Fiction logo

Please Come Back to Me

...

By Sid MarkPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

“Please come back to me”

Rommel sat at the end of the couch wearing a long, sad face…

*sigh*

He noticed the phone beside him… hesitantly, he picked it up, and slowly dialed a number. He wasn’t even looking, it’s as if his fingers have a mind of their own, knowing just which numbers to push.

*R-r-r-r-i-i-i-i-i-n-g*

He felt nervous as he heard the phone rings at the other end…

*R-r-r-r-i-i-i-i-i-n-g*

Rommel almost wanting to hang up

*R-r-r-r-i-i-i-i-i-n-g*

Third ring and still no answer, just one more and he will hang up

*R-r-r-r-i-i-i-i-i-n-g*

“Okay, that’s it. She can’t say I did not try,” Rommel said to himself. He was about to hang up when suddenly he heard a voice from the other line.

“We’re sorry, the number you are calling seems to be unattended or out of the coverage area. Please try your call again later. Thank you.”

Rommel only sighed… he misses his girlfriend. They had a fight two days ago and she asked for breathing space. Now, he realized how much she means to him.

“We’re sorry, the number you are calling seems to be unattended or out of the coverage area. Please try your call again later. Thank you.”

He paused for a while, as he listened to the monotonous voice of the lady at the other line.

“We’re sorry, the number you are calling seems to be unattended or out of the coverage area. Please try your call again later. Thank you.”

Rommel took a deep breath before he started to speak, “Hello Liza. I’m really sorry about the other day, I hope you can forgive me. I miss you, Liza. I need you.”

“We’re sorry, the number you are calling seems to be unattended or out of the coverage area. Please try your call again later. Thank you.” The monotonous voice continued without missing a beat.

Oblivious of the voice on the other line, Rommel went on talking. “Please, Liza. Give me another chance. I promise I’ll change. I’ll be a better man!”

“We’re sorry, the number you are calling seems to be unattended or out of the coverage area. Please try your call again later. Thank you.” The message went on, even as Rommel speaks.

“Please Liza,” Rommel continued to plead, “give me another chance. I beg you, Liza. I love you!”

“We’re sorry, the number you are calling seems to be unattended or out of the coverage area. Please try your call again later. Thank you.”

“Just tell me what I need to do to make you come back to me, Liza. I need you, Liza. I love you. Please believe me!”

“We’re sorry, the number you are calling seems to be unattended or out of the coverage area. Please try your call again later. Thank you.”

“Please Liza,” Rommel’s voice was almost crying… he was in fact crying, “come back to me Liza.”

“We’re sorry, the number you are calling seems to be unattended or out of the coverage area. Please try your call again later. Thank you.”

“Liza, please….” his voice now trembling

“We’re sorry… WILL YOU CUT THAT OUT. YOU KNOW I CAN’T STAND YOU CRYING! AND DON’T CALL ME AT WORK, DO YOU WANT ME TO GET FIRED?!”

“Liza, I can’t stand to lose you. I miss you. I love you, Liza.”

“I love you too, honey. And to be honest, I miss you too, but I just need some time off to think.”

“Please come back to me”

“Okay, you win. I’ll call you soon. Now, why don’t you be a good boyfriend and put down the phone so I can get back to work. You don’t want me to get fired, do you?”

“No honey, I don’t want that to happen. Promise you’ll call me?”

“Yes, I will. Now, can I get back to work?”

“Yes honey, you may. Thank you very much. I love you, honey.”

“We’re sorry, the number you are calling seems to be unattended or out of the coverage area. Please try your call again later. Thank you.”

*click*

Love
Like

About the Creator

Sid Mark

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.