Fiction logo

Red Pollock

15th April, Story #106/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
10
Image created by A.I.

See, the thing is, I didn't actually do it. I know everyone says that, but in this case, it's really actually, truly true.

I was a struggling artist. A cliché I embodied fully. Struggling to make rent, pinching pennies. Homeless more than once, drifting from squat to relative to art collective. Leaning on the goodwill of friends.

Poverty was a fucked up golden goose. I railed against it, it often sent my mental health spiralling, but that created an artistic well for me to mine. My mental energy was drained by the house insecurity, the constant anxiety. Yet, as hard as the hard times were, what I made then was among my best work.

There were two murders in the city where I was living, both following the same gruesome M.O.

Now, one murder is tragic, heinous...but two is very nearly a serial killer. And people, (apparently normal healthy, decent people) love a serial killer.

Unnerved, I moved away. I joined a new art collective, optimistic it'd mark a turning point. It did, though not the way I expected.

Two more people were slaughtered, right in the building where I was living. The finger of blame landed on me. I'd no alibi. The only people who could vouch for my whereabouts were labelled unreliable witnesses. Work from a rather dark phase of mine was held up as proof of my twisted mind. And of course, there I'd moved, and the murderer had moved.

I wondered if I'd gone utterly mad. If I really had done it. My mental health suffered worse than ever before. I leaned heavily on the therapeutic art class they run here, losing myself in the cheap materials.

My work sells now. I'm "making bank". The trial turned out to be a neat bit of advertising.

I have housing security, and food every day (not gourmet but infinitely better than nothing). Still enough hardship to keep my tortured artist's edge.

There's an appeal coming up. New evidence has came to light that could vindicate me, and ruin my livelihood. My brush moves as if on its own, and my brain fizzes with possibilities.

++++++++++++

Word count: (excluding note): 366

Submitted on: 15th April at 22:08

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly: thank you for reading!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one makes an 106 day streak since the 1st January. I can't believe I've come this far! I'm collating them all here.

Prompts: If you'd like to have a go at my unofficial April Challenge (Fucked Up Fairytales) I've linked it at the bottom. If you'd like some more prompts to get your creative juices flowing, I've posted a list of prompts for April, and I've linked that as well.

Thank you

Thank you again! Especially if you are one of the people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you 😁

I do my best to reciprocate as many reads as possible. If you leave me a comment, that makes it much easier.

Short StoryMicrofiction
10

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz14 days ago

    Brilliant use of Pollock art as a back ground. It helps me understand his art now. Great work

  • Oooo, I wish someone would frame me for murder and I could get a book published hehehhehehehehe

  • Rachel Deeming14 days ago

    Great title! And the idea here is dark. Surely innocence would be more important?

  • Heather Zieffle 14 days ago

    I loved it! Great story and such a unique idea 😊

  • John Cox14 days ago

    This is a clever bit of storytelling, LC. If proven innocent, the cash cow leaves town. Definitely original.

  • Mark Gagnon14 days ago

    I'm not sure how to respond to this one. I've written a couple of serial killer stories but not from this angle. I do like it, just need to work it out.

  • There's almost this feeling of a temptation for the person to become a serial killer if they are not convicted. There is a darkness that is under the surface with the Psychology behind this piece. Well done LC!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.