Fiction logo

Out of This World Stockholm Syndrome

Going to a Place No Woman/Man Has Gone Before

By Anthony ChanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Special Thanks to Tengyart on Unsplash.com

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say.

That was my fear when an interplanetary spaceship suddenly kidnapped me from my patio in my apartment as I was sipping a glass of red wine after a long day. Most would surmise that this hostile encounter would be unpleasant, but to the contrary, the hospitality extended to me inside this flying vehicle was impressive!

When I asked how they could speak English, they said they were programmed to speak all languages found on earth. Still, it was one thing to be impressed with my current surroundings and something else to be headed to a destination with unknown risks!

Upon my arrival, they offered me a spicy drink which they said I needed to consume so that my body could adjust to the new environment without difficulty. Since I was still alive, I felt I had little to lose! So, I quietly drank the mysterious liquid. Miraculously, I walked out of their flying vehicle into a new world of impressive buildings. I asked if the entire city had just been newly built, and they said, "All our structures are centuries old, but the climate preserves them in their original state. No building ever becomes rundown like in your planet, and they last until we decide to replace them with other structures."

How about people? They smiled and said, no one dies here unless one chooses to retire to a state of permanent hibernation. That only happens when someone feels they have experienced everything out of life and wishes to enter a state of eternal rest.

Moment of Truth

“Why am I here, against my will?” I asked. "You are here because we wish to study more about your planet. We have noticed that many people on our planet are choosing the hibernation option causing our labor force and population to shrink to dangerous levels. Our pace of innovation and productivity growth is under threat!"

“That is fine, but what could I do to help?” I asked. “Glad you asked”, said the little green man! We want to get as much information about life on your planet. That way, we can offer our people the option of a short lifespan of 70 to 80 years on earth. In return, they would have to agree to live another 500 to 1,000 years on our planet without complaining.”

“Wait one minute, I said," "why can’t you grow your population organically?” I asked. “Couples can only conceive after their minds and bodies have reached a high compatibility state that takes about 300 to 400 years. Young people break up marriages after 100 to 125 years and never reach that state. As people reach 200 years, they are ready to choose the hibernation state. We are slowly slipping into extinction, and you are our last hope,” a little green lady said.

An Offer Few Could Refuse

“Okay, but what is in it for me?” In return, my little green buddy said, they were prepared to offer me permanent life with an option of hibernation or a return to earth.

Wow! Like the character Irene Cara played in the movie Fame during the 1980s, “I have always wanted to live forever."

Let me get some restful sleep before I make a final decision,” I said. “Of course, no worries, take your time,” one of the green ladies said.

Over the next 12 months, I answered all their questions about earth. They were gracious enough to let me into their lab so I could track all earthly developments as I continued to live in the lap of luxury and enjoy cult status as the only human being on their planet without aging. It was the best decision I have ever made.

I told them that I plan to revisit my decision in 100 years.

In the meantime, they have sent thousands of residents to earth to experience our earthly environment. It is an arrangement that harms no one and works for everyone, including me!

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Anthony Chan

Chan Economics LLC, Public Speaker

Chief Global Economist & Public Speaker JPM Chase ('94-'19).

Senior Economist Barclays ('91-'94)

Economist, NY Federal Reserve ('89-'91)

Econ. Prof. (Univ. of Dayton, '86-'89)

Ph.D. Economics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    Great story, you area a skilled writer. Had fun reading this story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.