Fiction logo

Rain

Chapter Five

By Lily AnnPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Rain
Photo by Quino Al on Unsplash

Mae sat up and turned to look at both of us, "What's going on? why is Father here?" Mae asked as she looked at me, I shrugged and looked at Father before going over and sitting on the couch next to Mae. "What would make you think that I would allow you to fall in love again?" My father asked as he threw pictures onto the coffee table. I leaned over and looked at the pictures seeing Chloe and I sitting by the water that we did earlier, “why are you taking pictures of us now father?” I asked as I looked up and glanced at him. “My son, what did you think would happen.” He replied with a grin as he went over and picked the pictures up. “love will only set you back, I need you to always be going for your future.” I stood up and glared at him “what if she is my future?” I asked as I balled my hands into fists “your future cannot possibly be with a woman that is such….Level.” “What about Rachel? Her father owned an Inn, he was very successful as was she!” I shot back trying not to allow my father to notice the tears that were about to spill over. “You will be leaving in two days.” My father replies before turning and leaving.

I traced my fingers along the wall while walking to my room, I pictured Chloe in my head and wondered if I would ever be allowed to be with so,done I loved. But I know I wouldn’t, not with my father around.

I lay in bed that night and think back to when I had asked Rachel to be my wife, it was only a week away from her betroved marriage and I could tell how unhappy she was trying to stay with someone she didn’t love for the sake of her family.

I rolled over and stared out of the window, remembering the moment from when she said yes to the moments leading up to our wedding how beautiful she was. I stayed like that thinking until I heard Mae shuffling around in the kitchen, getting up I look at the clock to find it to be 4:00am. I walked out of my bedroom and made my way over to the kitchen, I lean in the doorframe and watched her for a moment before she finally noticed me standing there. “Going to help me pack.” She asked. I shook my head and looked away “I didn’t plan on packing since we all know where I will be going to will be filled with furniture already.” I replied before walking over and pouring myself a cup of coffee. “Two days, can you believe it.” Mae stated as she moved items into boxes. I watch her for a minute before I look down to stare at the coffee, “I will come back for her, if she will wait for me…” I stated before putting the cup of coffee down and going back to my room.

Chloe’s POV

It was 3:30pm, I had just cashed out a costumer when he walked in. I looked up to find William standing in line, he was holding a cane. I felt a small flutter in my chest as I took another costomers order, he always comes in at this time, I wonder if it has something to do with work. Maybe a lunch time or something, he never told me what he does for a living he just said that he.recently moved here. I remember the first time that I met him, he looked strangely firmilir even though I knew I had not met him before. Finally it was his turn in line, I wanted to ask him for his number. But I knew if I did that at work I would get into a lot of trouble, so I left it hoping that we would meet again outside of work. “Medium coffee” he ordered, I gave him a smile and took the money “when do you get out of work?” He asked, I looked behind me real quick before turning back to him “half an hour.” I replied before moving over and pouring his coffee. “I would like to speak to you, if it is alright for me to wait?” I listened closely to his accent, it was sweet and very calming for me to listen to. “Of course, I will meet you over at a table.“ I replied, he nodded slowly then walked away with his coffee.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.