Fiction logo

Red Button

I pressed the red button and everyone around me lost their memory.

By Natasha MatloobPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1
Photo by cottonbro studio from Pexels

I pressed the red button and everyone around me lost their memory. There was confusion on everyone's face but strangely enough, they were somewhat relieved as a heavy weight was taken from their shoulders. Yes, you guessed it right, memory is the biggest burden that all of us carry even if we do not want it. And even good memories often become very painful, worse than bad memories.

Well, back to the story, when I pressed the red button, small sounds of chit-chat started. People from anonymous backgrounds made groups and started conversations. Everyone was talking but none of them was making sense. I was bewildered. I thought that perhaps I am in heaven or maybe in hell. I went to a child and asked him to stop playing and do his schoolwork. But he refused my advice and continued playing. When I told him that education is key to earning well and living a successful life, he replied that making money is not worth the meaning of education. “Happiness and satisfaction are not associated with being rich. Money only adds to your weight.” I gave that stubborn child a shut up called moved forward.

Next, I saw a white man who was sitting and happily chatting with a black man. I got infuriated at this sight. I immediately went to him and scolded him. He was amazed at me and said that he didn't believe in these differences. For him, there is no wrong with eating, sitting, walking or talking with black. He said, “We have the same essence”. “Are you mad? Do we have the same essence? You want these black to compete with us and diminish our chances of survival and success.” But that white man was mad as he paid no attention to my words. I also realized that it is useless to waste my energy on that heretic and moved forward.

Guess what? The next scene was even more dramatic. I saw a renowned political leader sweeping a dirty street. I went to him and asked why was he wasting his energy and time on such petty matters. I told him that the sweeper would come in sometime and clean it. However, he said: “ We all are responsible for keeping our surroundings and overall planet clean. Why don't you help me as well?” I lost my temper when he asked me to clean the street but I managed to control it. I looked at him with disgust and continued my stroll.

All these events depressed me, therefore, I went to the playground to play football. Football has always been a mood booster for me. It always helps me in alleviating my anxiety and depression. When I reached the ground, it was already occupied by girls and they were playing a football match. My team members were waiting outside the ground for their turn to play. I went to them and asked why are they waiting. “Let’s drive them out of our ground and have a match”. But they replied that it was the girls’ turn to play and they have to wait until they get done. I got a laughter attack at their remarks “ What kind of men are you? Do you think that these young girls should even play? They are meant for household chores, not for sports. Games are only for men.” One stupid boy who was, unfortunately, my best friend as well said a dramatic line, copied from some movie I guess, “ Women and men are equal and they should have equal opportunities for education, employment and sports”. Other team members applauded him and agreed with him. I didn't stop there to listen to the silly talk of those stupid boys anymore and instead moved forward.

I had enough for the day and I had no more energy to tolerate this stuff. I pressed the red button again to return to the existing situation. But, I was unlucky as it was not working. Till that unfortunate day, I have been living with these hopelessly foolish people whose absurd philosophies are not understandable to me.

AdventureYoung AdultShort StoryScriptSatirePsychologicalMysteryFantasyFan FictionClassical
1

About the Creator

Natasha Matloob

Student of humanities, and social sciences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.