Fiction logo

Rain

Chapter Four

By Lily AnnPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Rain
Photo by Anastasiya Yilmaz on Unsplash

William Sat on the edge of his bed and stared out of the window, thinking back he tried to remember why he fought so hard when he lost so much. As much as he tried he couldn't see any way of fighting it once again this time, but he knew if he didn't try he would fail once again. And this girl, Chloe...William knew if he tried and fought, he may fail again but he didn't want to even let his father try.

Needing to think further, William got out of bed and walked out intending to go to the park to think. On his way to the park, William stopped by the small lake, he took a few steps towards it before he heard a soft voice behind him. "Lovely isn't it?" turning around I saw Chloe standing by the bench, she was wearing a long sleeve purple shirt and dark blue jeans with black boots. "You like the lake as well?" I asked Chloe smiled and walked beside me. "I enjoy it in the spring, during the autumn...Not so much." She laughed slightly as she paused. "I cannot imagine what the lake would look like in the spring" Chloe's face lit up, " I love the lake in the spring, the flowers all in bloom, the lilies on the lilypads on the water, the...The beauty of it is just amazing." Chloe stated as she walked forward and sat down by the water. "I believe it," I stated as I went over and sat down right next to her. We watched the ducks float along the water, Chloe hummed a bit but otherwise, we sat quietly. William leaned back onto his elbows and shut his eyes, remembering back to what his father had said. He will be leaving soon, he shouldn't be getting this close to Chloe, but she looks so much like Rachel, I couldn't imagine that she would have relatives with Rachel's family. I opened my eyes and stared at her back, she had her knees pulled up to her chest and her chin was resting on them. Chloe's hair was down and falling to the low of her back, she turned to me then leaned back herself. "Are you enjoying it here? I know you said previously that you just moved here." I averted my eyes to look at the water, "I do love it here," I paused before looking back over at Chloe. "But I will be moving again soon," I stated, my heart hurt, I knew I didn't want to leave someone that looked so much like Rachel. "Didn't you just move here?" She asked as she raised her eyebrow. I nodded then looked away. "I move a lot due to my employment, It's hard to stay in only one place." Chloe laughed. "A traveler huh? I could only wish I could have that for a job." She stated as she stood up slowly "Speaking of jobs, I have to get going or I will be late. See you later!" She said as she went back to the path and started running down it.

Once I cleared my head I slowly made my way back to the house, May was curled up on the couch snoring away, I let out a sigh and pulled the blanket over her before turning and shutting off the television. I turned to make my way back to the room when I heard the front door shut. "My dear children!" My father shouted as he came into the living room. "My dear children, why have we decided to not follow you're father's instructions?"

Series
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.