Fiction logo

Plane Vs Dragon

A simple flight, a destructive dragon

By Rebecca HackneyPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

The skies use to be clear. The skies use to be safe. Now the skies hold hidden monsters they will tear a plane straight into two pieces. These monsters came out of nowhere. No one knows what they are because there haven’t been any survivors. Sometimes just a small piece of the wreckage is all that is found. The monsters even hide on clear blue sky days. There is no way to track them or see them. So the government stopped sending planes out. That was two years ago.

Today the government has decided to start sending planes again. It has been a while since the monsters attacked. Then again they only attacked planes. So they, the government, think the monsters are gone. They assembled a team of volunteers to try a flight to get supplies because there is only so much a car or truck can carry. Luckily some of the passengers have military training. Others, like myself, are just normal people that got roped into picking up the supplies.

The flight was good so far. An hour into the fifteen hour flight and there were no signs of the sky monsters. Everyone on the flight started to relax and enjoy the flying. Several people drifted off to sleep, including me.

The plane shook and there was a huge bang. Everyone that was sleeping awoke with a jolt and started looking around scared and gripping their seats.

“What was that?” Someone beside me asked.

“I don’t know,” I said looking around.

“Everyone remain calm. It’s probably just turbulence.” One of the military people, Baxter, said.

“It shouldn’t be turbulence. The skies are clear!”

“Exactly. The skies are clear. Remain calm.” He said as he walked away and started whispering to the other men carrying weapons.

“I don’t think it was turbulence.” The person beside me said.

“Yeah. I don’t know.” I said as the plane shook again.

I tried looking out the window but I didn’t see anything. I looked towards the military people because they seemed to be the ones in charge. They all wore looks of concern.

“Hey! What’s going on? We have a right to know!” The person beside me said.

“Sir. You need to remain calm. We have the situation handled. If you or anyone else needs to know what is happening we will tell you.”

“That’s crap and you know it. You guys are whispering about something and look just as terrified as the rest of us.”

“It is turbulence” Baxter said through gritted teeth and went back to the others.

“They know something. They are the ones with weapons and a fighting chance we are just the help. I’m Alan by the way.” He said turning towards me.

“They might know something. Or they might be just as clueless. They might be thinking that not telling us anything they are protecting us. Plus they might not want a panic or freak out because that could be more dangerous. Not that I’m on their side. I just see all sides. I’m Chloe.” I replied.

Before Alan had a chance to reply the plane shook again. This time though it felt like it was lifted. I looked out my window and saw something. It looked like a claw, but as soon as I seen it, it was gone.

“Hey I saw something.” I said once the plane seemed to be steady again.

“What do you mean?” Baxter said.

“Out the window. It looked like some kind of claw maybe.”

“Are you sure?”

“It was just for a second…” I said then the plane swiped sharply to the right.

Baxter got knocked off his feet and tossed to the other side of the plane.

“It’s the sky monster!” Someone screamed causing a panic.

“Remain calm!” Baxter said getting to his feet.

“He is right. We don’t need to panic it will just make it worse.” I said.

The plane sharply jerked again then rose higher into the sky. I looked around again and saw it.

“Oh my…” I started then the plane jerked down and I blacked out.

“Chloe, Chloe. Wake up!” Alan said shaking me.

“What?”

“What did you see?” Baxter asked as the plane smoothed out.

“It was a freaking dragon!” I said holding my head.

“Are you sure?” Baxter asked again.

“Yes I’m sure. But it disappeared, like a cameleon. It blended into the sky.”

“That explains why we can’t see them. I’ll tell the commander.” Baxter said walking off.

“Um, no we need to land this plane.” Alan stated.

“No we have a mission to finish.”

“We didn’t sign up for this. Dragons? Are you serious? We have no way to fight them or see if they are coming. Most of us were dragged here anyway.” I said.

Baxter looked at me then around at the people who were clearly scared. “I’ll see where we are and if we can land safely.”

“Nice.” Alan said once Baxter walked away.

“Okay everyone we are clearly out of our league here. We are going to find a place to land then regroup.” The pilot said over the intercom.

“We should drop down some. Maybe if we fly a little lower it will leave us alone.” Alan suggested.

“I doubt the altitude with have any affect but I’ll try it. Up ahead is a little patch of land. That should work for now.” The pilot said starting to lower the plane.

A bang came followed by another jerk then the plane started tearing apart. Screams were echoing all around. Baxter and the rest of his men were getting there weapons ready but they didn’t know where to fire. The plane shredded into pieces. The last thing I remember before fading into the darkness was the claw wrapping around my row of seats.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Hackney

Love writing and taking readers on a journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Rebecca Hackney is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.