middle of a forest. It was dark, and I could hear strange noises all around me.

"Find the key," the voice said. "It's the only way out."

I didn't know what key the voice was talking about, but I knew I had to find it. I started walking, and as I did, I could feel something watching me.

The forest was dark, and the trees were twisted and gnarled. There were no animals, no birds, no signs of life anywhere. Just me, and the voice in my head.

As I walked, I started to see things. Strange, twisted creatures that seemed to be made of shadow and mist. They were all around me, watching me with glowing eyes.

But I didn't stop. I kept walking, and as I did, I started to see a faint light in the distance. It was small, but it was there.

I walked towards it, and as I did, the light grew brighter. And then, I saw it. A small, golden key, lying on the ground.

I picked it up, and as I did, I felt something change. The forest around me started to fade away, and I found myself back in my own room.

The mirror was still there, but it wasn't glowing anymore. It was just an ordinary mirror, like any other.

I didn't know what had happened, or what the voice had wanted from me. But I knew one thing for sure. I was never going to look into that mirror again.

Short StoryMysteryHumorFantasyClassicalAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.