Fiction logo

Purple Skies and The Water

Our time comes when it comes

By Maria ShawPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. One special night was the point when my power swelled. The night I turned 40 the purple enveloped me and consumed my being while igniting the magic buried in my soul. I was alone, full of turmoil from divorce, empty nesting, and about a fifth of rum that I gave myself as a gift for finalizing my divorce on my 40th birthday. I felt a purpose, a sense of home inside the purple haze and I finally knew that all the waiting I’d been doing was finally answered in the most unusual way.

As the purple light faded my joining of reality began. It was almost as if I were somewhere else that didn’t exist and I felt at home there. Now in reality with purple swirls dissipating I felt panicked and unsure of my surroundings. I tried to calm myself but it only added to my stress and as I lay on the floor of my kitchen crying the water surrounding me through my tears became in my control. Every aspect of it, I could now feel, every molecule I was aware of and not that I had control of it but I was a part of a relationship with it that could mold and change the water’s form. I felt comforted by it. I felt at home with it near me. The madness of my life seemed to silence at my oneness with water.

A knock at my door, through me from the place I was in. Trinity, my best friend, was at the other end of that demanding knock, ready for us to walk to our favorite coffee spot then to work. She knew how much I was struggling lately to even get out of bed so she started stopping by after my ex put him and the woman he left me for birth’s announcement in the paper. I shouldn’t be taking as hard as I was but being 40 with a set of twins now finishing college I felt replaced, done in by a 20 year old with a boob job and youth that I couldn’t compare to.

“What’s up beatch”, Trinity was good with greetings. “I feel weird, I think I might be going crazy”, I said. “You’re not going crazy, you are going nuts from that drought you’ve had of a man since you split with him who chant be named like in a popular teen fiction series”. She always liked to point out that I wouldn’t date while divorcing. I still felt it was wrong to my vows and still had that hope that something was just a misunderstanding and would work itself out. Now after the ink was dry I realized I was stupid. Our assets were split evenly but he paid his share to get the house for him and his new soon to be Mrs. At that thought I got really mad and then all of a sudden hot water burst out of the pipes. “What the hell?” Trinity said. You need to move away from this old building, use your money from your divorce to buy you something more permanent than this month to month BS. Part of me knew it was me that caused the issue but I wasn’t sure how and already looked pathetic so I went to get dressed.

My bestie and I work together at a travel agency. She does more of the booking type of work and I do more of the acquisitions for the company. We find a way to constantly need to talk at work so our days are spent figuring out what clients need and what’s available in the market. Today is one of my lighter sides of the day. I don’t have any real clients books so I’ll spend it exploring territories and surveys of what clients want. Trinity will spend hers with client to client trying to make her commission which some months are way more than my salary but other months are slim pickings.

After about 2 hours reviewing potential properties that I’ve declined I see one with purple skies in the image. Water upon water in each image and I almost find myself dancing within the scenery. Marathi island in Greece, the most beautiful and epic scenery I’d ever seen lay before me. I don’t even think I knew what I was doing while on the phone with travel requesting a flight to visit the destination. Travel thought I was confused when they relayed that less than 10 people reside on the entire island and I still felt the need to go. I had to get here. I don’t know what it was but something was pulling me inside to go. When I left my office, I bumped into Trinity who said “hey, I got our tickets to Greece let’s go”. Wait what ours,I was too much in a daze to even think about it. The trip was in 2 hours so that left little time to pack and get to the airport.

The flight over when we talked Trinity felt like this would be a good opportunity to get me out of my funk. She thought by going along she could convince me to clean the cobwebs out of areas that no man had seen in forever. The moment my feet hit the soul I felt at one. I could feel every molecule of water around me. I could control it, I could ask it to do what I needed and then my eyes locked with the deepest set of brown eyes I’d ever seen. My soul almost seemed to have locked on this man. Purple clouds seemed to hover over his head and my heart almost did a jump right in my chest. Trinity might have noticed the drool on my chin and asked “Hey, are you our driver, what’s your name?” The man replied with one word “Reggie”, then put our bags in the car.

The drive was about an hour from our flight. I felt so much all at once and Trinity was constantly talking but I have no idea what she was saying. When we reached the spot, Reggie said “I live down the road to the right, if you have any questions let me know, my family is the one who owns this land”. Before I could even comprehend he was gone. The purple clouds were everywhere. They spun around me, they grew from me, and they welcomed me home. The first home I think I may have ever known and the look of horror on my friend’s face told me that this wasn’t just my imagination but my destiny and explanation all at the same time.

Short StoryFantasyAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Maria Shaw

I have had a roller coaster of a life and would love to share some of my real life and my imagination with others through stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.