Fiction logo

Picture Perfect

A short story about love at first sight

By Haylee GriffithPublished 2 years ago 16 min read
Like
Picture Perfect
Photo by Soragrit Wongsa on Unsplash

I finally got the last customer out of the door, and the overwhelming weight of my smile fell down the second she turned her back. I rolled my eyes so forcefully I wouldn’t be surprised if a vein exploded in my head. It's 23 minutes past closing time, which is 6 hours and 23 minutes longer than I wanted to be here. All because, this old woman, just had to get her ugly little chihuahua in for a rabies shot. She treats that dog like her own kid, having it hang out in her little useless purse like a Disney villain. It practically screams “I have no husband or kids to go home to.” I'm lonely too, you don't see me basically making out with my dog though now do you?

Just during this one shift, a total of 3 dogs peed on my shoes, a cat scratched my head and pulled out more hair from my scalp than I even knew I had, and the icing on top was when a puppy threw up all over my back. Peanut butter with a hint of bacon, the scent still lingers in the air around me. Why anyone would feed that to their dog is beyond me, but it's not my job to tell people how to care for their animals, I just sit there and pretend I care, that's just one of the many joys that comes with being a veterinary assistant, I guess.

This is all just a normal day at the job, my 368th day to be exact, not that I’m counting. I’m just hoping to make some extra cash this year, then I can finally leave this dump and do literally anything else. Most broke college students get cute little fun jobs, but me? I get puked on and scratched all day and barely make enough money for dinner each night. I never understood why kids want to be veterinarians when they grow up, if anything this job has made me hate animals even more than before.

I don’t bother to help clean up, I never do. I just pack up my bag filled with nothing but five bucks, a dozen empty gum wrappers, and my computer then head off to my car. The night sky couldn’t be told apart from my closed eyes as I walked to the parking lot. Even though it’s Friday, the air feels heavy and lonely like a Sunday night.

My car door seems to only get further away as I inch closer towards it, squinting my eyes from the bright headlights. I slam my door shut and my face immediately falls onto the steering wheel. It's been an exhausting week. I don't know how much longer I can take it. Being a Junior in college while balancing a full-time job is just not the life I ever dreamed of having, but there's not much I can do about that right now. I just wish that someday my life will turn into a Hallmark movie where I can live my own personal fairy tale, but knowing me, that will never happen.

...

It's now 10:00 pm when I finally build up the strength to start my car. Friday night means I get to go treat myself to some coffee before starting on my homework all night long which was the only thing keeping me motivated.

When I say coffee I don't mean something basic like Starbucks, I'm talking about the best coffee in the world that nobody even knows about. It's located in the airport right between the abandoned bathrooms and a janky Panda Express which I've never seen one customer step foot into. It must be the smell of week-old orange chicken is what keeps people away, but that's fine by me. Fewer people around is what I'm used to, I like it better that way.

Once the smell of cheap soap and burnt egg rolls hits me, I know I'm where I need to be. I walk in like I just survived a zombie apocalypse, my blue scrubs covered in mystery stains, my toes poking out of my cheap mesh shoes, and my greasy hair pulled back into a slick ponytail acting like a disco ball reflecting off every light source in the room. Luckily I will never have to see these people in there ever again, so looking presentable isn't something that even crosses my mind.

Despite it being January and not pumpkin season, I ordered my usual, a medium pumpkin spice latte with cold foam and cinnamon sprinkled on top. Seeing as I'm really close with the barista, Justin, he hooks me up with my favorite drink every time of the year. I rummaged in my bag for a five-dollar bill which I knew had to be in there somewhere, but Justin paid for it instead. He must've known I had a rough day plus I was starting to hold up the line. We both know angry airport visitors have no patience, so I thank him for saving my life and head off.

I usually would sit in my normal spot in the corner, a small round table with one chair next to the straws and napkins, but it was busy tonight so I just went out and sat with people waiting for their plane. I figured they would all be quiet so I could get my homework done before any time could slip away from me.

I always enjoy hanging out at the airport, seeing families and friends reconnecting with each other after a long separation. I always think it's so pure. On occasion, I imagine myself in their place, wishing I had someone I could meet on the other side of an airport. They always look so happy, dropping all their luggage and belongings in order to run up to someone they love and hug them and never let them go. It makes me jealous but also brings me joy.

I even make up little stories in my head of who they are and why they were away from each other for so long. I saw this girl wait for her mom one day for hours on end, clearly not wanting to spend another second without her. She held a giant sign with glitter, it looked like a kindergartener made it even though she was well in her thirties. Her long red hair stuck to her face as tears rolled down onto her cheeks. The woman emerged through the gates, knowing exactly where to go to see her daughter.

They ran towards each other in slow motion, holding out their arms like they have been separated for years. I had to look away before I started crying. I wished that I was hugging my mom. I would give anything to hug her one last time. I was stuck helping perform surgery on a dog when I heard she flatlined at the hospital almost a year ago. This job never got easier, daily reminders of how I could have been there spending her last moments holding her hand, but I was stuck watching my terrible excuse for a manager remove a squeaky toy from an old dog's stomach.

. . .

After 2 hours, I finally finished my coffee and decided to go crazy and get another one. If I want to stay up all night and finish my homework I knew I couldn’t run off of only one cup.

I trudge across the shiny wood of the small coffee shop, unable to pick my feet up for even a second. Justin starts making a coffee for me the second he sees me. I could just tell my eyes were puffy and purple, I could barely stand up, he definitely knew why I was there.

I couldn’t bear to stand up while he made my coffee so I sat down across from some guy at the closest table I could get to before my legs collapsed. He had camera gear scattered all over the table and started to frantically push it all aside to make way for me, a sweet gesture that made me blush.

“Sorry, I know I got a ton of stuff,” he chuckles while breaking a sweat from grabbing and putting cameras and computers onto the floor behind him.

“Don’t worry, it’s all good, I’ll be gone in a minute anyway,” I manage to say without making eye contact so he won’t see the bags under my eyes and think I’m some kind of witch. The disgusting clothes were embarrassing enough, I didn’t want him seeing too much of my face.

He was so cute I couldn’t take my eyes off him. He had tons of black rings around his fingers and little finger tattoos that mesmerized me. His hair flopped from side to side as he talked, he was so animated, it made me giggle. I could feel his green eyes piercing through me, but I managed to avoid looking up.

“Samantha!” my barista yells as he looks right over at us.

Great. Now, this cute guy knows my name. I get up to go get my coffee, but he grabs my arm and gently pushes me back down into my seat. I flop into the chair like jello, no strength left in me to fight him. Even better, he's going to grab my coffee so I have no choice but to talk to him. I look like a mess, there’s no way I can spend another second in here with him.

He comes back with a smile on his face and a perfect-looking cup of coffee in his hand. I knew he wanted to talk but I just couldn't, not tonight. I grab the coffee from him before he could get a word in and sprint out the door as fast as my jelly legs would go.

I hear him whisper to Justin and hear him say my name, but I just keep walking. He was cute and clearly interested in me yet I blew it. How could I be so stupid?

I pack up all my stuff and head to my car when I notice something on my cup. Some smudged sharpie revealed a note that said, “I’ve seen you come in a lot. It's nice seeing another regular. Come back tomorrow around 7 in the morning?”

No way. I looked like a total mess and completely embarrassed myself, and he still wants to talk to me. Luckily it was a Friday, so I decided to put full caution to the wind and go meet him the next day. It's not every day I come across someone that actually wants to talk to me. Plus I could redeem myself by looking somewhat decent the next time I see him.

. . .

It's 6 in the morning. I leave my apartment dressed in clothes that don't stink of barf and pee for once. I covered up my eye bags the best I could with makeup but it was no use so I put on some sunglasses and I'm ready to go.

I figured getting there early couldn't hurt, I could have a cup of coffee before he even gets there and do some homework too.

Of course, because my life never works out right, I walk in to see him already there, computer and camera equipment piled up in front of him. He looks tired like he's been here for hours already. I tried to sneak past him, hoping he was glued to his computer enough to even see me.

“Hey! Samantha was it? Why don’t you sit down, I already got you a cup of coffee, your favorite in fact,” he smirked pointing to the chair which was now next to him rather than across, knowing I couldn’t resist.

I'm flattered, but had to keep my cool, “How do you know what my favorite drink is?”

“Justin told me, we’re best friends, we even take the same photography class together.”

I look over at Justin who is spelling out letters one by one, trying to tell me what this guy's name is. He looks so dumb not realizing I can just read his name off his coffee cup. I roll my eyes at Justin and read the cup, Tyler it says.

“Yeah, sorry about last night, I had a pretty rough day, I didn’t mean to come off as rude.”

“No problem, I’ve seen you around here a lot, you come here almost as much as I do,” he laughs while looking me right in the eyes.

“I love this little coffee shop, it's worth coming to the airport for. So what are you working on? You have a ton of stuff with you,” I say curiously while peeking at his screen seeing a bunch of pictures of what looks like strangers. Seems kind of creepy but I'm not one to judge, I just hope he can explain it.

“I know it might seem weird seeing a bunch of strangers on here but it's a project I'm working on for that photography class I was telling you about. It's my final and I wanted to do something really cool. I love coming here and seeing people reunite with their loved ones, so I take pictures of them. When I'm done, Justin says I can hang them on the walls here.”

Wow. He's cute, loves coffee, spends his time doing the same things as me, and is a good photographer. He's too good to be true, where's the hidden camera? This has to be some sort of prank.

“I actually love seeing people reunite too, it's something I look forward to every time I come here,” I admit to him, feeling a spark between us instantly.

. . .

We talk for hours and hours, I find out he has no family either. We have so much in common I can't even believe it. We hang out almost every day of the week after that, I even skip the vet sometimes to hang out with him even though I know I shouldn't.

“Maybe you should stop blowing off work, we can hang out later if you want,” he tells me for the fourth time this week.

“Honestly I don't care. If they fire me, so be it. I hate that job anyway. My dream is to travel the world, it's what my mom wanted to do before she had me but never got the chance. I want to do it for her, but at this point, I will never be able to pay for any trips with the amount of money I spend on coffee each week,” I chuckle but he can see right past it.

“I hear you. I have always wanted to be a travel photographer, taking pictures of landmarks everywhere I go. I'm hoping that my professor likes this project I'm working on enough to send me on a vacation to take photos around the world. I heard the winner that shows the most emotion through their photos will get all expenses paid for a trip wherever they want so that's why I decided to do something I care so much about.,” Tyler says confidently.

I knew he was going to win, his photos were so touching there's no way anybody would be able to beat him. I have no idea what I would do when he wins. I was helpless until he came into my life. I'm lonely without him. I have nobody but him, he can't leave me.

But then it happened, he won. Just like that our days were over and he was going to leave me. I know it is only for a month, but I have no idea what I will be able to do during that time while I wait for him.

. . .

The day I had to say goodbye to Tyler was one I'll never forget. Just like the movies, it hurt to let him go, but at least I know he's going to come back. Now I just need to figure out what to do for the next thirty days.

It took a lot of coffee and thinking before I decided to make a plan. While Tyler is gone I'm going to make a plan of everywhere we can travel. He is going to have a ton of money when he gets back from all the photos people will pay him to take and of course, the best thing to do is to travel together. We both decided that it is the best idea since I have nothing and nobody here to leave behind and that it has always been his dream, it works out perfectly.

I bought a globe and put a push pin into every country we should visit, strategically putting them in order so we can travel short distances. This took me so long to do that I didn't even realize the thirty days had already passed.

. . .

I make my drive over to the airport, hands shaking and sweating more with each second. I find it harder to get a grip on the wheel as time goes on but I stay determined.

Upon arrival, I grabbed a coffee for myself and one for Tyler. Justin helped me find out what he's going to be, all in perfect time to get to where I need to be to meet him.

It's hard to comprehend the fact that what I've always been so jealous of is now my reality. I get to see the man I love walk through that gate and hug him just like I have always seen others do.

My hands splash coffee all over the floor as I shake more and more each minute.

As soon as he turns the corner at the gate I know it's him. Everything becomes a blur as my eyes start to fill up with hot water. I could feel my cheeks glow red as he grabs me in his arms. For once, I felt like the main character in my own life and I never wanted to let him go. Everything I have ever wanted was with me now.

We make our way to the coffee shop when I see Justin grinning. He has a camera out and secretly shows it to Tyler, a giant smile lights upon his face.

“Give me about an hour, and it will be ready for print,” Justin says glowing.

“Perfect. We’ll be here.”

I didn’t even take the time to figure out what that meant, I just knew we had a lot to talk about so an hour would be fine. We sit down at our normal spot, just us, no camera equipment, no coffee, nothing. Just me sitting there mesmerized by everything he has to say about his trip. It was so much fun I didn't even notice when Justin put down a picture on the table, framed in a cute black square, “Samantha and Tyler” engraved on it in cursive.

My eyes start watering again as I realize Tyler had him take this picture of us reuniting just as he did with others. I knew exactly what to do.

We make our way up to the wall filled with other pictures of happy couples and family seeing each other again, and put ours right in the middle. It's perfect, everything I’ve ever wanted and it will forever reside in my favorite coffee shop.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Haylee Griffith

Just a teenager with too many thoughts and, unfortunately for you, a laptop to write them down on :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.