Fiction logo

Purple Skies & Constant Lies

Amalia has magical powers while everyone outside of her family does not. Her dry humor keeps anyone from catching onto her side of the world.

By Vanessa R. PowellPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Purple Skies & Constant Lies
Photo by Derick McKinney on Unsplash

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. You might wonder how clouds could be purple. It's not something you see every day. I mean... sure, sunset creates these amazing skies of reds & oranges in the fall... and then you have cotton candy skies in summer with beautiful blues and pinks. It's as if you could reach up and pluck the cotton candy clouds right out of the sky. BUT PURPLE CLOUDS? Well, I hate to break it to you but it's me. It's always been me.

Ever since I was a little girl, I knew I was special. I could feel the tingling in my finger tips. By the age of 6, I could see the small golden sparks of electricity zapping right from my finger tips. I wasn't really sure what it meant, but I was bound to find out.

It's no surprise I picked purple. It is my favorite color after-all. Much like Wednesday Addams, I too have a love of one color: purple. By the age of 13, I was finally allowed to dye my hair the deepest blue-purple hue of all the purples. My fingernails were always a deep matte gel purple polish. My sweater vest? Purple. My pleated skirt? Purple. You get the idea. So of COURSE...once I found out I could control my surroundings, the first thing I did was change the clouds to purple at midnight, and no one could stop me.

My mother never understood my affinity for the color. She was more of a red person. It's funny though, now that I think about it... Mother loves red, Fathers loves blue, nature knew what it was doing when purple chose me.

So why the clouds? Why, you ask? It was a normal Tuesday at the Academy of Halstem. I was sitting in AP Physics when Marlo asked me what I was doing that night. I told her I was planning to cast my first spell just before midnight. I had been working on this spell for months. I was DETERMINED to change the color of the clouds. The first 2 times failed and I was NOT going to fail again. Of course, she didn't believe me. Why would she... in her world, magic doesn't exist.

I've always been known for my sarcasm and dry humor. Or "Amalia, the purple freak", I've been known as that before too. Whatever, humans are simple minded.

"Amalia, I know you aren't really casting spells. Seriously, are you free? Me and Gilly are thinking about getting ice cream at this new food truck on 2nd street. Do you want to come?"

Ugh, Gilly. I can't stand that girl. Marlo, I like. Gilly... Gilly is a chameleon. The only reason she is friends with Marlo is because her parents moved into a house with a pool. Suddenly, Gilly LOVVEESSS to swim. Which is funny because last semester, archery was her life and Rosen was her best friend. Rosen moved half way across the country so Gilly had to leach onto her next victim.

"Marlo, you know I don't like Gilly."

"Well, uh, I just thought maybe you could try to like her?"

"No, I can't and I already told you I have plans."

Later that night, I did exactly as I said I would. I tweaked a few words, reversed the beginning paragraph with the last and crossed my fingers and toes that it would work this time. And... it work. Purple Sky at Midnight.

Now how was I going to explain this to Marlo tomorrow at school?

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Vanessa R. Powell

I am a portrait photographer, graphic designer, creator extraordinaire, oh and I sell Scentsy. I suppose I am dabbling in writing too 😊 | Based in Evansville, IN | I am 721vanessa Photography | www.721vanessa.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.