Fiction logo

Pets

The Wonder Years

By Alex JennettPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Pets
Photo by Andrew S on Unsplash

The pets were wondering why they were being called. Their parents were grouchy today. They were that way most of the time. Although they did not mind it. Cats and dogs would play together. Even if they did not want to. Even if their owners' did not want them to. It would be done anyways. And they would play for a very long time. They did not listen to their parents, which is a sad thing, most definiatly. I'm not sure that is the way you spell it or not, but it looks good.

Cats with mice. Dogs with cats. It did not matter. Or would it? Don't know. In the meantime all would be in chaos. They would want to chase each other to no ends. And bounce back and forth if they were left to.

They knew they were in trouble the moment they started to play. And they did not want that to happen. Mysteriously they would band together and hope that they would not get caught. It would be a small world without them playing together. But they did not mind at all. It gave them new courage and found that nothing would stop them from doing it.

This would all blow over after the parents left. They would go back to doing what they were doing. And forget what was going on. Even if it meant being in trouble. Lowness was their middle name. Highness their first name.

Small minded they were, their parents were not. And they would not forget that at all. Until there parents were back, they would have a party in their honor. Complete with ribbons and bows. Traveling through the minefield of their lives we call a past regression. They were meant to communicate with the people that have passed. Or so society has led us to believe.

In a past life I was once a kitten. They are so adorable and unbelievably smart. They play around on their little scratching posts and cat towers. I could watch them for hours on end. Even if it meant skipping dinner and sleep. In fact I think I will do just that and enjoy it tremendously.

Another side alley to wander through with my pets at my side. And to top it all off, they did not tell me where they were going. It made me frustrated and sad. But I knew that they would come back to me in any case, because they were family. And family sticks together. Even if it means going through the ups and the downs of life itself.

While I was on my travels, I ran into a parody of many different sorts. They combined with my knowledge of the road. And passed on to new heights. The animals did not know which way to go. They could not decipher the right path to take. It made them slow and sluggish. But that was alright in my book.

It just meant they would be back to share their tales with me. And hopefully not mismanage their time that they shared without me. I should not only wonder what was going on, but travel through it anyways. Maybe then they would appreciate what I do more for them. To quell the insanity that I had in my heart for them.

In short I could not wait for their return back home to be in my arms once again. This would be a tragedy if they did not return on their own admission. To leave behind an old friend, to abandon the want of their personalities. And to grow in their own time.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Alex Jennett

Just starting to publish my works. Enjoy listening to music and writing poetry. I am surprised that since I started writing, within 2 years, with Vocal I have created 78 stories. Music and the written word, help me ease my high anxiety.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.