Fiction logo

Passing Ships

"Discovering the Power of Small Moments and Embracing the Journey of Life"

By MalikSaira MaqboolPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Passing Ships
Photo by MohammadHosein Mohebbi on Unsplash

It was a cloudy day in late September when I found myself sitting at the end of a pier, staring out at the calm waters of the harbor. The air was thick with the smell of salt and fish, and the only sounds were the gentle lapping of the waves against the pilings and the distant hum of boat engines.

I had come to this spot on a whim, feeling restless and unsure of what I wanted from life. I had just turned twenty-five, and while some of my friends were settling into careers and relationships, I still felt adrift, like a boat without a rudder.

As I sat there, lost in thought, I noticed a small sailboat heading out of the harbor. It was a modest vessel, with a simple white sail and a weathered wooden hull, and it moved slowly but steadily through the water.

I watched as the boat grew smaller and smaller on the horizon, until it was just a speck in the distance. And then, just as suddenly, it disappeared from view.

It was a small moment, barely worth noticing. But for some reason, it stuck with me. I couldn't stop thinking about that sailboat, and the people on board who were heading out into the unknown.

I realized then that my own life was like that sailboat – small, simple, and perhaps a little weathered, but with the potential to journey into new and exciting places.

Over the next few weeks, I started to take small steps towards figuring out what I wanted from life. I signed up for a cooking class, something I had always been interested in but had never pursued. I started writing again, something I had let fall by the wayside after college.

And then, one day, I met someone. It was just a chance encounter – we happened to be in the same coffee shop at the same time – but it felt like a sign. We struck up a conversation, and before I knew it, we were making plans to go out for dinner.

That dinner turned into a second date, and then a third, and before I knew it, I was in a relationship. It wasn't always easy – there were fights and misunderstandings, and moments when I felt like I was in over my head – but it felt right, like I was finally moving forward in a way that made sense.

As the months went on, I found myself thinking back to that sailboat more and more. It had been such a small moment, but it had had such a big impact on my life. It had shown me that even the smallest of actions could lead to big changes, if you were open to them.

And then, one day, I saw the sailboat again. It was heading back into the harbor, the same small white sail and weathered wooden hull, but this time it looked different. It looked like it had been through something – like it had weathered storms and seen things that had changed it in some way.

I realized then that my life was like that sailboat, too. I had gone through ups and downs, weathered storms of my own, and come out on the other side. I was still small and simple, but I had grown and changed in ways that I couldn't have imagined when I sat on that pier all those months ago.

As the sailboat pulled into its mooring, I watched it with a sense of awe and respect. It had shown me what was possible, and I was grateful for that.

And then, as if on cue, my phone buzzed. It was a text from my girlfriend, asking if I wanted to come over for dinner. I smiled, feeling content and happy, and realized that maybe, just maybe, my passing ship had finally found its harbor.

LoveYoung AdultShort StoryMysteryExcerptAdventure
2

About the Creator

MalikSaira Maqbool

My writing is inspired by my own life experiences.I'm passionate about exploring the complexities human relationships and I'm always looking for ways to bring out the beauty in everyday.So come along for the ride and join me on my journey!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.