Fiction logo

One December Night

How I survived

By dsdPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
One December Night
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

It was a dark and stormy night. The wind was howling, and the rain was pouring down in sheets. I was home alone, and I was feeling uneasy. I had heard strange noises coming from the attic earlier that day, but I had brushed it off as my imagination.

Suddenly, I heard footsteps coming from upstairs. I froze in fear as the footsteps grew louder and louder. I knew I was alone in the house, so who could it be? I slowly made my way up the stairs, my heart pounding.

As I reached the top of the stairs, I saw a figure standing in front of me. It was a man with a pale face and dark eyes. He was holding a knife in his hand and staring at me with an evil grin on his face.

I tried to scream, but no sound came out of my mouth. I turned around and ran back down the stairs as fast as possible. But the man was behind me, his footsteps echoing through the empty house.

I ran into the living room and locked the door behind me. I could hear the man pounding on the door, trying to break it down. I knew I had to do something before he got inside.

I looked around the room for something to defend myself. That is when I saw a fireplace poker lying on the ground. I picked it up and waited for the man to break down the door.

As soon as he did, I swung the poker at him with all my might. It hit him in the head, and he fell to the ground, unconscious.

I called the police, and they arrived shortly after. They took the man away, and I never saw him again. But I could never forget that night I fought for my life against an unknown intruder in December.

Short StoryMysteryHorrorFantasy
Like

About the Creator

dsd

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.