Fiction logo

Perception

A short story

By Tressa RosePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
11
Perception
Photo by Noah Buscher on Unsplash

Gerald wasn't favored among the community, he was the man with no home or job. The man who would frequent the front of local stores such as Starbucks, holding a sign that said “Anything helps.”

Most people would blow him off, casting nasty glares his way. Some even boldly shouting “Get a job filthy junkie!” But they didn't know Gerald's story like me.

I first met him while he was outside my apartment one night. I asked how he was. He told me he was just trying to get some food for dinner before he headed home. I asked where he lived, and he said “The ol’ Barnes shack.” I offered to buy him some food, then take him home.

During our meal Gerald told me how he was a veteran in the Vietnam war. He told me some horrible stuff that went on, and that he hadn't been the same since he got home. He was diagnosed with major PTSD. He was part of some government programs to help Vets, but that help only extended so far for someone as himself. So the streets had been home for him for many years now.

After that, I made it a point to bring him a hot meal every Sunday night. It was a particularly cold winter this year, so I brought extra blankets too.
Walking into the building I noticed snow everywhere from all the busted windows. I went to his spot, and started to cry. For there he lay, beautifully frozen in place.


Short StoryMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
11

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dariusz 3 months ago

    Outstanding! Awesome

  • Omgggg, this is sooooo devastating!! 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭 Poor Gerald!!

  • Fly Alone3 months ago

    Oh so tragic! Alas!

  • 😭😭 Such a sad but all too real tale. Unfortunately, there are many Geralds out there. It is not always easy to tell them apart from the scammers, but I love that the narrator took the time to learn his story and understand his plight.

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Aw man, poor Gerald. The saddest part about this story is that it’s not far from what really happens all too often to our vets in this country. Great entry Tressa, thanks for sharing

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Whoa!!! That was the saddest ending and possibly true for a certain percentage of our Vets. Good rest your Character's soul. And I thank him for his service. Nice micro, Tressa!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.