Fiction logo

Rain, Evening and Terror

Fear becomes a disturbing thought monster in the mind. To be brave, one must first fight the fear within oneself.

By Mohammad ArifPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

The evening time comes with the impression of the romance of sadness. But there was one evening of my life that shook my soul. I slept late that day.

What a sleep of ignorance. When I opened my eyes, darkness had spread in the room. It was raining heavily outside. When Abuji's groaning sound came from one corner of the room, I got up from the bed in panic and ran towards the kitchen. At the same time, the sound of a cat running from the kitchen window came. This cat had been suffocating in our nose for two days. Some animal had chewed its leg. And she was groaning for her injured leg.

Nobody in our house was interested in raising animals anyway. Amy thought that once this injured cat was put to eat something, it would be chasing our house. No one paid attention to this cat, believing his words to be true. While giving medicine to Abu Ji with milk, tears flowed from my eyes once again. The stroke made him completely helpless. Ever since my elder brother Akbar had reformed London for post-doctorate, he had given up the idea of ​​communicating.

Yes, I was talking about this evening which gave a new dimension to my perception of life. After giving medicine to Abu Ji, I peeked out of the window and saw that the rain was getting heavier. From time to time. The thunder of lightning was making my body tremble. The bright lights of the house in front of me were dim in the pouring rain. I had never liked this area in terms of accommodation. The house was inhabited. The people living here looked less educated and ridiculously insane due to the radiance of the new wealth.

There was no distinction between speaking and living. However, in this time of high prices, we had our own house. That was the big thing. The sound of a car horn drowned me in my thoughts. I was shocked. It was a daily routine in front of the house. Some obscene people used to make noise all night long. Their loud and awkward laughter used to pass unpleasantly at hearings.

They were trying to break in quickly. They were of course Munir Sahib's friends in the front who would sit in his seat in the evening. Munir Sahib's wife was present in his house with half a dozen children. But the situation was that whenever If I left the gate of my house to go to college, it would be humming some absurd movie song in a nearby street.

This evening my heart was terribly frightened to know why. I was surrounded by all kinds of disturbing thoughts. Friends are laughing at my helplessness. As if they all know that I am alone at home with my sick and paralyzed father. Fear becomes a disturbing thought. It becomes a monster in the mind. I have to fight with the fear of God. However, all these golden sayings were not coming out of my mind in those moments. Despite the cold, I was standing there by the window, sweating profusely.

With trembling hands, I hurriedly started checking all the doors and window locks. I was exhausted and piled on the chair lying nearby. I was thinking that surely Asher Bhai and my mother must have told Munir Sahib's wife or Munir Sahib himself that he should go to Chakwal for one day. And from behind, I have been urged to take care of myself. Oh my God ... what should I do? Who do I call for help? My mother's aunt also had to die today. And if she had to die, was it necessary for the Asher brothers to go with her? Yes, it was necessary for them to go because the community system of our village Never forgives

The meowing of the cat outside had started again. Sitting there, I thought to myself that I opened the kitchen door which was open in the backyard and peeked a little.

I was squeezing her. I hugged her and she came in limping. After closing the door, I put milk in a bowl for the cat. After a while she drank all the milk. I also bandaged her injured leg. I was very grateful to her for her cat's care. Now wherever I went in the house, she started following me.

The evening was beginning to fall into the night. The rain was continuing with full force and noise. The sounds of Abu Ji's groaning started coming again from the bedroom. I reached him in panic and put my hand on his forehead in panic. At the same time Akbar was calling Bhai's name.

"Ji Abu Ji, talk to me. We have informed Akbar Bhai about your illness. He will come to you soon."

I was speaking in a delusional manner. Suddenly Manu's meow brought me back to the world of consciousness. I quickly checked Abu Ji's blood pressure. Oh God! His blood pressure was also high. I started looking for blood pressure medicine from the cupboard. When I opened the bottle, it was empty. It seemed that all the troubles of the world were to be revealed today. What will happen now?

What will I do if Abu Ji's condition worsens then? My senses were never fixed in sudden situations. I was very angry with Asher Bhai. He should have checked all Abuji's medicines before he left. My heart sank with terror. Abu Ji's restlessness was growing. I thought of my family doctor. I looked at the telephone in shock. At that moment the telephone rang. I picked up the receiver with trembling hands.

Hello Hello..?

There was complete silence ahead. I hit the receiver cradle with my torso. Now my endurance was limited. She sat on the ground and started crying. As if she started licking my feet. She jumped up and sat on my lap and I was sobbing while caressing her. I went to the main door and started meowing. Then I realized that someone was knocking on the main gate of the courtyard. Probably a factor as to why they're doing so poorly. I started praying to God in my heart. I felt as if someone was shouting my name. Maybe my ears were ringing.

''no!!! no!! No matter what happens, I will not open the door. "

The knock on the door was beating my body like cotton wool. The sound of my caller's voice, combined with the sounds of rain and wind, was creating a strange state of insanity. I had to get up from my place. The courage of was gone. My whole being was dying of terror. But my ears were fully listening to the voices. Now the sound of knocking on the door had stopped. After a while there was the sound of someone jumping in the yard and then falling down. I had no idea what to do.

I looked at the door of the room and listened. The door latch was open. I tried to gather all the strength of my body to get up and lock the door. But just as I was about to get up, a man hurried into the room.

Oh my God !! This was Akbar Bhai. I hugged him and started crying. Without thinking that he was traveling so far. He started giving me compassionate consolations and at the same time grabbed Abu Ji's hand and started feeling his pulse. Where was I able to pay more attention to what happened around me. Akbar Bhai had taken care of everything. Brothers are really the shelter of sisters. I was looking at Akbar bhai with wet eyes and Mano was repeatedly walking in my footsteps with joy. The terror and rain of this evening had taught me a lot. In the race of life, patience and courage have never been Should not be left out. And sometimes even a little goodness makes your difficult path easier.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Mohammad Arif

I am health professional and freelance writer, who have 4 years of experience in the field of freelance writing. I also offer paraphrasing/rewriting services to my clients.I love to work on subjects like HEALTH & fitness, fashion, travel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.