Fiction logo

Our Blissful Cabin Getaway Weekend

We drove up the snowy, winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin.

By Edison AdePublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
Our Blissful Cabin Getaway Weekend
Photo by Peter Thomas on Unsplash

We drove up the snowy, winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin.

I looked at my friend, who was driving, and she was looking back at me. We were both thinking about how we were going to spend our next few days in this cabin and how we would never want to leave.

As we drove up the snow-covered, winding road, I was filled with anticipation. It had been a long drive, but the final destination was worth it - a cozy A-frame cabin tucked away in the mountains. The crunch of the snow beneath my boots filled me with warmth and peace.

The air was crisp and cold, but we kept our windows rolled down because it smelled so good—like pine trees and fresh snow. On either side of us, we could see deep woods that were blanketed in white from top to bottom.

"This is going to be so fun," I said with a laugh. "A weekend away from everything."

My best friend turned towards me and smiled. "Yeah, it'll be great." She paused for a moment before continuing: "And I think it's about time we get away from the busyness all around"

I nodded in agreement: "Yeah, definitely."As we approached the cabin, I looked up the winding road. The trees were so tall and thick that the low-lying clouds seemed to gather right up against the tops of them. It was so different from the North woods. It made me think of places where I'd wanted to live if I had a chance, and how different it was from the hustle and bustle of the city.

We drove up to the door and parked. I got out of the car. As I looked up at the cabin, I smiled.

I was excited to get away from it all—to just relax and enjoy being with my sweetheart in such a beautiful place. We brought along some books and board games, but mostly we just wanted to spend time together.

As the sun began to set behind us, we could see our destination at last - an inviting light glimmering in the windows of our winter retreat. We stepped inside and were immediately welcomed by its warm embrace. Our little escape from reality gave us chance to have quality time together after so many months apart. I knew that no matter what happened from this point on, this moment would stay with me forever.

We parked in front of the cabin and unloaded our bags from the trunk. We opened the door and stepped inside, breathing in deeply as we took in our surroundings: rustic furniture made from logs; firewood stacked neatly next to a roaring fire; snowflakes falling gently through the windowpanes; a hot cup of cocoa on the table by the couch…

As I walked over to get some marshmallows for my cocoa, I glanced outside at the beautiful scene: cedar trees standing tall against a blue sky dotted with clouds; a bright sun shining brightly on everything below it; snowflakes falling gently onto branches that swayed gently in its warm embrace…

After a quick dinner of grilled cheese sandwiches (my favorite), we settled on the couch sipping wine when suddenly my best friend looked at me and said: "I am glad we got to do this. I am really happy" I nodded in agreement. "Me too."

I looked at her, and she smiled. "It's going to be hard to go back to the city and the stress that comes with it."

I nodded again. "Yeah, I was thinking about that. But it's alright. I'm happy to be here with you." I smiled. "It's a perfect weekend."

We smiled at each other, and then looked around. It is such a beautiful cabin.

We were sitting on the front porch of our cabin in the woods, looking out at the trees and listening to the sound of crickets chirping in the distance. It was beautiful—the perfect place for two best friends to spend a weekend together.

The view from the porch was breathtaking.

The only light came from the stars above, twinkling in the night sky like little diamonds. The trees were lush and green, stretching out to infinity and providing an unbroken canopy of leaves. We could feel the cool grass beneath our feet; it was so soft and inviting. We stood there for a while just taking it all in – enjoying each other's company and savouring this moment of absolute peace.

We talked, laughed, and shared stories as the sun sank below the horizon. As the night deepened, we decided to play a game of “I Spy”. I was the first one to spot something glimmering in the distance and excitedly pointed it out. We jumped off the porch and ran towards it, curiosity burning within us. When we arrived at its source, our jaws dropped—It was an old rusty box that was half-buried in the ground! We quickly brushed away some of the dirt before opening it up. Inside there was a golden locket with our names engraved on it! It felt like a sign from fate that we had found this together. We hugged each other tightly and smiled in awe at what had just happened.

We sat back down on the porch and looked out at the stars. It was so peaceful. We looked at each other, and smiled.

"I love you," I said.

She smiled and reached over to hold my hand. "I love you too. This was a perfect weekend."

She leaned over and kissed me softly on the lips.

I felt happy.

We had made plans to go skiing tomorrow morning before returning home on Sunday afternoon

We had an incredible time last night at the cabin and were ready to hit the slopes and make the most of our time together. The morning light slowly filled the cabin as we slowly opened our eyes and stretched. We had made plans to go skiing today before returning home after this amazing weekend trip in the cabin. The snow seemed to be calling out for us, so we quickly got dressed and put on all of our gear. The snow was fresh and fluffy, but not too cold. It felt like a perfect day for skiing!

We were so excited as we rode up to the top of the mountain. We had the best night ever! We were having so much fun that we ended up staying out until late into the evening. The snow was sparkly and glistening in the moonlight, and it seemed almost magical. We made snow angels, had a snowball fight and jumped around in the snow all evening. By the time we finally stumbled back to our cabin, we were completely exhausted - but it was all worth it because we had such an amazing time.

We lay in bed and looked out at the stars. We loved the cabin, but we both agreed that it was time to go home. We knew that we would soon be leaving the cabin and the peaceful, lovely moment that we had spent there to return to the real world. But we knew that we would never forget this day.

We never want to leave this place. It's a perfect place for two best friends to be together. We knew that we would always remember this weekend as a special time. We knew our friendship would grow from this moment on out into the future.

family
Like

About the Creator

Edison Ade

I Write about Startup Growth. Helping visionary founders scale with proven systems & strategies. Author of books on hypergrowth, AI + the future.

I do a lot of Spoken Word/Poetry, Love Reviewing Movies.

My website Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.