Fiction logo

Prompt 1

The Author's Will Pt. 7

By Emrys Everette Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Prompt 1
Photo by George Hiles on Unsplash

I'm woken as the school shakes and students scream in the halls. My door is thrown open by the Headmaster "We must go... the Beast is here."

"Here you said it was impossible?" I stand in panic running out of my room in my pajamas following him and Rowena as we race up to the top floor of the school. From behind us I can feel it, the Beast knows we're trying to escape.

"Author!" It shouts from behind us. "Your time is neigh." The school is practically silent now. It must only be the three of us. We continue to run.

"Don't stop for anything! There's a portal in my office." The Headmaster calls out. My chest tight with every leap I take throwing myself across the marble floors, I can hear claws clacking on the floors behind us, I turn back to see him only ten feet behind and closing in. The stairs at the end of this hall the only way up to the top. The Headmaster goes through first stopping at the door, after Rowena and I make it through he quickly slams the door shut slapping his palms against the wood and it begins to turn into a section of wall. "I said don't stop!" He shouts as Rowena and I continue up the stairs, he's not far behind. We can hear the clawing and once we're half way up the first brick echoes as it hits the floor.

"We have walked Hell and Earth, you are Ours!"

"I will hold him off just don't let the boy die." Rowena slows down sending waves of magical energy into the stairs behind us destroying them. The beast leaps across the gap tackling the witch. The Headmaster screams out in pain as he too stops putting up another wall between us as his dearest friend falls. Not another word until we're in the office. He blows some sand onto the floor of his office revealing the engravings for a portal.

"I have lost everything... my school, my friend, and to save the Author. Pft."

"So you did know." A voice comes out from the shadows, The Sorcerer and a woman both step out of a corner of the room almost appearing from shadow. "He is older than even us..." The Sorcerer takes a playful bow. "Allow me to introduce my sister Lamia Queen of the Underworld." The woman walks to the door of the office opening it... not revealing the stairs but a forest.

"I assume you were about to use some archaic portal? You do realize a door works just as well right?" Says Lamia gracefully stepping through.

"You may come if you'd like, however the Author will be coming with us. I'll be damned if I let someone kill me by proxy." I'm shoved through the portal by the Sorcerer when the door shatters and the portal collapses.

"Demo!" Lamia screams. "That foolish boy." A single tear rolls down her pale cheek. "You need to stop this before all of creation is consumed with you."

"What is going on?!?!" I shout, a storm brewing above us. "I woke up in this god forsaken place, told what to do since day one all while being hunted by a nightmare.

"Trust me, a nightmare I could kill... this is a god-killer. The Collective isn't to be trifled with."

"I just want to go home!" Lightning strikes the tree top setting the forest on fire. "I am so sick and tired of running." Another bolt hits.

"Hold on now... we can fix this." Fear begins to grow over her stoic face.

"I will not watch everything be consumed. No more!" My voice booms across the world as the storm intensifies now several bolts of lightning hitting the forest until one strikes just in front of me leaving behind a black ooze. Rising from it is the Beast.

"Don't do this!" She screams as she runs from what is about to become a battleground.

"You have escaped us for the last time Author." The Beast points to me from the ground, I realize now I'm levitating, I float back down gently touching the dirt as the storm settles.

"You don't know where you are do you?"

"We are in your domain."

"Exactly," I raise my left hand as wisps of silver light dart to his neck pinning the Beast to a tree like a collar. "My domain! I am Death, I am Life, I am Creation, I am Destruction!" I walk towards him. "If you hadn't chased me for so long I may have forgotten what I was indefinitely. You've failed."

"We are Death."

"No you're a parasite." I reach out to touch the Beast throwing a blinding light. I feel weird now... laying down, a bright light above me. I sit up in a white room all alone. I look around for a moment spotting wires going from me to a machine beside my bed, I can't speak. A long plastic tube fills my throat as I panic so too does the machine. I've awoken.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Emrys Everette

You want to know about me? Well shoot, here's the short version. I'm gay, I'm 22, wildly imaginative and curious as can be. I can get short with folks, I'm typically sweet as can be. I don't honestly know what you'll want to know.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.