Fiction logo

Princess and The Horse

Magical Barn nostalgia.

By IAM SimplyShanPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Princess and The Horse
Photo by Rich Martello on Unsplash

That particular summer was extremely different . I decided , it was time to take my Grandpa Joe’s advice and spend a month. One entire month. I thought long and hard about it . Even made a list of why I should go vs not go . My should go list far outweighed why I should not go . Plus I knew deep down I needed it and so did everyone else.

As my driver pulls up to the house , I stare at the house in shock that adjacent still has the barn except it is so old and run-down . Tears start to flow down my cheeks. I just can’t believe it.

Princess , we have arrived”. Says the driver.

No response.

Looking very concerned he asks “Are you okay !?”

However because I am so shocked , I did not hear him.

“Clap ! Clap !Clap ! Princess !!!!!!!!?”

Snapping out of what felt like a daze.

Oh I am sorry , I just can’t believe this is what it looks like now… Has it really been that long since I have come up here ?

Asking a question , deep down I knew the answer.

Well yes, Princess when you do come into town , you never want to come this way and you make it very clear.

“Mhmm.. You know , I do suppose you are right. I instantly go silent. That reminder was needed.

Thank you , Jason”, I will call you in a few days .

Why I said a few days, I really don’t know. Perhaps , I was in denial that I am really staying for a month.

The truth is there is so many memories and tears on that now rusty roof. I never understood why Grandpa Joe , wouldn’t just break it down and build up another one. I stopped asking as it seemed to strike nerves .

I can’t believe it looks THAT old and run down. Now that I think about it , I was probably trying to avoid feeling the feels. I did it for so long , I almost felt good at it . Or so I thought. There is no growth in running away and surpressing ones emotions I became an expert.

As I walk up to the front porch , I am greeted by our childhood dog Champ. He is a very friendly German Shepard.

Nearly knocking me over with excitement.

As I rub his belly , I ask Champ where Grandpa Joe is ?”

He brings me up close , to the now Old run down barn. I can really see how hard Grandpa is trying to keep this thing . But I just don’t get the attachment.

Maybe this summer I will find out , heck I am here for a month anyway.

I look around the front and I don’t see Grandpa anywhere .

I hear someone else’s voice but it is not my Grandpa Joe. As I go closer , I no longer make out the voice and suddenly my grandpa comes out .

“Hows my #1 Princess?

“Everything is good grandpa , I am so excited to see you !”

“I am truly sorry, it’s taken me so long . I just have been so busy with work.”

“Oh I know Princess, I keep telling you, you need to slow down sometimes and Recoup.”

Well that’s why I am here ! , I temporarily turned my second phone off . So I won’t be tempted to get carried away with business. I also have my assistant taking care of things while I am away.”

He smiles . “Well it’s a very great start and I am happy to hear that.”

Help me , clean the stables like old times ?

Of course , Grandpa .

This was something , I didn’t necessarily love doing but if it meant spending time with my grandpa Joe, you can always count me in.

To properly clean the stables , he reminds me that we have to scrub all of the stables surfaces with water and detergent, and spend the time to rinse everything thoroughly. Then allow the stables to completely dry out. I didn’t bother to say I remembered, or I know. Simply because I genuinely enjoyed spending time with my Grandpa Joe.

As I am putting on my rubber boots. I couldn’t help but notice that beside where my horse Lexie used to be was this beautiful white horse with a mane white as snow , with shades of a silver , and a purple hue . She was the most beautiful horse I ever seen.

As I begin to rub her , I say Grandpa she’s so beautiful! What is her name ? His reply shocked me , he said I don’t know . What do you want to name her?

I said , I say like the name Fancy.

Well her name is Fancy and she’s all yours !

Thank you Grandpa Joe ! You are amazing and I am so grateful.

Now take her out back so we can start cleaning this thing , alright .

In disbelief and gratitude I gladly take her . I was shocked at how well she gravitated towards me. She was so gentle.

You see at the time , I did not know how special Fancy really was going to be . And after my Horse Lexi passed I never really looked at horses the same.

It didn’t matter how much the barn smelled like man-ewer, or the old hay.

Fancy’s presence was sweet and her Aura was ever so bright .

I dropped down some bananas for Fancy and said, “Would you allow me to ride on your back , one of these days ?”

Not expecting to get a reply.

To my dismay the horse replied ! Excited , Confused, overwhelmed a range of emotions.

The horse , Fancy replies

“ Ofcourse , You have fed me very tasty fruits. You can surely ride on me.

I knew at a very young age that my hometown was special. It had a special kind of magic to it. I remember how magical all the animals were , but it was like the adults didn’t notice. It was so beautiful and big and bright red . Th best barn in the town. It’s so heartbreaking looking and accepting it no longer looks like that but now barely standing tall, creeks galaore now this old run barn. Grandpa seems to love it just the same, maybe this summer I can do something special for him.

To be continued….

-Simply Shan

Short Story
1

About the Creator

IAM SimplyShan

Analytical, Food for thought stories and experiences through my eyes.

-Ss

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.