Fiction logo

Rain

Chapter six

By Lily AnnPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Rain
Photo by Alfred Schrock on Unsplash

Chloe’s POV

After my shift ended I bought myself a coffee and then looked for where William was, I found him at the table In the far right corner of the shop he was staring out of the window and had his head resting gently on his fist. "Lost in thought?" I asked as I sat down at the table, I set my coffee down across from his and I tapped on the cup softly. "Quite." He replied before drifting his eyes toward me and giving me a smile. "I came to discuss something rather...Important." he stated, I pressed my lips together and nodded slowly "Mmm?" His smile dropped and he sighed and looked away "I will be leaving again soon, in two days to be exact." William paused then looked back at me. "I would like to see you again." He stated. "Oh, I...I don't know what to say." I replied, I couldn't lie, my heart dropped the moment he said he had to leave. "Is it because of work that you are leaving?" I asked, I felt that I had to know. "Yeah, yeah, it's for work." He replied as he turned back to look out of the window, "But still, I would like to see you again." I thought for a moment then I slowly nodded "I would like to see you again as well, though I am not sure when exactly we could do that." I replied giving him a half smile. William looked back at me and smiled.

William's POV

I walked into my fathers office just before two, ”one day left” I thought to myself, everything of mine had been packed early this morning, Mae will be packed shortly after me. My father was standing in front of the window looking out. “Do you know why I cannot allow you to love, my son?” “no idea father, only that you are power hungry and want to control everything?” I said as I got myself a drink and walked over to him. “Is everything set and ready for me to leave tomorrow?” I asked, clearly trying to change the conversation. My father nodded and moved over to his desk and sat down “there will be some changes made, in the upcoming months. I think that you will find the changes to be….Refreshing” I walked over and sat down in a chair across from his desk, “I truly hope it’s not too much of a change, tell me, will I still be working on the same projects?” I asked trying to get some clues at to what is going on. “I will allow you to find out once you get to where you will be working tomorrow, the plane leaves at noon.” My father made a waving motion with his hand, telling me it was time to leave.

After I left my fathers office I made my way over to the coffee shop, I was hoping that I would find Chloe there. I wanted to give her a proper goodbye, but to my dismay she was not there today. I pulled out my phone and dialed her number, voicemail. I let out a sigh and made my way over to the lake, I called Mae and had her meet me there.

Mae and I spoke of what we are planning for the next few months, how we will find a way to be with who we love….Eventually.

Chloe’s POV

I stepped off of the train coming into New York City, after having left for the night, I just felt like I needed to get away. I turn my phone on and find three calls from William, I send him a quick text to meet me at my work, that I would buy him a coffee. After a minute I receive a call from an unknown number, “hello?” I answer. “He left, about an hour ago.” It was a females voice, “who is this?” I asked. After a moment she responds “he will be in touch, but it will be through me for awhile, until the case is clear.” And then she hung up.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.