Fiction logo

PHOTOGRAPHS

SOMEHOW, WE ALL ARE PHOTOGRAPHERS, SOME PEOPLE CLICK PHOTOS WITH CAMERA, SOME PEOPLE CLICK PHOTOS IN MIND.

By Deepanshi JPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
Like
PHOTOGRAPHS
Photo by sarandy westfall on Unsplash

Robert jr., my father and American business tycoon. I belonged to highly educated and respectful family for whom good education is the first priority. I did Btech, Mtech and then MBA from the top 10 universities of the world. As I gave my first priority to studies, I never got a chance to explore the world or to follow my hobbies.

After completing my masters degree, my father gave me two options, either to join his business or to follow your own will. I always wished to travel and be a wildlife photographer. So, I told my dad about being a wildlife photographer. I still remembered his expressions when I told him about my dreams. Actually, no one thinks photographer as a real job, those expressions were excepted from not only my father but from many other people.

My father again gave me another two choices, "I am giving you 2 years to fulfill your satisfaction. If you won't be able to do anything in photography field, come back to me and handle my business."

I was so excited to explore the marvelous beauty of our planet and to click them in my camera. Before leaving USA, I was been taunted from my friends and relatives. People used to gossip behind my back, "That look! Robert jr. son is wasting his time and making a bad reputation of his father's name by being a cameraman.''

I knew, what I was doing was totally of worth, and it was!

In those 2 years, I traveled 7 countries. They were Australia, South Africa, Japan, China, India, Maldives and Sri Lanka. I learnt plenty of new things daily. Everyday I saw beautiful faces. Every individual was unique in itself. My thinking became more wider and mature. I felt so rejuvenated like never before.

Do you know the best part of travelling? The best part of travelling is not when you reach the final destination and do what you were there to do. The best part of travelling is the journey that you take to reach your destination. Because future is always unpredictable, you never know what you get in your path.

By Katie Moum on Unsplash

My worst journey and my best journey was to India. When I put my first step to Delhi, I was like India won't be a good place neither to travel nor for wildlife photography. But my views utterly changed when I reached Coorg.

Coorg is a town in South India and the smallest district of Karnataka. Coorg is one of the cleanest town of India. Tourist are not allowed to litter garbage anywhere in the public. If you ever get a chance to visit India, don't miss to to visit Coorg. It is a place like heaven and the kingdom of God. Pure air and scent of coffee you can feel everywhere. The interesting fact about that town is government has permitted the residents of Coorg to carry gun without a licence.

It was my eagerly curiosity to do a night shoot of animals although its dangerous because where I was staying was a village area and I herd some cases of wild animals attacking villagers. But I took the risk and went out alone.

I wasn't far away from my hotel. I saw a bat on a tree. I was about to click a photo then suddenly an owl screeched from my behind and flew over my head. The photo that I clicked was vague.

"An owl, just now flew over your head. This ain't a good sign." A voice came from my left side. He was about 5 metres away from me. He came more closer to me and said, "Don't you think its to dark and tourist might not roam in night."

"Sir, I am just doing my work here." I replied

''Well I could see that. Listen to me and return to your place as last night a tourist from Florida got robbed."

"Are you the thief who robbed the tourist ?"

He giggled said nothing and went away. I took his advice and went back to my hotel. Next morning, I woke up early to click some photos as animals wake up early for bath and drinking water. I took many photos. In the afternoon time I did some sports. My favorite adventure was trekking and jumping from a cliff. In the evening time, I was making my plans to visit Chennai. It was an open cafe area, I sat with my laptop and started searching for the cheapest transport to Chennai.

Here, I was making plans for my next trip but up there God was making some different plans for me.

I was leaving for Chennai in 5 hours everything was packed and ready to move. I thought, I had enough time before leaving Coorg. So, I decided to visit elephant camp one more time which was situated near by.

I saw the same person whom I met at night. I wanted to greet him but he ignored me. I observed that person carefully. All were busy in snapping photos with nature, animals, flowers, relatives. But that person would stare at a particular point for a very long time. I remembered he brought a sketch book with him. I assumed he will draw something related to nature or animals. What he painted was of dark colors and in my opinion it depicts sadness. He must be in a gloom state.

I couldn't stomach to ask about his spooky behavior and the reason of behaving so different.

We both introduced to each other. He was Krishna Khole and a businessman. He further told me, he met his first love and proposed her here. Later she left him as he was gay. After finding about his sexuality in a party. He never told anyone that he is gay and never fell in love because of his parent's reputation. He sounded pale and depressed.

I cancelled my trip to Chennai, at that time my new friend needed me more than my work. I motivated him by saying, "Its your life and enjoy your life the way want. Its not your fault to be like this. If it is someone's fault then it is the fault of the society for giving them the rights to judge us."

After that we shared many other things about our past, goals, families, hobbies, likes and dislikes. I stayed at his home. His home was like a huge villa. In his garden he did some harvesting of green vegetables. They were so fresh and good when I ate them. Krishna even taught me to cook Indian food. Whereas I took Krishna to do some adventures to feel more better.

Krishna decided to travel with me. In the day time he explored with me. In the night time, he did his office work through online. He would set up his conference meeting at 8 pm or 10 pm and would end at 12 am or sometimes at 4 am. Some days he leaved me at the half passed road to attend his meeting or to see his work. After finishing his work he came back to me and we continued with our journey. When he won't be near to me. He or I would do video calling. I showed him my room, food or the places photos that I captured in my camera.

Sometimes I asked few questions to myself, "The bond what we have created is love or friendship? It is love no its friendship. It is friendship no its love..."

I did 20 years of studying for jr. reputation. In those 20 years, I was very serious with my studies. I never did those things which could become a barrier for my studies. I was so focused that I never gave time to myself. After travelling for 1 year, I really got to know myself truly.

I was here in India just for 3 months now its time to leave. It was finally time to bid Krishna goodbye! Before leaving, I went back to Coorg. I called Krishna in Brahmagiri hills a perfect place to propose. He said yes to me. It was one of the perfect moment of my life. We were at the top, entire landscape of Coorg was visible. A chill cold wind blew it was evening time and he was in my arms under a blanket.

By Mariano Rivas on Unsplash

My tour further continued to Maldives and Sri Lanka. We got married in Maldives near the beach side in Catholic Christen way. We made our honeymoon in Sri Lanka.

My husband was in Delhi due to his work purpose. I never liked visiting Delhi because of its high pollution. But on 5th November I went to Delhi to give him a surprise that I won the first position with $50,000 in an International Photography Award. I purchased white rose flowers for him. When I reached his home, I saw the door wide open and many people were moaning in white clothes. He was dead. I had a once glanced at his dead body. I dropped the flowers and started crying.

That time was like I was in prison. I wanted to run away but I can't. He had COPD. He died of congestive heart failure. According to Hindu religion, his dead body was burned and later his ashes were poured in Ganga for his soul peacefulness.

Sudden death gives disbelief about the person's death. He was dead and it was hard for me to believe it. I was often asked questions about my second marriage. I couldn't move on from my marriage life because I can never find a better person than him. I remembered, I was always busy in taking photos and making memories but he won't click photos. He would see a view for long time and save it in his mind and keep it fresh, alive somewhere in his heart. He used to say, "This nature won't last long that's why I am looking at it as long as I could stretch my eyes."

There was no single day I didn't cry in his memories.

2 years were done, I was missing my family too. One day, I decided to meet them. Moms are always special. When I returned home everyone was laughing on my failures but my mom was the only one who came to know something was wrong. She came into my room, she sat next to me, she made me to talk to her. I told her about my tour which country was best, what I did and in the flow I told her about my love who was my world and everything. I showed her my hand and the ring. I hid my right hand always in the pocket so that no one would come to know about my marriage.

"Andrew jr., now you need to move on and do as what your father's say. Please for the god sake remove your ring." My mother said before leaving the room.

"Do as what your father says." It means I should not tell anyone about my sexuality. To whomever my dad will say to marry her. I need to marry her. Be an obedient son. Be a good CEO of his company.

30th June, was my first day of office. I was dressed up like a gentleman. When I saw myself in the mirror it recalled how my husband used to dress for his international meetings.

That day was the first day of my work and I got late. First day first meeting at 11 am. I entered the room half an hour late. They all were sitting in silence must be waiting for me. I sat and the meeting commenced. My dad wanted to put a new textile industry in South Africa because of its cheap labor. They wanted to set up an industry in the middle of the remote area as people are uneducated there if the industry breaks the rule of environment who the hell will complain. The industry was going to set up near sand river bump. I had been there. After completing the presentation everyone applause for such a great idea except me. I stood up and yelled at my dad and people who were present in that meeting.

"Textile and fashion industries produces world second high pollution. Where you are planning to construct an industry belongs to 100,000 people and 4000 animals. When you will poured the industry water pollution in the river do you know how many animals would be killed after drinking that river water. My husband died of COPD. Now how many people do you want to be killed."

I snapped the door and walked out.

We all know someday earth won't be no longer.

We all now how to save earth,

But still we are waiting for apocalypse to come.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.