Fiction logo

Primitive Future

Chapter 1. Dream 42

By JonsseyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Primitive Future
Photo by Fabian Kozdon on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. But I remember floating in space, slowly getting closer to this massive, primitive-looking spaceship. I can not explain it, but it felt like I already knew what I was going to find, and it was not something good.

“Like in a dream?”

“In a way, but there was something else under the surface. It’s hard to articulate, but anyway, I remember this gigantic object right next to me. I extended my right arm and after struggling for a moment, I managed to get on top of it. And you know, now that I think about it, it felt different from anything I have ever touched.”

“In what way, Ivan?”

“Maybe like an animal or creature?” as soon as the man in front of me said my name, I started realizing I had no idea who he was. Was I going mad? Was I talking to strangers now about my visions?

“Would you like more coffee?” a young waitress conveniently interrupted our conversation.

“No, I am ok,” I said.

“Please,” the man in front of me said while giving an odd look to the waitress.

I was not able to guess his age. He had no hair, but it didn’t look like he shaved his head; it seemed like he had never had hair in the first place. His face was young, but he had the strangest eyes. They were a color I had never seen before and they also looked like the eyes of a person who had lived a very unusual life. His skin looked young and perfectly tanned.“I can see you are trying to remember who I am,” the mysterious man said. He had a subtle smirk on his face.

“I don’t know who you are.”

“Of course, you do,” a totally neutral expression replaced the smirk.

“I honestly don’t know. What is your name?”

“That’s not the right question Ivan. You already know that,” again the same strange odd sensation invaded me.

“Do you have a lot of dreams, Ivan?” my heart started beating faster.

“What happened after you got on top of the spacecraft, Ivan?”

“I…I don’t know.”

“You didn’t do anything? You just stayed there?”

“No. I mean yes! Of course, I did, I activated my scanner and tried to look for an entrance or window.”

“Did you find it?”

“No.”

“So what did you do next, Ivan?” Each time he said my name, I felt more confused and disoriented. I took a brief look around the place. It was a very unassuming and typical American-style dinner. I kept looking around, wondering if I had been there before, and then when I refocused on him, I realized he didn't have a face anymore. I paralyzed.

“Do you think you are having a bad dream, Ivan?” I couldn't speak but somehow I knew he could read my thoughts.

“No. unfortunately, you might not wake up Ivan. By the way, you never told me if you found the entrance to that spaceship?”

“I remember I was floating near that dark flying object. It looked like something between rock and metal, but it did not feel like either. It felt like a bizarre creature or entity moving across space and time. And there was something else. There was something under me.”

“Tell me more, Ivan.” the faceless man said in an eerie monotone voice, as he continued forcing me to share my thoughts.

“I remember seeing something that looked like dark glass. I could see my reflection. But there was also somebody else inside the spacecraft.”

“Do you remember what he or she looked like?”

“Yes. It looked like…me.”

Sci Fi

About the Creator

Jonssey

Musician, writer & space hitchhiker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JonsseyWritten by Jonssey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.